Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit

Growing your own organic mushrooms is easy to do with this self-contained kit. Each kit is composed of a sawdust and organic rice bran growing medium that has been inoculated with enough spores to produce crops of up to a pound of shiitake mushrooms. Simply set your mushroom kit in a cool indoor spot and, with minimal care, you'll be harvesting a fresh crop every month! Shiitake mushrooms have a rich, meaty flavor that enhances everything from stir-fries and soups to pasta dishes and stews. Mixture of mushroom spores, red oak sawdust and organic rice bran grows crops right in bag. With proper care, repeatedly produces one- to two-pound crops of mushrooms. Harvest once a month for three to six months. Simply place in cool indoor spot with indirect light and sufficient humidity. First crop is ready to harvest within two weeks of delivery. Spent growing block is fully compostable. Handmade in USA by Far West Fungi.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit
Review 1 for Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCruz
January 23, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well
January 23, 2014
This kit worked great. We followed the instructions and within 4 days had tons of mushrooms popping up. Our first harvest will be in a few days and we have ~ 40 mushrooms. Very little work required for a great yield. Hoping that we get another flush next month.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 2 for Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LColeman
,Portland
,OR
December 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So neat! Makes a great Gift.
December 23, 2012
I received this as an early Christmas gift.
It's been neat to have and to see how the mushrooms grow everyday.
I received this about a week ago and have already harvested my first batch of mushrooms.
The kit comes with very clear instructions and is super easy to set up (which pretty much only involves taking it out of the box and cutting holes in the plastic bag it comes in).
I totally recommend this!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Modernegirl
,Los Angeles
,CA
December 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Neat but more information needed on website
December 17, 2012
Like the other reviewer states the website failed to mention this item has to be used within 7 days. The item also has to be refrigerated immediately so mine may be ruined after sitting at my PO for two days. This was intended as a Christmas gift but arrived too early.
Cons: description lacks details
Review 4 for Shiitake Mushroom Growing Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SamanthaTee
,Ny
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
23of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warning....if gifting
December 13, 2012
The website failed to explain this item must be opened and used with 7 days of purchase. Disappointedly this was a gift for Christmas, that is more than 7 days away. Now what!?
Cons: must open & use within 7 to 10 days for purchase