This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt

In Great Britain, piping hot fish and chips are traditionally seasoned with the bright, lively flavors of malt vinegar. Here, we've combined a tangy malted vinegar powder with flakes of premium sea salt to create an irresistible seasoning for everything from golden, batter-fried fish to crispy French fries. A classic, British-inspired blend of tangy malt vinegar and sea salt. The ultimate seasoning for homemade fish and chips or your favorite potato recipe. The premium, all-natural seasonings for our malt vinegar sea salt are sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 3.6 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magret
,Boca Raton
,FL
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent!!!
September 21, 2013
I'm from a British family and it's tradition that we eat fish and chips once per week. Usually, we just use vinegar and sea salt to flavor the chips but now I've found something better! This malt salt is perfectly balanced between saltiness and sourness, and you don't need to use a lot to have the flavor come across. I would recommend this to anyone who likes salt&vinegar chips. I also used it on making homemade potato crisps as well. Perfect!
Only issue I had was that this was on backorder for several months. I only recently received it after waiting 4-5 months. Must be in high demand!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: backorder time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBB49
,North East
,PA
PA
August 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
OMG!!!!!!!!!!
August 2, 2013
This product is absolutely awesome! I was just using it on fries but have now added it to almost everything that requires a little salt. (The fries, as an example, now have the malt vinegar taste without becoming soggy.) My only con is that Williams-Sonoma states it is only offered for a limited time. :o( If this is true, order today so you do not miss out. (And order more than one!)
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Yummy and surprisingly versatile
July 8, 2012
I mainly bought this to put on fish and chips. But I've also used it on popcorn, steamed vegetables, fried zucchini, cucumbers and even pasta salad. Anytime you want that taste of vinegar without being overpowered by it.
This is also more powdery than I expected (i supposed i was expecting a sea salt consistency). Doesn't affect the taste, but I wouldn't recommend pinching to apply, but rather use a small spoon - unless you don't mind licking it off your hands afterwards!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RunLilyRun
April 20, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great on popcorn
April 20, 2012
In my house, we love to sprinkle this stuff on popcorn. Most salt-n-vinegar seasonings we've tried only last for a few weeks, then they turn into a hard lump and have to be thrown out. The Williams Sonoma version is less vinegary, but it stays fresh. Highly recommended!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor, unique!
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
titaniasdream
,londonderry
,nh
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Hit on fries
February 1, 2012
this salt is so good on the spud ,baked,fried ,mashed,any veg this spice is a hit.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bena
,Jacksonville
,NC
Jacksonville NC
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Malt Vinegar Salt Heaven
January 2, 2012
This is so good. I place it on cucumbers with a little pepper and just a little smidge of sour cream. And it is so yummy. This is great on anything. Will continue to buy. The malt vinegar taste is mild and it is very fine in texture powder like. This is a great find everyone should try. Sprinkle on french fries.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JudeO
,Somerville
,MA
September 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My new addiction!
September 27, 2011
This is just delectible! What an incredible taste sensation! I've been using it on all kinds of things. Seafood, beef, veggies...soups, stews. Just absolutely positively delicious.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift, unique flavor
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robkel
MO
June 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great stuff!!
June 29, 2011
This stuff is out of this world! Just the right amount of malt vinegar, good ratio of salt to vinegar. This stuff is GREAT on homegrown tomatoes. I'll use it on a lot of veggies. It's decadent, if you can call salt decadent.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeatherInPA
Philadelphia, PA
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Good on Raw Veggies
February 16, 2011
We're trying to eat more raw veggies in our house and I have to say this salt is awesome sprinkled on slices of cucumber and on radishes too! Made oven fries and it works well on them also.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ark4
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect for home made salt & vinegar chips!
January 11, 2011
We love it! It's perfect for home made baked potato chips.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Malt Vinegar Sea Salt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Wisconsin
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love it! Recommended - if you like vinegar.
December 9, 2010
Great, strong malt vinegar taste. I was afraid it would be just salty with an odd sour taste, but it's not. Tried it on french fries - not too salty and with a definite malt vinegar taste without getting soggy (as would happen if you used actual vinegar). Nice fine grains that really stick to the food.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Katr
Upper Marlboor, Maryland
Posted December 21, 2010
Love it Love it!!
I have used this on my popcorn and love it. I have also used it on chicken. It has a really great taste. It is worth a try. I love Williams-Sonoma!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)