Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku

The extra width and weight of this blade give it the focused power to cut through whole chickens or large blocks of cheese. Two stacked rows of hollow grounds resist sticking when slicing and the broad blade is great for scooping up chopped ingredients from cutting board. VGMax "super steel" blade is clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. The wide angle-tipped blade combines the best features of a chef's knife and a cleaver. Two rows of indentations along the blade reduce friction and keep slices from sticking. Exceedingly sharp cutting edge is long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handle resists moisture and has a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. This NSF-certified knife meets the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
Review 1 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FiddleDog
,Nashville
,TN
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharpness at a cost
January 24, 2012
I've owned this knife for a little less than a month now, and was (and still am) impressed with the sharpness and balance of this knife. I've been a blade enthusiast for some time now, and recognized that due to the blades width, that this knife would need to be babied a bit.
Unfortunately, the tip of the blade chipped off (nearly a quarter of an inch) after having been dropped no more than 4 inches into the sink. This may have been just an unlucky break, but as kitchen cutlery are tools, I would have expected this knife to be a bit more durable than that.
Pros: Balance, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 2 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aljacobs
,Tampa Bay
,FL
Tampa Bay, FL
January 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
East vs West and in between
January 5, 2012
I have knives, over twenty five Wustof's, Shuns, a Ken Onion and a Kramer. For commercial work a Forschner cleaver, chefs and slicer for barbecue or charitable travel banquet work.
This is not a heavy cleaver and you should use it for the intended light to medium daily work. West for Butchering, Breaking, and Boning. Shuns get used for more delicate work on lighter entrees, veggies, meats, and fruits which have never presented a stain problem.
Nor have I experienced those chips. The one reply that it was dropped and broke the tip in a stainless sink is understandable.
Many brands have been shortened this way and I dropped a paring knife while the disposal was running and I have a nice two inch paring knife now for opening packages of produce.
If you sent it back to Shun they might return it as a 7 inch Santoku instead of a 71/2 in Santoku and save the day as it will be stronger and shorter, possibly with a higher bevel and less chance of the tip breaking again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: intended use and care
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CastIrish
,RIchmond
,VA
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenomenal Performance
December 31, 2011
I've used many santoku knives and was always wishing for a wider blade. This knife granted my wish! I usually stick with my 10" Shun Classic for all jobs but have immediately incorporated this knife in handling most of my slice & dice prep tasks. It has the width of a cuisine massive and the shorter santoku blade that allows me to easily adjust my grip for mincing and slicing while it's been a great chopper as well. It's proven to be designed for speed. It does feel a bit delicate if you are used to German steel. I wouldn't recommend hacking through a chicken although it can be done easily with a bit of slicing finesse. Even with the 16 degree double bevel and its light weight, it took little effort to 8 cut a wog. I have a mismatched collection of knives other than my pair of Shuns. I'm convinced as to how I will complete my collection now!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cuppy
mountainside new jersey
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
shunclassicdoublehollow-groundsumosantoku
April 19, 2011
I have 36 chef knives ranging from 100 dollars to 750 dollars.This shun double santoku was a great idea.It also sharpens so easily.I use a japanese waterstone 10000 grit six passes on each side and it is like new.The trick is to keep it sharp so the knife does not have to be rebevled. i simply love this knife. For the money i paid 99 dollars at ws it is unbeatable and a absolute steal get it
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 5 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChefJeff42
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
13of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Poor Performance
March 24, 2011
Ok, I have many knives including other Japanese knives such as Masamoto, Misono, Glestain and others. I have never purchased a Shun knife due to comments by other chefs who said that they stain and chip easily! Well, for Christmas this year a relative bought me this knife because it looked like my workhorse knife at my restaurant, a 270mm Glestain Gyuto, which also has two rows of "dimples". I have gingerly used this knife for nothing more than prepping vegetables and meats, being careful to go no where near the bone! Yesterday after prepping some herbs I immediately went to wash it (if you don't you'll start to get rust stains due to the "Damascus" mirror finish) but it slipped out of my wet hands. Also unfortunate, the knife plummeted tip down into my stainless steel sink! Now it didn't fall that far, maybe 6" - 8" but I was amazed at the damage! The minor damage was 3 small chips on the cutting edge and the major damage was that A FULL HALF INCH OF THE KNIFE TIP BROKE OFF!!!
Cons: brittle and too delicate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
anneka
Posted November 17, 2011
A narrative
Beautifully written. "Plummeted down" - I held my breath. I'm not kidding; I am heeding your advice about this knife. Bravo!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ayeyiyii
GA
March 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I absolutely love it !!!
March 3, 2011
I am just learning the joys of cooking and this knife became my favorite the first time I used it. It 's well balanced and lightweight making it comfortable to use - its almost like its not even there. It is super super razor sharp and I recommend start ing slow until you get used to the balance and feel or you may be needing stitches. Excellent buy!
