Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife

Shun knives are produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, reflecting the craftsmanship of a centuries-old tradition of knife making. The nakiri knife (Japanese for "vegetable knife") features a supersharp hollow-ground blade with indentations that reduce friction and minimize sticking when cutting fresh produce. VG-Max "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Shaped like a cleaver, this Nakiri knife chops, slices and minces fresh fruits and vegetables with ease. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Handcrafted in Japan. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Nashville
,TN
February 14, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Veggie Knife
February 14, 2016
I have alway been a fan of Shun knives for their quality and design and this knife does not disappoint. Very sharp blade that food does not stick to due to its design. Feels great in the hand and that feeling translates into control of your knife. Fantastic for prepping vegetables and chopping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness
Review 2 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Apple Valley
,CA
December 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointing
December 12, 2015
This is my second knife and again it has little nicks on the blade. I treasured my first one, washed it by hand and when it had several chips I thought it had to have been my husband or boys . My second one I washed by hand and hid it in a special spot so it would remain perfect....but, it happened to this one too. Very dissapointing.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile, Quality
Review 3 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Island
,NY
October 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
October 26, 2015
Am delighted with this knife.....Very sharp and slices veggies so thin!! Very pleased with purchase....Don't hesitate!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Shape, Quality, Size, Weight, Strength, Balance, Easy to Store, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 4 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,La Conner
,WA
August 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed!
August 23, 2015
I was SO excited to get this knife and have been slowly replacing everything with Shun. The knife is rusting and has chips all along the edge. I've had it less than a year, I have NEVER placed it in the dishwasher and the hardest item it's gone up against is an apple.
Buyer beware.. sadly my shuns are going in the trash and will be replaced.
Pros: Weight, Balance
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
mytwocentstoo
Florida
Posted November 19, 2015
I'll take them too
Oh please don't just throw away. I'll take them as well. I'm a bit obsessive with my Shuns. I wash and dry them by hand immediately after using and have not had any problems in years of owning. Also, what the previous person said, simply send it into Shun and they will take care of it. They are warrantied for life. Even contacting Williams Sonoma would help to make this right. Both companies stand behind their products. Frustrating but solvable.
0points
Customer avatar
DebbW
Williamsburg, VA
Posted October 22, 2015
Send it to Shun
If you check the Shun website they have a good warranty. You should be able to send your knife to them for a replacement. This should not be happening as Shun knives are excellent. Dont give up on them contact the company for a replacement.
0points
Customer avatar
theQAmanager
West Bloomfield, MI
Posted September 28, 2015
If you toss them, I'll take them
@cupcake1,
I have had many knife sets over the years and the better ones require drying immediately after warm water washing. I have had a Nakiri knife for thirty years and it has never rusted.
I will oil it occasionally when sharpening, but the knife only rarely sees water as it wipes clean with a kitchen towel. I can do that because it has never touched meat of any kind.
Also, have you discussed your issue with WS or the manufacturer? Either will likely provide a positive response - replacement or return.
But if you insist on throwing them away, call me and I will pick them up.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gator Nation
,FL
February 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite knife
February 7, 2015
I have been purchasing Shun Kaji knives as my budget allows. I have about 7 now, and they have replaced ALL my kitchen knives. I wish I had discovered them earlier, but am happy that I know of them now. The Nakiri knife slices tomatoes so thinly that you can read through the slices. I actually enjoy creating meals with excellent knives. They are fun to use and gorgeous to admire. I do not allow anyone else (husband) to use these knives since he dropped one into the stainless steel sink and slightly bent the extraordinarily pointed paring knife. So these are ALL MINE now. And I keep them safe. Beautiful instruments and a pleasure to own!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tijeras
,Nm
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
December 31, 2014
I am absolutely delighted with this knife. It is easy to use, has a great design and the quality is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Long beach
,Ca
May 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun knive
May 12, 2014
Bought this for Mother's Day she loved it cuts like a champ both veggies an chx
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness
Review 8 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Los Angeles County, CA
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great Shun knife!!
January 12, 2014
I picked this up on sale before Christmas and boy am I glad I did. I already own a Shun Santoku but thought I'd to try the nakiri vegetable knife as I am used to Chinese vegetable cleavers. This knife is sharp, heavy in a well balanced way and feels good in my small hand. Am able to cut really thin slices of vegetables, turn it around and then julienne them. I highly recommend this knife. As with all quality knives, wash this immediately after use and dry. It will last you forever with care.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Weight, sharp
Review 9 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Newark
,DE
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amateur's Delight
July 19, 2012
My daughter recommended that I start to buy quality cutery and I am happy that I followed her advice.
I have disposed of all of my other kitchen knives and I will purchase other Shun Classic Knives in the future.
This knife makes cooking easy and non-problematic when it comes to cutting vegetables and fruits. Especially tomatoes and other soft vegetables.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,San Francisco
,ca
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Knife for People with Big Hand
July 4, 2012
This is a very good knife if you have big hand. I have small hand, the handle is too long. I like to hold the knife closer to the blade.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,sweetwater
,TX
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome knife
June 28, 2012
In the kitchen, I have a knife for every special occasion and need. How I survived my many years without this knife for my fruits and veggies, I certainly do not know. IT IS AWESOME plain and simple !!! Slices thin as I need with effortless pressure. Straight from the box, the knife impressed me with its cutting effectiveness. Easy to maintain (hone somewhat regularly) and care for. Highly recommend this knife !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: none
Review 12 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
June 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun my fav knives
June 27, 2012
I have the Shun starter set and needed to add to my collection. I just love how the Japanese can make such quality knives. My parents had Japanese knives all their life and know I have begun mine.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 13 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bethesda
,MD
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievable
May 10, 2012
This is one of the best knives I've ever used. It can even replace a Chef's knife
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Shape
Review 14 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cutting edge
April 30, 2012
excellent product, chopping vegetables is no longer a "job" Have only used for a few weeks, hope the edge holds up.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 15 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tucson
,AZ
Tucson, Arizona
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
April 17, 2012
This knife is perfect for thin slicing, chopping and mincing. It makes preparation tasks a breeze. Very sharp, easy to handle, a must for every cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 16 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hilo
,HI
April 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Vegetable Knife Slicer
April 5, 2012
I have bought several well known brands of knives which have not performed as well as this Shun Nakiri Knife. It slices veggies all the way to the bottom without having to go back and re-slice the very bottoms. I love it! Would definitely recommend this knife without any hesitation. Worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 17 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Nakiri Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
washington DC
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Knife
March 20, 2012
I have to say that of my many knives, This one is most loved. First of all, Shun has made this knife the most polished of the classic knives I have. That collection includes a 10" chefs knife, 8" chefs, 6.5 santoku, 5" santoku, 6" utility, 7" chefs, 3" pairing, 7" slicer, 7" carving. This knife is also the most sharpest of the lot. It will go through onions like butter, soft butter. The balance is remarkable. The nakiri is made specifically for cutting vegetables very thinly. It can be a general purpose knife like a chefs knife but it wont rock. It is meant to be sliced or chopped with. It can be sliced in a slightly pushed or pulled fashion. If you don't cut very thinly, then you are better off with chefs or santoku knives.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight