Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives

Indispensable for everyday cutting tasks from chopping to slicing, Shun's chef's knife features a supersharp blade hollow-ground with indentations that reduce friction and minimize sticking. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
42 of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeteATarte
,Atlanta
,Ge
March 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
March 2, 2014
Love this knife. It gets the job done. I will say that I did have the earlier incarnation of it last year and while sharp and a dream to handle, that blade was just too thin and within about 2 months the point chipped off and another nick made its way into the blade. I returned the defective knife to WS. The replacement knife seems to have a slighty thicker blade than before and this seems to be making the difference: the same sharpness without the fragility. Go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Shape
Review 2 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Donna61
,Dillsburg
,PA
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite chef's knife
August 13, 2013
Excellent knife...extremely sharp, glides through vegetables...great for chopping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookindad
,Bedford
,MA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite gift
December 30, 2012
I've been giving Shun knives as gifts to good friends and family. I love them and they are always well received. Easy to order from WS
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Shape
Review 4 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Word
,Oakland
,CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had to return it
November 29, 2011
I was so looking forward to upgrading from my Global chef's knife to this Shun. Unfortunately, the Shun was way more disappointing than I expected. Within three days of moderate use (ie. slicing onions, celery, etc), the very fine blade was bent in several places. Super sharp, but too good to be true. When I took it back, the clerk was very kind and said she expected more out of Shun. Too bad.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 5 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Nashville
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for home; Not for Work
June 14, 2011
I bought this Shun and loved it. Felt like an extension of my hand. Worked in a kitchen, so used it alot, keeping great care of it. I noticed after about a week of use, one morning the tip had broken off. I never did anything out of the ordinary and treated this thing like my baby.
Took it back to get a Wusthof.
Lesson: Shun remains the sharpest in store knives, but this one is a bit fragile.
If you are running around in a kitchen, buy the Wusthof. It will require more work to keep it sharp, but at least it won't break on you.
If you are a home cook, buy the Shun.
PS- After I left the kitchen, I went and bought a Shun as well. Best of both worlds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 6 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redneckchef
edmonton alberta
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wow, 2 years and still sharp!
May 23, 2011
what an amazing knife! I use it everyday for every meal and 2 years later (and counting) I still have yet to sharpen it. sharp is not how it should be described, . its downright surgical.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carvy
Whitefish Bay, WI.
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2 of the best knives
January 31, 2011
I have 2 of the Shun knives. One I purchased and the other was a Christmas gift. Truly outstanding cutlery .I would say a must have tool for those who enjoy cooking.
Review 8 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlaz
Tinley Park, IL
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Chef's Knife: a New Favorite
January 13, 2011
Thrilled to have this knife in my kitchen. This 6" knife has a wonderful grip, and has quite the effortless, quick motion in it's use. I have a high-end set of knives of another brand that I love, but I will certainly purchase more Shun products in the future.
Review 9 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cloverleaf
Los Angeles, CA
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful knife
January 10, 2011
This is a beautiful knife that is so sharp and easy to use, I am tempted to purge most of the knives in my block. It is my first Shun purchase, but won't be the last. Slicing onions, potatoes and other veg is a revelation. As others say, it is like slicing through butter. What a pleasure to use such a fine knife!
Review 10 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picklepox
Traverse City, MI
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a gorgeous and useful knife
January 5, 2011
We gave this knife as a wedding present on two occassions. It was well recieved.
Review 11 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kalip
Petaluma CA
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent knife
January 5, 2011
this knife is wonderful, cuts a tomato like it's butter! feels great in your hand
Review 12 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosc0e563
Round Rock,TX
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favoritr knife for slicing and chopping
January 3, 2011
This knife is exceptionally sharp and the blade length isn't too long . It's a great addition to my knife set!
Review 13 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommakat
Given WV
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent knife!
January 3, 2011
This knife is as functional as it is beautiful. It is exceptional for cutting very thin slices of raw meat (such as for beef carpacchio). It is by far the sharpest knife I have ever owned. I was so pleased with it that after I received mine, I ordered 2 more for Christmas presents!
Review 14 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snapcase23
SW Michigan
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yet another great knife in the classic Shun line
December 31, 2010
I have 3 other pieces in this line from Shun and have had a uniformly good experience with all of them. They do cost a bit, but they come with a factory edge that is wonderful and they wear very well. I love the handle shape, it is a masterpiece of understated function. A lifetime tool.
Review 15 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RHS1967
Plantation, Florida
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite go to knife.
December 30, 2010
This knife is great. It is light and comfortable in my small hand. I use it to cute everything. I LOVE this knife!
Review 16 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PearlEgirl
North Bend OR
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife
December 30, 2010
Nice weight, good balance and fits well in my hand. Very sharp and slices like a dream. Love it!
Review 17 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhyllisW
Minneapolis, MN
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite knife for prep work
December 30, 2010
The weight and balance of the knife makes it easy to dice up vegetables quickly and cleanly. I liked it so much I gave one to a friend for a present.
Review 18 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mobius1357
Houston
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knives Are Personal Choices
December 30, 2010
Depending on the size of your hand, your hand strength, and your arm strength, you are going to choose a certain knife. For me, I will take any Shun product over any other brand available. The weight and balance are prefect; I never feel like they will fly out of my hand, nor do I get tired using it. The quality is there, and some of my Shun knives, based on usage, are quite "old". They are still going strong. The Shun product is a reliable one.
Review 19 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treaty
Mn
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Knife
December 30, 2010
I've always wanted a great knife. This was a great knife at a great price!!!
Review 20 for Shun Classic Hollow-Ground Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovetocookinVA
Haymarket, VA
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lives up to the hype
December 29, 2010
This knife lives up to its reputation. The handle is comfortable and the blade is precision sharp. It is a great all purpose knife. I will add more Shun knives to my collection in the future.
page1 2 3 next