This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Shaker Basket

Our nonstick-coated steel basket is custom-made for grilling small food that tends to fall through the grate during cooking-from shrimp and sliced vegetables to cubed beef, chicken and tofu. Just place food inside the basket, set it on the grill and shake occasionally to ensure uniform cooking. Basket with removable lid safely contains small pieces of food on the grill. Use on outdoor grills. Durable nonstick finish. Sturdy black composite handle provides a secure, comfortable grip. Hand-wash. 6-cup cap. 11" x 7 1/2" x 3 1/2" high without handle; 9"-long handle. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Shaker Basket
Review 1 for Shaker Basket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dbk0225
September 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Handle Melted
September 2, 2013
The handle melted and ruined when of my gloves in the process.
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Shaker Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PescatarianGriller
,Miami
,FL
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great if you use correctly
June 15, 2013
I have used several times to grill mixed veggies - usually alongside fish on the grill. We tend to chop our veggies (onion, squash, zucchini, asparagus, bell peppers) coarsely and I have not had a problem with any veggies falling through the mesh. Of course, if you chop the veggies into very small pieces it will fall through. Have not used the basket for shrimp, but I cannot imagine shrimp falling out of my basket.
A word about the handle: One look will tell you that the rubberized handle will melt over the heat of the grill. I personally flip the basket with the top down, leave the handle pointing off the grill, and close the top of the grill. This leaves only the smallest of gaps where the handle prevents the grill top from closing completely. I leave enough room in the basket to allow mixing, so when I open the grill lid I flip the basket and shake the veggies around, then replace the basket top down with handle pointing out for more cooking time. Works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight, value
Cons: none
Review 3 for Shaker Basket
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alejandra
,Overseas
,AP
Germany
June 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Does the job, for the most part
June 1, 2013
Handle should be angled or higher than basket. I don't mind not being able to close the lid on my grill while using the shaker basket to cook my vegetables, so that's not a problem for me. But if the handle of the basket was at an angle or higher than the basket, it would not rest on or so close to the edge of my or even most grills. Also, on all four corners/edges of the basket, there are slits/openings that are just annoyingly large enough for vegetables and shrimp to "escape" the basket and fall through the grates of the grill ALMOST rendering the basket useless for "shaking". Like the last reviewer said "disappointed". I agree...somewhat disappointed with this product, but it still does the job, for the most part.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Cons: Quality, durability, Assembly, Unreliable
Review 4 for Shaker Basket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eatright
,Portage
,IN
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Handle Melted
May 27, 2013
The very first time the shaker basket was on the grill, it was only a few minutes when I went to shake it and found the handle to be melting off! It is to use on the grill....no way to use it without closing the cover of the grill....no way to close the cover without covering the handle. The packaging said it had a "durable, comfortable handle". The handle is not removable so it had to be over the heat. We contacted William Sonoma and had no problem returning the item. Complete disappointment.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly, Unreliable, handle melted and is not removable