Shun Classic Chef's Knives

Indispensable for everyday cutting tasks from chopping to slicing, Shun's chef's knives feature supersharp blades and comfortable handles that provide strength and control. VG-MAX "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Long, slightly curved blade is efficient for both slicing and chopping. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
24 of 28(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smayo
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful knife, well worth the money.
April 28, 2013
I have had my Shun Classic 8" Chef's knife for a year now. I absolutely love it. I also have a Shun Classic paring knife along with a double hollow ground sumo santoku and serrated knife, which I also love. I highly recommend this knife aswell as the other Shun Classics.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFChris
,San Francisco
,CA
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife
March 1, 2013
I have one Shun Chef's knife, and it is my life goal to grow the collection to a full block. I love this knife.
I take it every 6/12 months or so to a shop to have it sharpened and it's as good as new. I might stop in to one of the sharpening lessons at the local Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianeA2
,Santa Margarita
,ca
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buying more
January 14, 2013
I recieved ths knife in November and use it over any knife I own. Sharp edge holds, washes easily and light weight. Replacing all me knives with Shun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wslandry7
,Palos Verdes
,Ca
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blade Damage
April 11, 2012
I loved how sharp this knife was until last night when I was cutting up a chicken. It has a huge chip in the blade. This knife is only good for veggies. Now I'm back to using my Global but its not as sharp as the shun. Now where is the metal chip? Opps!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile, blade chipping
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
redrocketcoupe
Denver, CO
Posted May 15, 2013
Blade Damage
If this blade chipped you should have returned it for a full refund as the knives are warrantied. If you were cutting through bone, that is probably why the blade chipped in the first place. Chef's knives are not made for cutting bone, you should have used kitchen shears or a meat cleaver for the bone. I have been using my Shun for over a year cutting meat and vegetables, and except for an occasional honing the blade is as sharp as ever and works magnificently. I will be replacing all of my kitchen knives with Shun.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LauraA
massachusetts
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-13points
6of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only used it twice - and the blade chipped
January 7, 2011
I got this as a gift for Christmas, after wanting a high-end chef's knife for a while. The second time I used it, the knife barely grazed my counter and the blade chipped. I was so bummed. I returned it and got a credit and am currently deciding which brand to go with. I will not go with another Shun. Blade seemed incredibly brittle and if it can't handle the wear and tear of a competent at-home cook there is something wrong with the product.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hhsstory
Hyde Park, NY
Posted January 14, 2013
food industry knife
Im currently a culinary student and I have never seen a knife let alone a shun knife chip or break due to it "grazing" the counter. Treat the knives with respect and care and it'll last you the rest of your life
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fdanhyland
Bellbrook, OH
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a great knife! Love it!
December 26, 2010
I love this knife. I've been trying to get my hands on a great knife for a while, and am so elated with this one. It is very, very sharp. I cut myself immediately after opening it, because I'm not used to such a sharp knife. But I am very pleased and excited to use it more!
Review 7 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
innkeepress
Jonesborough, TN
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
5of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Falling off the Edge
November 24, 2010
It's not often I buy a new knife - my motto is if you're only going to have one, then make it a good one. So it was time for a larger chef's knife - read reviews, did research and was very excited to order my Shun chef's knife. I have never been this disappointed in a kitchen item (well, except for all those sifters that rusted no matter what). I used it 3 times on a bamboo cutting board (chopping veggies), and the next thing I know, it has a large nick in the blade. I had it professionally sharpened, and it barely holds a good edge, AND it's showing rust. I have not used this knife more than 10x. I take good care of it, and I am baffled that so many gave it 5 stars. My 10-year-old Wusthof is in great shape compared to my Shun. BEWARE!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jsrich1
Posted December 21, 2010
You can return your knife to Kershaw shun -- check the web for the address - they have a lifetime warranty! Same thing just happened to me and I have had my knife for 10 years!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnyK
Staten Island, New York
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best knife I've ever owned
September 8, 2010
This knife is just fantastic. I've wanted to own a Shun knife for years but didn't want to spend the money. I shouldn't have waited so long. I will be ordering another knife very shortly.
