Shiitake Mushroom Log

Savor the rich, meaty flavor and delicate texture of homegrown shiitake mushrooms. Grow them indoors or outdoors with little effort and no mess using our hand-cut hardwood log, which is inoculated with spores that produce a crop of organic shiitake mushrooms every two to three months for possibly two to three years. Simply soak the log in water to start the growing process, and you'll be ready to harvest in just a few weeks. Shiitake mushrooms are delicious in everything from stir-fries and soups to pasta dishes and stews. Logs are hand-cut and inoculated with shiitake mushroom spores in visible drill holes that are covered in cheese wax. Logs can be stood upright or laid horizontally for growing. Metal plaque on underside of log states date of inoculation. Fruiting occurs approximately sixteen weeks from inoculation. You can start the growing process and enjoy your first crop within a few weeks of delivery. Just soak the log for 24 hours in cold water, mist it occasionally, and watch your crop emerge. 12" long, approx. 3"-6" diam. 4-7 lb. Product of 2funguys USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
5 of 15(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shiitake Mushroom Log
Review 1 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FlightRN
Dublin, North Carolina
February 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Two mushrooms
February 5, 2014
We purchased this for Christmas for my older son. After Christmas, followed the instructions precisely and got two mushrooms. We were delighted! Then they started leaking this brown resin fluid; the literature on the internet recommended NOT to eat those fruit. We did not keep the log at that point. Probably will not do this again.
Review 2 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alegna
,Asheville
,NC
December 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift!
December 9, 2013
I first purchased the oyster mushroom log and thought it was the best thing ever, until I purchased this baby! The shiitake's were amazingly plump and delicious. I definitely will make another purchase of this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jlhst64
,Phoenix
,AZ
December 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no scrooms!!
December 5, 2013
I bought this for my Dad who is a super gardner...He followed the instructions and repeated when he didn't see any growth. Happy to announce that Williams Sonoma has great customer service recovery....and refunded my $$$. I am sad as I anticipated buying many of these for xmas...
Review 4 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CaveatEmptor
,Chicago
,IL
December 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waste of both time & $$$
December 4, 2013
log was D.O.A.(dead on arrival) nothing is growing used rain water soaked and ZIP!!!!!!!!!!!!! can I get a REFUND?
Cons: Difficult to Use, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Booklady
,Murphys
,CA
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not waste your money
November 24, 2013
I am a long time, very happy customer of Williams Sonoma - also a Master Gardener - and was very excited to see this product. in the hopes of gifting to friends. Followed directions to a T when it was first delivered. No results after the specified time. Started again, twice, with no success. Perhaps it's just those of us who live in low humidity climates but I was hugely disappointed and felt compelled to write. Have abandoned the log in a shaded area by our home in the hope that the rains of our northern California winter might yet help it produce. My first negative ever for W-S.
Pros: unique gift
Cons: did not produce
Review 6 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chongo
,Nantucket
,MA
November 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shitake mushroom log
November 11, 2013
I bought this and the oyster log for my husband for Christmas. He opened them early as I thought we might improve our chances by not storing them in dark boxes until Christmas.
However, nothing on either log. Despite following the directions word for word twice our log produced nothing. I e mailed 2funguys, the supplier and heard not a word back. That was when I made the decision to return them. If the supplier won't support their own product what am I meant to do
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 7 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMDGA
,Atlanta
,GA
October 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Serious Shiitakes!
October 14, 2013
Bought this log late last year and its started fruiting this fall... I bought both the Oyster and Shiitake logs. These are delicious! I re-soaked my logs after the first mushroom fruited, and tons more appeared. Check out my Shrooms!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jpc07d
,Orlando
,FL
April 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Same as the others, do not buy.
April 24, 2013
Followed the directions, tried inside, outside covered in shade, and finally in a humidity dome with a low lumen light cycle and heating mat on low to maintain +60% humidity. Still no mushrooms.
Troubleshooting says to let log "rest" for 2 weeks between attempts, so I'm outside of the return window as well.
Complete garbage. Do not buy.
Cons: does not grow anything.
Review 9 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
twointexas
,TX
April 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NO MUSHROOMS AT ALL
April 20, 2013
Followed directions to the letter. No mushrooms. Followed troubleshooting tips to the letter. No mushrooms. Called company's (mushroom company, not W-S). No murshrooms. Bottom line is that I have a totally mushroom-less log that is outside the 90 day "defective merchandise" return date. So much for purchasing Agrarian supplies!!
Cons: does not work
Review 10 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IslandGirlFI
,Fleming Island
,Fl
March 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loads of Mushrooms
March 20, 2013
I ordered this for my husband not realizing that it needed to be set up within a short time frame of receiving it. He set it up and we left for a 2 week overseas vacation. We returned home 2 days ago and the log is LOADED with mushrooms. We didn't have to do anything but follow directions setting it up. Will harvest tonight for dinner and will watch the next crop grow. Great gift for the person who has everything. Sent one to my sister!! will buy more for gifts.
Pros: Easy, unique, inexpensive, fun
Cons: nothing
Review 11 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lmosman
,charlotte
,nc
Charlotte, NC
March 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't work at all
March 11, 2013
We followed all the directions and unfortunately all we got was some mold...no mushrooms.
Review 12 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wsonomacustomer
,San Mateo
,CA
March 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Do not buy!
March 9, 2013
Do not buy this product. No mushrooms grew at all. We were very disappointed. It was a waste of time and money.
Review 13 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thanksmomforthegift
,Austin
,TX
February 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fresh Shiitake Mushrooms
February 8, 2013
Got this as a gift and i just love it! We have cooked many meals with the fresh Shiitake Mushrooms. Great way to stay healthy
Pros: better quality than the store mushrooms
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gris
,pittsburgh
,pa
January 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dont even think about it!
January 23, 2013
I had an initial yield of 3 mushrooms. I followed the directions precisely and never saw another one. I know someone else who had a crop of zero.
Spend your money at the market.
Pros: none
Cons: too much work for nothing
Review 15 for Shiitake Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurenML
,Atlanta
,GA
December 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best gift idea!
December 30, 2012
I was looking for a unique gift idea for Christmas and am so happy I came across this mushroom log. It's a great outside-the-box gift for people who like to cook or who simply like mushrooms or organic/nature geared things. It's a perfect way to give a gift that is truly thoughtful and memorable...everyone in my family was talking about it and asking to see it after Christmas. It even came wrapped with a twine bow. :)
Pros: unique, inexpensive, organic