Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4

Crafted in Japan, these steak knives have blades forged of stainless steel clad with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel. The result is a supersharp blade that combines the beauty of traditional Damascus steel with modern rust-resistance and durability. Set includes four steak knives. VG-MAX "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Exceedingly sharp cutting edges are long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handles resist moisture and have a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
Review 1 for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tj1595
January 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
knives great but no bamboo box
January 26, 2012
We got a set of these for my son and his wife for christmas. They also got a set when they got married a few months ago. They love the knives, but neither set came with the bamboo box, just some black cardboard box. The knives were returned and more sent to correct the problem, but still no bamboo box. So if you get these you will get great knives, just don't count on getting the bamboo box.
Review 2 for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nonnieb
Wine country, CA
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-40points
3of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could have been great
December 23, 2010
The knives are beautiful; I have no complaint with them. But, the presentation box is poor. The bamboo outside is OK, but the inside lining is a very cheap, thin foam material with a flocked surface. On the box I got it was torn in two places in the depressions where the knife handles fit. I suspect bouncing around during shipping caused the knife handles to dig into the lining and tear it. But, I don't think the lining would hold up over time even if it arrived un-damaged. SInce this is a Christmas gift for my son and I didn't have time to return it, I re-lined the box with a cute asian design cotton quilting fabric that I had. He's used to getting home made gifts from me anyway.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
lamama
CA
Posted June 16, 2011
I agree that the review is suppose to be about the knives. However, I ordered the set and they came in a cardboard box. (A nice cardboard box, but still cardboard, not bamboo....) I am calling Williams-Sonoma for an explanation, as now I probably need to return them to get the bamboo box. ???
0points
Customer avatar
Zhameng
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Posted February 27, 2011
Container
Shun knives are works of cutlery art for the layman. A proper container to "Protect" that art is of importance. Some would just throw these knives into a drawer. I would like a good quality wooden box for the Kaji set of steak knives.
0points
Customer avatar
NYLaylah
NYC
Posted January 2, 2011
Who cares about the box?
This review seems irrelevant. Most people purchasing high-end Japanese knives care more about how the knives performed than the packaging.
0points
Customer avatar
Archer
Colorado Springs
Posted December 24, 2010
So how were the knives?
These knives are rated a one because of the lining of the box being torn? How were the knives themselves? Many of us don't care that much about the packaging, but are focused on how the knives themselves perform.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamieH
Houston, TX
November 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing steak knives
November 15, 2009
For the longest time, I couldn't justify the price of these steak knives thinking that the cheaper knives I owned were just fine. After using Shun knives in my kitchen for cooking, I finally caved and bought these as a present for my husband. They are unbelievable and take any work out of cutting a steak. The knives are also beautifully designed and stay sharp for a while, even with frequent use.
Review 4 for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebbieV
Cary, NC
June 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Steak Knives ever
June 18, 2009
I bought these for my husband as a birthday present. He thought I was crazy for spending so much money but he kept them anyway. Once we used them for the first time he thought they were worth the money. We had our last Henkel Steak knives for 15 years, they don't owe us anything but they certainly were never this quality. We have had the Shun Knives for a few years now and they are still the best steak knives ever. We always hand wash them as we do with all of our Shun Knives. We love them so much we are buying another set!
Review 5 for Shun Classic Steak Knives, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bianca
Madison, CT
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Steak Knives
September 4, 2008
Although these knives are expensive, they are worth every penny. They cut steak perfectly. These knives really make eating a piece of meat enjoyable. Be careful when washing them because they are extremely sharp. And if you love to cook, I would recommend all of the Shun knives. They make prep work in the kitchen easy.