Shun Classic Chef's Knives

Indispensable for everyday cutting tasks from chopping to slicing, Shun's chef's knives feature supersharp blades and comfortable handles that provide strength and control. VG-MAX "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 69 microthin layers of stainless steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Long, slightly curved blade is efficient for both slicing and chopping. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
Review 1 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sheb
,Portland
,OR
October 12, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not good for pro cooks
October 12, 2014
Had a 10" classic chefs knife for 9 years, use it professionally in busy kitchens. At first it was very sharp, but once it dulls it doesn't resharpen very well. I know how to sharpen knives, but no luck with my stones, I even took it into a sharpening biz - still wasn't sharp. I even took it into the Kershaw facility here in Portland 3 times and even they couldn't get it sharp! I'm thinking it's this VG Max steel, they make it sound good but it's not very popular. I use the knife less and less, sad to say, and pretty soon it'll be out to pasture in my home kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Sharpness, Dull
Review 2 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Princess57
,Peoria
,Az
September 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knife ever
September 14, 2014
This is the best chefs knife I have ever bought. It is sharp and a great size to chop just about anything. The quality is superior. And the feel of it in my hand is excellent
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smayo
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful knife, well worth the money.
April 28, 2013
I have had my Shun Classic 8" Chef's knife for a year now. I absolutely love it. I also have a Shun Classic paring knife along with a double hollow ground sumo santoku and serrated knife, which I also love. I highly recommend this knife aswell as the other Shun Classics.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFChris
,San Francisco
,CA
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Knife
March 1, 2013
I have one Shun Chef's knife, and it is my life goal to grow the collection to a full block. I love this knife.
I take it every 6/12 months or so to a shop to have it sharpened and it's as good as new. I might stop in to one of the sharpening lessons at the local Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Balance, Strength, Sharpness, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DianeA2
,Santa Margarita
,ca
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buying more
January 14, 2013
I recieved ths knife in November and use it over any knife I own. Sharp edge holds, washes easily and light weight. Replacing all me knives with Shun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 6 for Shun Classic Chef's Knives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wslandry7
,Palos Verdes
,Ca
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
3of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blade Damage
April 11, 2012
I loved how sharp this knife was until last night when I was cutting up a chicken. It has a huge chip in the blade. This knife is only good for veggies. Now I'm back to using my Global but its not as sharp as the shun. Now where is the metal chip? Opps!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile, blade chipping
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
redrocketcoupe
Denver, CO
Posted May 15, 2013
Blade Damage
If this blade chipped you should have returned it for a full refund as the knives are warrantied. If you were cutting through bone, that is probably why the blade chipped in the first place. Chef's knives are not made for cutting bone, you should have used kitchen shears or a meat cleaver for the bone. I have been using my Shun for over a year cutting meat and vegetables, and except for an occasional honing the blade is as sharp as ever and works magnificently. I will be replacing all of my kitchen knives with Shun.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)