Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6

Perfect for elegant entertaining, these innovative glasses combine the beauty of artisanal crystal with unsurpassed durability. Schott Zwiesel, a German company known for glassware innovation since 1872, creates the break-, chip- and scratch-resistant stemware using patented Tritan titanium technology. Featuring delicate silhouettes and a sparkling clarity that belie their extraordinary strength, this varietal-specific stemware has customized bowls that showcase the bouquet and flavor of Chardonnay and other full-bodied white wines as well as red Burgundy and other light- to medium-bodied red wines. Made in Germany, these lead-free crystal glasses are the choice of premier restaurants and hotels around the globe. Dishwasher safe. 23.7-oz. cap., 10" high. Set of six.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
Review 1 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SoCalChic
,San Diego
,CA
August 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the look, but not as strong as advertised
August 14, 2012
I originally fell in love with these due to the thinness, shape and height of the product. I felt the purchase was justified b/c the product was advertised as titanium strong.
I bought two chardonnay and two burgundy glasses. I loved them. After having broken one of each, I decided to replace them for a full set of 6 each. Not sure where my logic was in that, but I was still in love with these glasses :)
Sadly, I am now down to one Chardonnay and three Burgundy glasses. A simple graze of the glass on the shutters behind sink the while washing them caused the most recent break. I'm not sure if the Titanium that is supposedly in them breaks down b/c it seems to happen after months of use.
I will not replace them again. My love for the product has turned into a crush. Im headed back to my trusted (and thicker) Luigi Bormioli's. W-S, please stock up on a Luigi Bormioli that I can switch to easily. Thanks!
Pros: look (height), feel
Cons: breaks easily, expensive
Review 2 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CookZ
,Washington
,DC
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and strong
November 7, 2011
For our wedding registry, we bypassed other more popular wine glasses because durability was key and I'm glad we did. The fortissimo glasses are strong but also have a nice look and feel that makes drinking red wine out of them enjoyable. I love the big bowl on the burgundy glasses and have gotten compliments from friends - I like that they're more unique than others you see everywhere. They have no problem in the dish washer, and when we occasionally knock one over while washing or air drying, they have withstood the beating well so far.
Just make sure you buy the Fortissimo - they are the ones rated as stronger, not other Schott Zwiesel brands.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Review 3 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
enairda
California
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost all broken
June 11, 2011
We were very excited to receive both the Chardonnay & Bordeaux glasses from our registry less than a year ago. We live in wine country and were attracted to them for our registry by their size and by the claim of unsurpassed durability and technology, however in less than one year we are down to only 2 white and 1 red left! I have never broken so many wine glasses and each time it has been heartbreaking! Most often they would simply crack while hand washing them. Only one has been broken by accidentally knocking it over onto our granite countertops. Otherwise they are absolutely GORGEOUS and I'm holding on to the remaining ones we have very carefully!
Pros: Size, Appearance
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HotSauce
Temecula, CA
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wine With Class & a Nice Glass
February 13, 2011
These wine glasses are my favorite!!! They are great for hosting a party or sharing a bottle of wine with my husband. They are a little tall for dishwasher cleaning, but as with all nice kitchen stuff, who puts their wine glass in the dishwasher anyway? That's what I have a husband for... he's great at cleaning the glasses ;) I highly recommend these wine glasses to anyone!
PS, the fact that the glass is titanium laced and you can cling them together without breaking is a great party gag!!!
Review 5 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarMo12
New York, NY
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific Glasses
October 10, 2010
I just had to comment on how wonderful these glasses are. We used to have a set of Riedels, but they broke frequently and were simply too expensive to replace every other month. These glasses are definitely more sturdy, but you wouldn't know by the elegant design or thickness of glass.
Review 6 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lesesne
Charleston, SC
June 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really like these!
June 27, 2010
I love how light and fragile they seem while actually being very strong. I did read the other review and yes they are tall glasses but I just hand wash them and keep them in the top cabinet. They are beautiful and make a big impact on the table! I have 12 and am very happy.
Review 7 for Schott Zwiesel Fortissimo Chardonnay/Burgundy Wine Glasses, Set of 6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cookie22
Connecticut
February 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
13of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
to tall
February 8, 2010
These wine glasses are lovely, but are quite large for every day use. Although dishwasher safe, they are too tall to fit in most dishwashers. It is also difficult to fit the bowl (of the glass) with the space in the rack. An 18 oz capacity, 8.5" tall glass would be a much better design.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
folkiefoodie
Chicago, IL
Posted June 30, 2011
Hand wash your crystal
Fortissimo, schmortissimo (I have these as well as the Sauv. Blanc/tall Chardonnays). If you care enough to buy fine crystal in the proper sizes & shapes for each varietal, don't put them in the dishwasher. You hand-wash your fine knives and good pots & pans. Give your glasses the same respect, and they'll live to delight you another day. And wash, dry & polish them carefully--the rituals and process are part of the pastime. If you want something carefree that will still do your fine wines more justice than a beaded-rim molded mass-market supermarket stem (what sommeliers call a "joker" glass), there are polycarbonates in Chard, Burg., Cab and flute shapes that are dead ringers for the real thing, indestructible, and nearly as good as crystal.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)