Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife

Combining the benefits of a chef's knife and cleaver, this hollow-ground santoku is indispensable for chopping, slicing and dicing. Oval indentations on the blade's sides reduce friction to produce clean, uniform cuts and minimize sticking. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. The wide, angle-tipped blade combines the best features of a chef's knife and a cleaver. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Available in right- and left-handed versions. 4" santoku: 4"-long blade; 4"-long handle; 3 oz. 5 1/2" santoku: 5 1/2"-long blade; 6"-long handle; 4.8 oz. 7" santoku: 7"-long blade; 6"-long handle; 7.5 oz. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
110 of 116(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chaneilus
,Centerville
,VA
February 15, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Purchased for a chef
February 15, 2014
I bought this knife for my son who is a professional chef. He uses his own knives at work so it was great to have this one personalized with his initials. He's also left-handed and this is the first left-handed edge he's used. He absolutely loves it! This is his second Shun knife (also has a chef's knife) and they are his favorites.
I had no problem ordering on the website and it arrived on time, as promised.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tonypal
,Mesquite
,tx
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic knife
August 1, 2013
Love the knife. very sharp really enjoy using it. ready to buy some of the other Shun knifes.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsMorgan
,CO
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very usable knife
April 30, 2013
I like the Santoku style but wanted a slightly smaller everyday knife and I wanted to try one of the Shun knives. Really like it. It is easy to handle, very sharp and a good weight. I got the 5 1/2" knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hellespont
,Alexandria
,VA
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very sharp, holds edge, works well
March 22, 2013
I'm a home cook working on becoming a home chef. Had been using the Shun Classic 5 in. Santoku for some time and really liked it. When the need for a larger knife came up, decided to stick with Shun and bought the 7 in. Both knives are extremely sharp (on first use managed to nick myself & draw blood with no effort) and hold their edge well. That it comes with a right- or left-hand handle is a nice feature. Good heft & feel. Excellent value for home use. Has a relatively thin blade that is great for chopping and slicing but requires care in cleaning and storage. Can't speak to how it would hold up under heavier use pros would give it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
914664
February 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun knife good. Purchased on line not good.
February 14, 2013
Hello. I recently purchased a SHun knife through the website. The knife is terrific however the process to purchase it was not. I wanted to engrave a monogram on the knife but the site did not allow me to type in more than 1 letter which makes it tough to have any meaningful monogram. This is in spite of the fact that a monogram could be added to the part for a small charge but there must be technical problems preventing it.
Review 6 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whateverissharp
,San Antonio
,Tx
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Knife
January 31, 2013
Small but very useful. Slices tomatoes and other soft things very nicely. Well worth the $ spent. Shun makes a great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Sharpness
Review 7 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmd1
,Dayton
,Oh
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun 4 /12 knife
January 30, 2013
What a treat, what a great knife, perfect for all those vegetables that need sliced.
Love it
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emmaceleste
,Hillsborough
,CA
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best knife
December 12, 2012
Good quality, easy to use , unbelivable smooth !!!!!!!!
Review 9 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KristinS
,Pittsburgh
,PA
September 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am in love with this knife
September 9, 2012
This is a fantastic knife! I have had a Henckel for a few years and it was my go to (I actually traveled with it when I went to homes without good knives). This knife completely outperforms my old Henckel. I handed it to my fiance to try and said to cut some tomatoes, he proceeded to cut all our tomatoes because he thought it was so cool. Be careful with cleaning and make sure you wipe dry and place in block. Because of the high carbon steel small rust spots will develop if you leave drops of water on it. The rust is easily cleaned with barkeepers friend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DBayer
,Bell Buckle
,TN
March 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife
March 1, 2012
This knife is incredible. I love it! It is very sharp, easy to handle and works great on a variety of food items.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 11 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KackyK
,League City
,TX
February 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Knife Ever
February 15, 2012
We love this knife. Our previous favorite knife was our Wusthof Ikon Santoku, that was until this knife went on special and we purchased. It is a beautiful knife both in performance and appearance. We have bought several for gifts and all our friends love it too.
Pros: Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 12 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4petes
,Oakland
,MD
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now this is a knife
February 8, 2012
What a great knife. It is extremely sharp. Cut through a pineapple link is was softened butter. This knife is the only knife used in the kitchen. Will have to see overtime how long the sharpness will last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 13 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LCBCHEF
,East Providence
,RI
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weak Tip on 5 1/2" Shun Santoku
February 4, 2012
I am a chef Instructor and recommend Shun knives to my advanced students. Except this one. I have never seen a knife with such a fragile tip. The tip snapped on its first use the blade is a razor and good for cooks with small hands how long until I get chips in the rest of the blade?
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 14 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandrajws
,boston
,ma
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great All Around tool!
January 16, 2012
This is such a useful knife. It's size makes it work for small or larger chopping or slicing tasks. It's razor sharp and the texture of the blade keeps food from excessively sticking to it as you work. I have the 5" version of this and would highly recommend it. Well balanced and of great quality as you would expect from Asian knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 15 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KWire
,norwell
,ma
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Becoming a chopping queen
December 27, 2011
love it! makes it easier for me to chop vegetables, speeding the cooking process.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight
Review 16 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OctoberGlory
,Atlanta
,GA
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior knife...
December 25, 2011
I've got a good collection of quality kitchen knives: LamsonSharp, Wusthof, Henckel, Laguiole, Victorinox and now a Shun. Straight out of the box the Shun is visually pleasing.
The VG10 steel has an excellent reputation and then it’s clad with multiple layers of another stainless for a fantastic finish. The blade is incredibly sharp – perhaps the sharpest knife out of the box I’ve ever gotten.
Whenever I get a new knife I give it a good work out the first few months. Chopping, slicing, dicing and the Shun does great. The blade glides through the food very easily and the knife fits my hand with good balance. The blade is still incredibly sharp.
It’s a bit early to tell, but this knife appears to be a real contender for my “go to” knife. I went to the WS Outlet to get a Shun Hone to maintain the edge, but they’d sold out. I’m also researching sharpeners as this blade is sharpened at 16 degrees from the factory – unlike most other knives which are at 20 plus degrees.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DLowe
Tampa, FL
Posted January 12, 2012
Thank you!!
Enjoyed your review and it helped with my decision making regarding purchase of this knife. Would also love to hear feedback on how sharpening it (and what approach you used to learn about knife sharpening in the first place.) I'm really nervous about sharpening my knives.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sierra1234
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for everyday use
December 23, 2011
Got it for my boyfriend for Christmas and he's in love with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 18 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chef100
,Indianapolis
,IN
Indianapolis. Indiana
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Kitchen KInife You Will Own
December 15, 2011
I do a lot of cooking and therefore chopping etc. This is absolutely the best utility kitchen knife I have ever owned and I have "some of the best" German knives you can buy. It is so sharp you won't believe it. I have given it as a gift to friends and they went out and bought more a few months later. Buy it -- you will love it.
Pros: Quality, Size, Strength, Shape
 
