Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife

Shun knives are produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, reflecting the craftsmanship of a centuries-old tradition of knife making. The nakiri knife (Japanese for "vegetable knife") features a supersharp hollow-ground blade with indentations that reduce friction and minimize sticking when cutting fresh produce. VG-Max "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Shaped like a cleaver, this Nakiri knife chops, slices and minces fresh fruits and vegetables with ease. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nene1
,Long beach
,Ca
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun knive
May 12, 2014
Bought this for Mother's Day she loved it cuts like a champ both veggies an chx
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great Shun knife!!
January 12, 2014
I picked this up on sale before Christmas and boy am I glad I did. I already own a Shun Santoku but thought I'd to try the nakiri vegetable knife as I am used to Chinese vegetable cleavers. This knife is sharp, heavy in a well balanced way and feels good in my small hand. Am able to cut really thin slices of vegetables, turn it around and then julienne them. I highly recommend this knife. As with all quality knives, wash this immediately after use and dry. It will last you forever with care.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight, sharp
Review 3 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tonit
,Newark
,DE
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amateur's Delight
July 19, 2012
My daughter recommended that I start to buy quality cutery and I am happy that I followed her advice.
I have disposed of all of my other kitchen knives and I will purchase other Shun Classic Knives in the future.
This knife makes cooking easy and non-problematic when it comes to cutting vegetables and fruits. Especially tomatoes and other soft vegetables.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BillyBill
,San Francisco
,ca
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Knife for People with Big Hand
July 4, 2012
This is a very good knife if you have big hand. I have small hand, the handle is too long. I like to hold the knife closer to the blade.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefrikki
,sweetwater
,TX
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome knife
June 28, 2012
In the kitchen, I have a knife for every special occasion and need. How I survived my many years without this knife for my fruits and veggies, I certainly do not know. IT IS AWESOME plain and simple !!! Slices thin as I need with effortless pressure. Straight from the box, the knife impressed me with its cutting effectiveness. Easy to maintain (hone somewhat regularly) and care for. Highly recommend this knife !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: none
Review 6 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuki
,Honolulu
,HI
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun my fav knives
June 27, 2012
I have the Shun starter set and needed to add to my collection. I just love how the Japanese can make such quality knives. My parents had Japanese knives all their life and know I have begun mine.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RAD2012
,Bethesda
,MD
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievable
May 10, 2012
This is one of the best knives I've ever used. It can even replace a Chef's knife
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Shape
Review 8 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigBob2
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cutting edge
April 30, 2012
excellent product, chopping vegetables is no longer a "job" Have only used for a few weeks, hope the edge holds up.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 9 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momba
,Tucson
,AZ
Tucson, Arizona
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
April 17, 2012
This knife is perfect for thin slicing, chopping and mincing. It makes preparation tasks a breeze. Very sharp, easy to handle, a must for every cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchengranny
,Hilo
,HI
April 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Vegetable Knife Slicer
April 5, 2012
I have bought several well known brands of knives which have not performed as well as this Shun Nakiri Knife. It slices veggies all the way to the bottom without having to go back and re-slice the very bottoms. I love it! Would definitely recommend this knife without any hesitation. Worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 11 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnifeCollector
,Washington
,DC
washington DC
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Knife
March 20, 2012
I have to say that of my many knives, This one is most loved. First of all, Shun has made this knife the most polished of the classic knives I have. That collection includes a 10" chefs knife, 8" chefs, 6.5 santoku, 5" santoku, 6" utility, 7" chefs, 3" pairing, 7" slicer, 7" carving. This knife is also the most sharpest of the lot. It will go through onions like butter, soft butter. The balance is remarkable. The nakiri is made specifically for cutting vegetables very thinly. It can be a general purpose knife like a chefs knife but it wont rock. It is meant to be sliced or chopped with. It can be sliced in a slightly pushed or pulled fashion. If you don't cut very thinly, then you are better off with chefs or santoku knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight