Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder

This lightweight tool is a favorite of gardeners for one-handed weeding. Handcrafted in Japan, it features a compact blade that slips between plants to mow down weeds and gather debris. To loosen and remove weed roots, turn the blade sideways and use the point to pierce and loosen the soil. High-carbon steel blade made using traditional Japanese laminated-metalworking techniques for a hard, exceptionally sharp cutting edge. Curved neck allows the blade to get close to short weeds and grasses, even in tight spaces. Lightweight Japanese-pine handle narrows in the middle for a comfortable grip. Blade can be resharpened for years of use. 5" x 1 3/4" blade; 12 1/2" long overall. 6.6 oz. Crafted in Japan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
Review 1 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UTSam
,Springville
,Ut
September 20, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incomparable
September 20, 2014
I have been gardening my whole life and this is the best tool I have ever used, hands down. It is simple, tough, and effective. I'm ordering more for my kids and my extended family.
All I want is a hoe sized version of this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, material, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 2 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smoody
,Lexington
,NC
May 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite garden tool.
May 15, 2014
I had a tool similar to this and thought it was the best but now that I have received the Nejiri Weeder I'll never use my other one again. This is a great tool and no gardener should be without. Love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FoodForFriends
,Cumberland Plateau
,TN
October 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Very Handy Tool
October 16, 2013
An excellent tool to use around your tomatoes after the cages have been put around your tomatoes. The short handle and blade works great around the bottom of the cages to remove weeds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAMMS
MS
September 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
all I can say is WOW!
September 20, 2013
What a fantastic tool! I weeded 2 1/2
rows in the time it normally takes me to do 1. Just what I needed for fine work around plants and drip line. An absolute must for organic gardeners.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flanagan
,St. Louis
,MO
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME tool for organic gardeners
August 8, 2013
This weeder is by far my favorite tool to use in the garden. It is super sharp and works great at getting up close to young plants that I am trying to save from being taken over by the weeds! Since my fiance and I use organic practices weeds tend to pop up often... This item was actually on my wedding registry, but I couldn't wait! So, I bought it myself and now I cannot imaging weeding without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Appearance, Design
Review 6 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJCcda
,Pacific NW
,ID
July 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Multi Purpose Garden Tool
July 3, 2013
This Nejiri hand tool is just plain nifty for planting, gardening or weeding. You get great leverage with the longer handle & with the pointed end, you can get underneath serious weeds and pull them out in one try.
It's also great for planting seeds or starts in the early garden months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetbayCottage
,St Michaels
,MD
June 3, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best simple tool in the shed
June 3, 2013
This item is simple to use and a real bargain. I have three now and use one for cleaning the chicken coop. I save the other two weeders for soil and plant work. THese are readily resharpened for making quick work on weeds and soil cultivation. A great all around tool for any gardener.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, good blade
Review 8 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adirondacker
,Ticonderoga
,NY
May 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best weeder ever
May 30, 2013
This tool made my weeding job so much easier, even the toughest stalks were no match against the Nejiri weeder. But because it has a very sharp blade edge you must use caution handling it and out of the reach of children.
Review 9 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClassyGranny
,IA
May 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great garden weeder
May 30, 2013
This tool is sharp - it slides easily under roots to make weeding a breeze! With the sharp tip you can get close to plants without distubing them. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 10 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cybergigi
,South Texas
May 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool
May 14, 2013
I have used a similar tool in another brand and this is by far superior. I didn't know there could be such a huge difference. The sharp blade is so effective at getting the weed roots out.
Pros: sharp blade, efficient
Review 11 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilyMN
,Marin
,CA
December 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Tool
December 16, 2012
I can't believe I have been gardening for so long without one! Absolutely love it. The blade is sharp and wide enough to really get under those tough weeds. Turns up the soil nicely to get the smaller compact weeds. Sturdy handle is comfortable on the hands.
Review 12 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneCent1
,Oregon
,il
July 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this weeder!
July 25, 2012
A cousin recommended a Korean weeder she has had for years. Although I couldn't find that exact weeder, this one looked close, so I gave it a shot. I'm telling you, this little hoe is so incredibly sharp that it slices through the toughest perennial weeds with very little effort. And the price is incredibly cheap, compared to other types of weeders. Love it, love it.
Pros: sharp!
Review 13 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lkhuppert
,Grand Rapids
,Mi
June 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best garden tool
June 1, 2012
This is my absolute most favorite garden tool and the one I grab first for hand gardening. I received my first from my parents and now own 2 and love to give them as gifts. Great for precise weeding and getting under landscaping materials without creating a mess as well as for planting.
Review 14 for Short-Handle Nejiri Weeder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElayneCR
,Cedar Rapids
,IA
April 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite new gardening tool
April 27, 2012
Makes easy work of cleaning out weeds and grasses from the flower beds. I use a smaller tool to weed right next to the plants. Great for loosening up compacted soil and cutting weeds from under my picket fence. Easy to sharpen.