Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

Combining the benefits of a chef's knife and cleaver, this hollow-ground santoku is indispensable for chopping, slicing and dicing. Oval indentations on the blade's sides reduce friction to produce clean, uniform cuts and minimize sticking. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. The wide, angle-tipped blade combines the best features of a chef's knife and a cleaver. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Available in right- and left-handed versions. 4" santoku: 4"-long blade; 4"-long handle; 3 oz. 5 1/2" santoku: 5 1/2"-long blade; 6"-long handle; 4.8 oz. 7" santoku: 7"-long blade; 6"-long handle; 7.5 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
110 of 116(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 61 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SonnyB
Tampa, FL
April 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Value, Quality Santoku
April 9, 2010
I just got it today. The picture doesn't do it justice. The steel has almost a wood grain pattern to it from the technique of layering and folding different types of steel like a Damascus sword technique. It's razor sharp and well balanced. It's got the design ethos of a Samurai blade. I got it on sale and it was steal!
If you find the knife dull after a few uses:
1. always use a wooden cutting board
2. always hand wash, never machine wash
3. sharpen it correctly, either by retuning it to Shun or by learning how to do 16 degree angle sharpening yourself. It's different than European style knives. Most sharpeners use a different angle that will not work correctly.
With a bit of care this should last a lifetime. If it doesn't Shun offers a lifetime guaranty.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
UMTank
Posted September 7, 2012
Can use a tip!
Hey Sonny,
Thanks for the great review! My girlfriend's family just gave me the 4 1/2" HG Santoku, and I'm in love with it, and will be using many of your tips for care.
One question I had: how are you storing it? I don't want to put it in the drawer with all other knives. I thought about buying a wooden block for it, but not sure which one would work... Was wondering if you'd let me know how you've been storing yours if you don't mind!
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 62 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKCR
Boston, MA
April 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use it properly and it will reward you
April 5, 2010
Though no one knife can do everything, the santoku certainly is versatile. I use this knife for trimming boneless meats, cutting apples and other hand fruits (but not tomatoes!), chopping onions, or any other small task that doesn't demand a different blade.
Like all Shun Classics, the knife is light and well-balanced. The D handle is comfortable in my hand, but try it before you buy just in case. The blade holds its edge very well. I hone it about once a week and so far, that's been more than adequate. Clean the knife immediately after each use and use a good knife-friendly cutting board and you should have no problems.
You will certainly need a longer knife for slicing (and a serrated knife for things like bread and tomatoes), but this Santoku is a very good, general use workhorse.
Review 63 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DPincus
Cambridge, MA
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenominal knife
April 3, 2010
I received this knife (in addition to several other registered santuko classic knives) as a wedding present. I truly love this knife. Cuts everything easily, beautifully crafted, comfortable to hold, and very easy to wash after each use. I did not think this knife at first would be an improvement over my much cheaper santuko of day's of old. I was quite wrong. Truly a fantastic knife.
Review 64 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shilo
CT
March 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Knife
March 30, 2010
Chopping has become a pleasure with this knife. I can't believe I have been laboring and not even knowing it until I purchased the santoku. Don't even hesitate...order it!
Review 65 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jp604
Palm Beach
March 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Classic Santoku Knife
March 30, 2010
Not what I expected. Only so, so as knives go.Did not slice tomatoes cleanly. I have much better knives that I already use. Not up to Williams-Sonoma normal quality.
Review 66 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Athomechef
Fountain Valley CA
March 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best brand of knives ever!
March 28, 2010
I love this knife! Great edge! Incredibly sharp! Handel very comfortable! If I could afford the entire 22 piece set I'd do it in a heart beat! A goal I will try to achieve! Wonderful!
Review 67 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alemap
Dallas, TX
March 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife Ever
March 28, 2010
This is the best knife I've ever owned. It does slicing, chopping, all tasks smoothly and with little effort. And, it is very pretty!!
Review 68 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer1234
San Jose
March 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I heart my Shun Santoku
March 27, 2010
This knife is lovely to look at, and slices through turnips like butter! Best knife I have ever owned.
Review 69 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachlady
North Carolina
March 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Ever
March 27, 2010
The Shun Knife is one of the best investments I have made for my kitchen. I don't know how I prepared things before I received it. I do intend to add more Shun knives to my kitchen in the very near future.
Review 70 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladylee
Sierra Vista, Arizona
March 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Knives Ever for Everything!
March 26, 2010
Through the years U have invested in a wide variety of knives always looking for the "best" ones. I have finally found them! The Shun knives (2) that I ordered to try out have resulted in a major purchase of a set of 19! I truly do not feel that I will ever have to look for another knife. They are balanced, sharp, and elegant! These knives meet all of the criteria one could set for "chef" and utility knives. Thank you Shun!
Review 71 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olind
Penninsula
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knife for slicing veggies
March 25, 2010
I got this knife for my husband but I'm using it more than he does because it is so easy to slice even the tough skin veggies now like tomatoes and bell peppers.
Review 72 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gerald
Liberty, SC
March 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Knife for Slicing
March 25, 2010
This knife does all that I expected and my expectations were high. It knife is also very well balanced and easy to hold and handle.
The Shun knife is very sharp and only time will tell how long it will hold its edge. Whenever it does need sharpening I will simply send it back to the address included for a free reconditioning.
Review 73 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DWGshopper
Arlington, TX
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best ever knives
March 24, 2010
We love the Shun knives. Sharp, feels good in your hand, well balanced and good looking.
Review 74 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeffHS
New Orleans, La
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Classic is truely that.
March 24, 2010
I bought two of these knives, one for my girlfriend who is really a chef and one for myself.
I couldn't have done better this knive is a slice of heaven pun intended. I just reccommend taking knive skills classes at Williams-sonoma to have a better understanding and control of such a fine instrument.
Review 75 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mep10
Falls Church, VA
March 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this knife!
March 23, 2010
I use it every day. It makes my life at the cutting board so much easier. I like the 5 inch knife so much, I'm thinking about investing in the 7 inch. Good knives make a world of difference in the kitchen. Invest in one, you won't be sorry.
Review 76 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrishGA
Macon, GA
March 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect size knife for everyday use
March 23, 2010
Ordered this for myself after my husband took over the Shun paring knives set we received for Christmas!
It is a wider blade than I am used to, so just a little getting used to. But, the blade length is perfect for most chopping (onions, potatoes etc) and is very sharp. We love these Shun knives and will likely continue to add to our collection.
Review 77 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thelaughingface
Fort Lee, NJ
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm Loving It!
March 22, 2010
This Santoku Knife is just what I hoped it would be when I ordered it online. I love the weight and feel of the handle. The overall feel of it is light, but substantial. It does a clean and wonderful job of dicing, slicing and I find myself reaching for it every time I am preparing meals. Highly recommended!
Review 78 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homeuser
Chicago, IL
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharpest knife
March 22, 2010
I greatly enjoy the sharp blade. I have followed the instructions and do not put in the dishwasher. I have had this for about a month and enjoy using it every day.
Review 79 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
harleybear
dubuque, ia
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife ever
March 22, 2010
This is my second Shun knife and they are the best I have ever used. They are so sharp and hold such an edge that my major concern is cutting myself.
Review 80 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lingar
Tampa, FL
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is my favorite knife
March 22, 2010
I already own several good knives, but this is the best! It's the perfect size and it is very sharp. It has replaced most of my knives now as I use it for just about everything.
prevpage 1 2 3 4 5 6 next