This knife slices through meat like butter and is equally efficient in cutting up salads and carving chickens. Just be careful with it - no dishwasher - and put it away as soon as you're through with it. That's it! Enjoy!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
buggy50
bettendorf, ia
Posted January 16, 2011
Chip Chip
after only using the knife 2 times i found 2 large chips in the blade. i paid $175.00 for this knife.. I hope the company will stand behind it...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
portjeffgirl
Port Jefferson Long Island New York
July 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knife great service at WS
July 27, 2010
My husband gave me this knife for Christmas and I loved it right away. We were out of the country from Jan 7th thru May. When we returned I started using my knife right away. At some point I realized it had a big nick in it. Have no idea how it happen. My husband brought it back to WS and explained we only used the knife for about 2 weeks. The supervisor replaced the knife without hesitation. Kudos to customer service and a great knife.
Review 10 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dana123456
Chattanooga, TN
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pricey but fine quality
June 16, 2010
Purchased this one as a starter for a set of various sizes to replace a lot of worn and well-used old knives. It's wonderful, incredibly sharp--will gradually purchase more of them.
Review 11 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Whidbey Island, WA
June 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shun Santoku
June 7, 2010
We bought this knife for our daughter - after having bought one for ourselves - AND.... not surprisingly -- SHE LUVZ IT !!
Shun knives & this knife bring cooking prep to another dimension = slicing - dicing - etc. are effortless & awesome !
Worth the $$$ = especially at this 'special' price !
Review 12 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilismom
Lawton, OK
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love these knives
May 26, 2010
I now own four knives from this line. I love them because they are so sharp and they hold an edge for a long time. I have many knives but I always search the knife block for these.
I have chopped and sliced with this chef's knife and have been very happy with the way it performed. They are pricey but well worth it. So far, I have acquired each of mine at 50% off , making them very affordable.
Review 13 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinkrm
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scary Sharp, perfectly balanced
May 25, 2010
This knife is scary sharp. It is also perfectly balanced and extremely comfortable to hold. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great chef's knife.
Review 14 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kary
Oregon
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife
May 13, 2010
This really an amazing knife. I love chopping anything now. It is so shape makes everything you chop seem like you are cutting through butter. I have really good knives, but this one is way better.
Review 15 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buba
CHIHUAHUA, MEXICO
May 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FOR USE DAILY
May 12, 2010
THE BEST I HAVE IT, I FALL IN LOVE WITH IT.. EXCELLENT QUALITY
Review 16 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdhmsu
Rockton, IL
May 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife
May 8, 2010
This knife was a replacement for Wustof set that was a wedding gift almost 9 years ago.
The old set just doesn't seem to keep an edge lately, and using this knife show just how bad they had become.
Excellent quality and easy to handle for both my wife and I.
Review 17 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mhud
South Carolina
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best you can buy!
May 7, 2010
Just be careful! It is unbelievably sharp. Great knife.
Review 18 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OKCowboy
Oklahoma
March 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great knife
March 23, 2010
This knife is very sharp and a good weight making it easy to use for long periods of time. Beautifuly made and high quality. I will be purchasing more Shun knives in the future.
Review 19 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abnmanchu
minneapolis, mn
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best cooks knife I've ever worked with
January 2, 2010
I have the 8 inch and the balance on this knife is awesome. this is my favorite knife and one that I use every time I cook. I do have several other knives that I use when edge damage is possible like working with winter squashes but for all other uses it is the one I always go to for the majority of my prep. it is also a knife that only my hands touch (the kids use the Chicago in the block). worth every penny and don't forget the matching steel to keep the edge tuned.
Review 20 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rwill
Lansing, MI.
December 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
5of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
favorite knife
December 5, 2009
I've had this knife for almost a year now. I use it almost everyday, for everything from small chopping to larger cutting jobs. It has kept a nice sharp smooth edge, and still cuts like a dream. I just purchased a Shun Santoku today, so it might be replaced as my favorite, but probably not.
page1 2 next