This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife

With its pronounced curve and broad, hefty blade, this knife rocks effortlessly over the cutting board to mince and chop herbs, garlic, onions, nuts and more. The expansive surface area of the blade also makes it handy for transferring chopped foods. VG-10 "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. The wide, angle-tipped blade combines the best features of a chef's knife and a cleaver. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
Review 1 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thunder
,Laurel
,MS
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
This knife made me sign up for FACEBOOK
January 2, 2012
Having refused for years to follow the masses and become entangled in the clinches of FACEBOOK with all the friends, and likes, I caved, when I got my SHUN 7 " Rocking Knife. My wife Sherri, presented it to me as a gift for my birthday. I was so over come, I said I had to tell the world, and without fear or reservation, I immediately signed up for FACEBOOK. My life changed when I used this knife for the 1st time. There is no way to describe the joy of going through veggies like "a hot knife through butter". The precision, and ease of use is almost sensual to the emotions of control and power. I am officially now "SHUN 'd", and I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight, it's a shun
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EddySal
Glassboro, NJ
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Ok at most things.
September 1, 2011
When I saw this knife I was very excited. However I do not believe it excels at anyone one activity. My major issue with this knife is that it does not have much of a flat cutting edge so you do indeed need to rock the blade for maximum exposure of the blades edge flush to the cutting board. I purchased this knife at a nice price point on a black friday sale so I'm not too upset but if I purchased this at regular price I would be disappointed. I would recommend getting a traditional chef's knife over this. I find myself mainly using this blade for cleaver type activities only because I do not have a clever.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Versatile, Sharpness
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pronghorn
Helena, MT
July 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Effortless cutting
July 16, 2011
Fantastic knife, extremely sharp; goes thru fibrous veggies easily. I will be adding more Shun pieces over the near future; need to figure out how to store it- the magnetic oak knife block would probably work best
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
disposeall
Greendale, WI
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
"now that's a noife"-Crocadile Dundee
February 10, 2011
I bought this knife to compliment my Henckels set. I now find myself using it more and all 10 pieces of the Henckels set less. Its got nice balance, stays sharp and easily handles cutting through large vegetables. The best feature of all is Shun's ability to finely chop foods. The rocking motion for chopping/dicing saves time and evenly distributes wear along the entire length of the blade.
Review 5 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Egor
Channel Islands Harbor
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best knife ever
January 6, 2011
This is a beautiful knife as well a razor sharp. It is best suited for mincing, julienning and fine chopping.
Review 6 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vicl
frisco, texas
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
rocking knife
January 5, 2011
bought one for my brother, my son-in-law, and for myself---we all love it!
Review 7 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
churchlady
fort worth
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fits my hand well
January 4, 2011
cuts evenly and is easy to use and control. It is one of the best knive investments that I have made in a long time.
Review 8 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaMom
Orlando, FL
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Have Never Cut Produce So Fast In My Life!
December 31, 2010
I will admit that my knives have always been a little pathetic. I have never wanted to spend a ton of money on a knife so I had no idea what a difference a quality knife like this would make.
The first thing I used this knife for was a chopped salad. It cut through the romaine like it was nothing. No pulling or crushing the leaves! The cucumber was chopped into little bits in no time.
I used it to chop everything in my salad. I now can chop my food up just like the TV chefs, quickly and with little effort on my part!
I wish that someone would have told me 25 years ago that a good set of knives would make cooking such a joy. Well, at least I know now!!!
Review 9 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raneydaycook
Seattle WA.
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Another fine knife
December 30, 2010
I love this knife for cutting fresh herbs and doing a fine dice on veggies etc. I made a cutting board with a shallow bowl indentation that helps keep things in the same area (such boards can be found in many cooking shops). All in all this knife makes prep much faster and the incredible edge Shun is renound for cuts the most delicate foods without bruising or crushing.
Review 10 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puddinpop
Plaquemine, La.
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
New Chef says knife handles like a dream
December 29, 2010
This was one of the knives our son, who is a new chef, requested. He has used it repeatedly and is thrilled with it.
Review 11 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EBITDA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Flawed engineering and design
December 26, 2010
looked nice but when is too awkward to be useful - does what several other knives do - but does all of them very poorly
average for a shun in quality
below average in usefulness
Review 12 for Shun Classic 7" Rocking Knife
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tigerbill
Terrell Tx.
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Beautifull and Comfortable
October 6, 2010
I thought this knife would be too wide and heavy but it is light and comfortable. It has a perfect fit and feel to the hand. It is one of the most beautiful shaped knifes i have ever seen or held. It has become my favorite tool in the kitchen because it is so versatile. I love this knife,it's beautiful and comfortable,it's awesome!