Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche

Replicating the benefits of baking in a brick oven, the ceramic bread cloche turns out individual loaves with tender, moist interiors and crispy, evenly golden crusts. The unglazed clay absorbs heat to ensure even baking on all sides, while the porous surface absorbs moisture to give the crust a crispy bite. Use the cloche to both proof and bake your loaf-ridges inside the bell produce proofing lines in the crust for a classic bakery-style finish. Traditional unglazed stoneware cloche is made of thick, durable Superstone ceramic. Designed for proofing and baking in one vessel. Turns out round loaves up to 2 lb. with moist interiors and golden crust. Can also be used to roast meats, fish and vegetables. Recipe and instruction booklet included. 12 1/4" diam., 7 1/4" high with lid. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
Review 1 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jun26
,Portland
,OR
May 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice tool for traditional oven
May 21, 2015
We used to have convection oven before to bake bread. But now we are rent and the place only provide very traditional big oven which gives quite rough temp control. To improve the condition, we bought the Cloche. This products met 100% my expectation. This is great tool to bake bread at home. We have not tried to roast meat but it should be good too. The size is good for usual family (2 adults and 2 kids).
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Review 2 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IloveNY4ever
,el paso
,tx
May 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great all-around!
May 19, 2015
I've used the cloche for cooking tenderloin and for making bread. The results were great - husband waiting eagerly to dig in and no leftovers. Easy and efficient!
The bottom of the cloche is darkening nicely, as the owner's booklet indicated. Sure sign that it is a loved addition to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
azul
,Columbia City
,OR
May 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice but....
May 18, 2015
First of all I want to say it helps make GREAT bread. The downside is the size of the cloche. I've made three different types of bread in this and each raised and spread to the size of the bottom of the cloche. I love the round loaves and it's not really mentioned in the description but it's the ELEVEN INCH wide loaves of bread I am not so happy with. That size is why just three stars. I am now wishing I had bought the rectangular version or that a smaller version was available. A seven or eight inch version of the same thing would be ideal. Eleven inch bread is unwieldy in my opinion. I've been cutting them up in quarters and freezing the sections. Trying to figure out a solution I tried putting a normal loaf size stoneware pan inside the cloche and then bake my bread dough inside. Worked beautifully. When I can find a round stoneware pan that fits inside I'll transition to that. Or maybe just look for a slightly smaller version of this and then happy trails.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 4 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FriendlyCook2
,VA
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a beautiful loaf of bread
February 2, 2015
I received this as a gift, and I love it. I wasn't able to use the recipe it comes with due to an allergy, but it makes a nice-looking bread (of my own recipe, at least) that is tender on the inside with a nice, crisp crust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lindylu
,San Luis Obispo
,CA
December 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best bread ever!
December 19, 2014
I have had my Cloche for several months and gave away my bread machine! This makes the best bread ever! My daughter started using mine and wants one too! I found that bread is best with no more than 1 cup bread flour and the rest regular. I am now looking for a sour dough starter to try!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twins557
,New Carlisle
,OH
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Homemade bread
October 19, 2014
I've been preparing my own bread for a long time, and oftener wondered if using a bread stone would provide more crust for my soups & stews. I purchased this particular item with big expectations. It did not let me down! The bottom of the bread is golden brown, top perfect crunch. I would recommend this item to of those enjoy a good loaf of crusty bread. Excellent paired with cheese, fruit, or steaming bowl of homemade vegetable soup! The clean up is simply a wet towel to wipe off the bottom stone... Stores easily... Bottom can be used for small pizza.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
Review 7 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvToCook4001
,El Dorado Hills
,CA
June 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Golden Brown and Delicious Every Time
June 3, 2014
Tried a variety of products for baking bread - this is the absolute best we've found! Seriously considering acquiring a mate for the one we have so we can bake more loaves at a time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheilafromMI
,East Lansing
,MI
May 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
flawed recipe
May 26, 2014
Your bread will fail if you follow the recipe included with the Bread Cloche, which contains an obvious typo: it calls for only 1/4 tsp of yeast. The dough will not rise. Use the Jim Lahey recipe available online or reprinted in Mark Bittman's 'How to Cook Everything.' It's a pity no one caught this. The dome itself is fine.
Review 9 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessicaW
,Silver Spring
,md
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
17of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This thing is great
August 25, 2013
I have had great success with La Cloche. Crackling crust, beautiful even cooking, and so on. Loaves that are not too dense get fabulous oven spring. I've tried it both with the dome pre-heated and with starting the loaf in the dome in a cold oven. Good either way.
Review 10 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Round Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZsuR
,Lawrenceville
,NJ
January 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+51points
58of 65found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect bread!
January 25, 2013
I just tried - and made a very delicious bread! Frst time! I am very pleased with the Bread Cloche - Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ZsuR
Posted January 31, 2014
After one year...
I still love it... !
0points
Customer avatar
Raebourne
Rochester ny
Posted December 11, 2013
What a wonderful kitchen to eat a beautiful loaf of bread.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)