Review 7 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefHenry
Middleton, ID
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite knifes
February 15, 2011
This is one of the sharpest knifes I have used. It cuts very easily through veggies, or chicken. It is worth the price. I purchased it before XMass on sale to boot. I have also ordered recently Shun Kaji Nakiri Knife. I hope to also give it a review soon.
Review 8 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FriedGreenTomatillos
Jackson, MS
January 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Faux-Damascus Steel Does Not Last-Chips Easily
January 15, 2011
Yes, this knife, and all of the Shun faux-Damascus steel knives, are beautiful and perform beautifully. However, the blade does not last. Ours chipped without explanation on the edge, and when we returned it to our WS retailer, the manager told us that they were taking these back at an alarming rate for chipping on the blade edge. No wonder the knives are on DEEP discount. I suspect that WS will get rid of these and will no long carry the faux-steel, at least not this particular iteration of it. If you buy it, do so at a discount and prepare for chipped edge.
Review 9 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clark2011
Georgia
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive
January 4, 2011
We just received this knife for Christmas and are extremely impressed. It is "watch out or you will lose a finger" sharp. Overall, it is versatile and sure to be my go-to knife.
Review 10 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pepperminta
los angeles, ca
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent knife - very sharp
December 25, 2010
this knife cuts through onions and anything else you can imagine like butter. amazingly smooth and is super sharp. so sharp that i sliced my finger on day 2 of using it while cleaning it. 4 stitches. absolutely love this knife but it is very sharp. be careful!
Review 11 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greekcook
kenwood ca.
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my new favorite
December 8, 2010
I had gone into SW has I had heard the Shun rocking knife was on sale. As I was testing it with some carrots that the store had set up on a butcher block my eye caught this one box sitting there all by itself. Looking inside, there was the Sumo, not needing another Santoku as I already own 2 I started to put it back but deceided to test it. WOW ! Very impressive.......needless to say, I now own 3 Santoku's
Review 12 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelinore
Ohio
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have Knife
December 1, 2010
My culinary skills have gotten to the point where it was time to make the investment up to professional quality knives. I was in absolute awe over the quality and comfort of this knife. It works on everything.. I researched for quite awhile and decided on this knife, and I've yet to regret it.
Review 13 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeCookingKate
Texas
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A new essential in my kitchen
November 26, 2010
The balance, weight and size of this knife are all perfect. I used this overtime making Thanksgiving dinner; it is now my new favorite, overshadowing my work-horse chef's knife that I have used for 20 years. Cutting sweet potatoes was for the first time not like chopping wood; and it even made slivers of garlic with surgical precision. When it came time to carve the turkey, I started with the traditional carving knife, got frustrated, and finished with this one. If you are only going to have one good knife in your kitchen, this is the one to have.
Review 14 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mega
Providence, RI
November 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Boom. Just cut through a whole chicken.
November 15, 2010
Talk about a knife! I was shopping with my girlfriend just browsing around our local WS with the girl looking at cookie cutters and whatnot and I looking into the knife case. I look to the side to see this knife on display outside of the knife case for only 100 bucks. A Knife this gorgeous, not to mention a Shun, for a hundred bucks?! Picked it up right away. (Not to mention I got the "Professional Chef" discount of 20% off)
Upon getting home, I put it to the test, cutting things that didn't need to be cut, all the way up to a pizza box that wouldn't fit in the trashcan. You knife fanatics might think I'm trying to sound like those showtime garbage knives on tv, but right after the pizza box I cut a few tomatoes paper thin and it was easy as pie. Definitely need to add this one to your own collection, guys. And for this price, it's affordable too.
Review 15 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrancoAmerican
New York City & Paris, France
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great knife but doesn't fit in Shun bamboo block
October 11, 2010
This is a fantastic, versatile knife but beware that it will not fit into any of the slots in the Shun Classic 11 Slot Bamboo Storage Block. It is also stunning knife to behold.
I purchased a Shun Kershaw magnetic envelope (largest size) to protect and store this knife safely. This item was available at my local W-S, the flagship store at Columbus Circle in NYC. It does not seem to be available on W-S online website.
I decided to invest in top quality knives and this was the first Shun knife that I purchased. I wanted more unusual Shun open stock knives that are not available in sets and am happy with the excellent Shun collection that I put together. I could not be happier with the performance of this substantial, easy to manœuvre Sumo Santoku.
Review 16 for Shun Classic 7 1/2" Double Hollow-Ground Sumo Santoku
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefjake
reading, ma
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lighter than it looks
October 11, 2010
i picked this up to replace the one they gave us to use in culinary school. i have to say out of the many i have tried this one takes them to the cleaners. i was a little surprised to find out how light it was but i like that it doesn't wear my wrist out. i'm a big guy and i love the cleaver like width. this is an absolutely indispensable in my kitchen