Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife

This innovative knife is one of the most versatile in the kitchen, thanks to a unique dual-frequency serrated blade that cuts easily through crusts of bread or soft foods like tomatoes. It's handcrafted in Japan by Shun, whose exceptional craftsmanship reflects a centuries-old tradition of Japanese knife making. VG-10 "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. The unique combination of low- and high-frequency serrations guarantees unsurpassed performance. Low-frequency serrations help minimize resistance between blade and cutting board. High-frequency serrations reduce tearing when cutting soft-skinned foods (like tomatoes) or slicing through hard crusts. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soccermom25
,Lansing
,MI
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SUPER sharp!
April 1, 2013
My husband & I debated for awhile as to whether or not to purchase this knife because of the cost. However, we both love to cook & have invested in copper cookware & Wusthof knives, so we decided to go for it. Wow!!! This knife slices through bagels, bread, tomatoes (& even Velveeta!) with ease! LOVE IT! It's a great addition to our kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammockgeek
,Mercer Island
,WA
March 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knife of many uses
March 15, 2013
I grab this knife for many uses, particularly cutting crusty bread and slicing tomatoes. Have also given it to both adult (and foodie) daughters. Very versatile!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile
Review 3 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DesertCook1
,Palm Desert
,CA
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Knife
March 12, 2013
This is a fabulous knife, why didn't I buy before?! I can't say enough good about the knife, unfortunately it is very expensive but worth every penny!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: expensive
Review 4 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HollyMA
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great overall kitchen knife
March 12, 2013
Great knife; use it every morning making lunches for my family. I used to use the smaller Shun utility knife, which is still great for smaller kitchen tasks such as slicing tomatoes, but the Shun Classic Dual Density is bigger and sharper and slices through thick sandwiches and bread with ease.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rigged
,Springfield
,IL
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another Great Shun
March 11, 2013
I am a big fan of Shun knives and this knife proves why. Great utility knife and a "must have" for any kitchen.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doni
,Clarence Center
,NY
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Shun Classic Knife
March 11, 2013
Received my knife recently. When I opened it up I told my Husband how sharp
it was and cut my finger as I did with the
last knife I ordered, so that is a plus. No
stiches, just a little cut, but it is wonderful.
Cuts a tomato and today I cut up a chicken-
no problem. Great knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Weight
Review 7 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mes567
,Milton
,Ga
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crushed inside box
March 11, 2013
My knife arrived in a nice big box but the box inside that actually held the knife was crushed. Not sure why they would mail what looks like a second out. The knife is sharp but is very thin and the end curves to one side. Not sure if this was due to box being damaged or not. Great price but not wont buy any more knives on line if this is what happens.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 8 for Shun Classic Dual-Density Utility Knife
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MSmart
,Collierville
,Tn
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprised by the light weight.
November 26, 2012
This is not a knife for fine work or heavy use. It is very light and feels a little less 'in control' than a larger chef or Santoku, but it's fine for everyday utility work.
As another reviewer wrote, it's great for slicing tomatos and I've found it is wonderful for slicing crusty breads. I can slice through a baguette with very few crumbs and no squished slices.
It's a little pricey for what you get, but Shun has quality products and are worth the extra money.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness
Cons: Difficult to Store