My Recommendations
 
 
Review 19 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatCat
,Fairbanks
,AK
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go To Knife
December 8, 2011
My knives are important to me and I've always used chef's knife as my main tool. My only complaint is that at times it is longer than I need for the job and I don't use a food processor for chopping/slicing/dicing jobs. The 5.5" blade length of this knife is marvelous!!! Chopping jobs that used to be tiring are now much, much easier!!! The blade is super sharp, holds an edge well and easily brought back with a few swipes of a steel I highly recommend it!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Sharpness, Weight
Review 20 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Santoku Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnLink
,Kalamazoo
,MI
Kalamazoo, MI
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My go to knife
December 8, 2011
Shun Classic knives are a tad expensive, but definitely the most bang for the buck. The size and balance of this one is idea for most tasks that I face daily in the kitchen. Slicing, chopping, cutting, it does them all with precision, ease, and sure footedness. Very few ordinary tasks require the heft of a typical French butcher knife, yet all of them benefit from the exceedingly sharp edge the Shuns are famous for. There is sharp, which most knives can achieve, and there is SHARP, which only Shuns achieve. The other knives work fine. Shun's work superbly. I would not use this for cutting up a chicken, but it is my first choice for just about everything else. I own other sized Shuns, and thought this relatively small sized one would be of just occasional use. Instead, it is the size I use most often.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Strength
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next