Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set

Produced by Japan's leading blade manufacturer, Shun knives reflect the craftsmanship of a centuries-old tradition of Japanese knife making. This set brings together a trio of essential knives. Set includes a 3 1/2" paring knife, a 6" serrated utility knife and an 8" chef's knife. VG-MAX "super steel" blades are clad on each side with 16 microthin layers of high-carbon steel, creating a variegated look reminiscent of a Damascus-style blade. Exceedingly sharp cutting edges are long lasting and easy to maintain. Durable PakkaWood handles resist moisture and have a D shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. These NSF-certified knives meet the high-level safety standards for professional kitchens. Handcrafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
Review 1 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SinCityCook
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Knife Upgrade
January 12, 2014
Finally upgraded my 25 yr old Sabatier kitchen knives. After much research, I went with the Shun Classic set. I tend to use the "essentials" for almost all tasks, so this 3-piece set was perfect. I find the Shun knives are sharper and thinner than what I was used to using. They are very well-balanced and most important, the handles feel great in my hand. Although the steel is harder and slightly more fragile than what I was used to, I've had no problems at all with chipping or corrosion. I also purchased the Shun knife tray for safe storage in a drawer under my cutting block. The build quality is excellent and I now have more counter space.
Overall, I'm very satisfied with the Shun knives and highly recommend this set for anyone looking to upgrade or just get started in the kitchen.
Pros: Quality, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 2 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
murcielago711
November 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have to get from Williams Sonoma
November 12, 2011
I got the three piece set from WS because their set has a reverse serrated (scalloped) utility knife. While the knife is ultimately not the most useful knife, I was buying my knives in stages. In the mean time it made cutting bread and carving meats pretty easy. I also am a cook for hire so having a box makes for easy transport without having to spring for knife carriers. They need to be honed about once a week but the balance and everything is perfect. Especially when using a pinch grip. Still pricey.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Balance, Sharpness, Weight
Review 3 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
October 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best knives to date!
October 16, 2010
Just got the 3 piece set as an anniversary present from the hubby. Shun knives are the best I've used so far. Sharp, lightweight, and did I mention sharp? My slicing, dicing, & veggie prep has improved tremendously. I'm even attempting julienne slices for chinese dishes.
Review 4 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HollyMA
Boston, MA
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazingly Sharp & Beautiful
October 9, 2010
I love this knife set! My old set was nearly 20 years old and they were simply not holding an edge anymore even after professional sharpening. I didn't realize how dull my knives were until I started using the Shun. It cut through onions, fennel and ginger...well...like a hot knife through butter! It easily sliced a thick steak into perfect strips. The handle is very comfortable and its easy to grip even when your hands get a little wet from all the cutting. It has made preparing meals so much easier. I'm looking forward to purchasing more pieces to add to the set.
Review 5 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenn82479
Milwaukee, WI
April 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Last set of knives you'll ever need!
April 8, 2010
I love love love these knives! The blades are incredibly sharp and it's so easy and fun to prep food. The handles have a great feel in the hand and the weight is perfect...not quite as heavy as Wusthof but more substantial than Global. Shun is defnitely the brand to go with!
Review 6 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lverrall
March 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Choice
March 6, 2010
I received these knives from my fiance as a Christmas surprise last year and I must admit that I'd never realised the impact a good knife can have on your cooking skills until I had these. Each knife is very versatile and I really haven't used a single other knife in the kitchen since I Christmas. Highly recommended (although make sure you also take some knife skills classes upon purchase, as these are extremely sharp).
Review 7 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ames09
Rumford, RI
December 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect knives make the perfect holiday gift
December 8, 2009
I received this 3-piece set as a gift last Christmas and couldn't be happier. These knives do everything and anything you'd want/need from your kitchen knives. Excellent quality and great value - plus they look different from the typical German knives. I have primarily used the pairing knife for everyday use and after almost a year it still looks and performs like brandnew.
This makes the perfect gift for anyone looking to upgrade their existing knife set - even if it means you get this gift for yourself. You will not be disappointed.
Review 8 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharyn
Wilmington, DE
October 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome knives
October 8, 2009
I love the knives and I like that they have a case. They are close at hand, but out of reach of little hands. I like to cook, but hardly chef quality or quantity so this starter set is perfect for me. I let the butcher do the heavy cutting, I am more like a sous chef, chop and pare.
Love this knife set!
Review 9 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pixel
Oakland, CA
August 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vegetables Beware!
August 11, 2009
These three knives have replaced every other knife in our kitchen. They make chopping vegetables a pleasure rather than a task. Also, they are beautiful to look at and feel great in the hand!
Review 10 for Shun Classic 3-Piece Knife Starter Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enrico
boston, ma
May 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous knives
May 5, 2009
I've investigated all kinds of knives on the market and finally found ones that are comfortable, excellent quality and great looking. Have been telling everyone I know about these great knives. Don't miss out, these are the ones.