Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche

Duplicating the benefits of baking in a brick oven, the ceramic bread cloche turns out individual loaves with tender, moist interiors and crispy, evenly golden crusts. The unglazed clay absorbs heat to ensure even baking on all sides, while the porous surface absorbs moisture to give the crust a crispy bite. Use the cloche to both proof and bake your loaf for a classic bakery-style finish. Traditional unglazed stoneware cloche is made of thick, durable Superstone ceramic. Designed for proofing and baking in one vessel. Recipe and instruction booklet included. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche
Review 1 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CGGE
,Dublin
,CA
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pan to make bread!
October 19, 2014
I have been making bread for about 6 months now and have tried many different techniques to achieve the desired look and crust. Baking stone, steaming the oven, covering the loaf with a metal bowl, etc.... My bread was coming out tasting great but looking just ok. I hesitated for awhile to buy this cloche due to the price. Finally had to try it and glad I did! My sourdough and french breads are coming out fantastic in this pan. I fill the lid with water and dump it out just before covering the bread and putting in the oven. Then I leave the top on for 10 minutes, remove and finish baking. I can't believe how much better this technique with this pan makes the bread. Same exact recipe comes out so much better in this cloche!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
CGGE
Posted January 15, 2015
Response to unmirasol
I mostly use the technique from the book "A Passion for Bread" by Lionel Vatinet. I put the bottom in the oven while preheating and soak the inside of the top at the same time. Then when ready to bake I carefully place the loaf in the hot bottom, cover and bake as directed (10 min at 450 degrees then uncover). Sometimes, especially if my dough is a wet dough, I just let it have it's final rise in the bottom piece and go right to the oven without heating the bottom first but still wetting the top as before. This seems to work out fine and is a bit easier than trying to get your risen loaf into the thing without totally deflating it. Also, if making a cheesy type bread, I line the bottom with parchment to keep it from absorbing the oils from the cheese.
0points
Customer avatar
unmirasol
California
Posted January 3, 2015
Question about your helpful post
CGGE, do you preheat the bottom of the rectangular baker, but not the lid before you fill with water? Or do you fill and dump the water out of a preheated lid? Also, at what temperature are you baking the loaf and for how long total? Thank you in advance for your input. I have this baking vessel, but I'm not too sure on how to use it.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
northwoodshockeymom
,WI
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
loaf comes out flat
December 30, 2013
I have tried the recipe for french bread 2 times....both times it came out flat, although tasty. The loaf wasn't flat until I placed the lid on the baker....Any suggestions?
Pros: Easy to Use
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Hammer1
Commerce, GA
Posted February 23, 2015
Baking tip
Here's how I bake bread for nice rise and light texture (never flat). Heat the Cloche in a 500 degree oven first (lid and base) then GENTLY turn the proofed dough into the pan (I like to proof it on a sheet of parchment and lift the parchment by the corners like a "stretcher" and place the dough WITH the parchment into the cloche and put the lid on. It is vital that the initial cooking take place with the lid on to retain moisture and prevent the crust of the bread from getting hard too fast!!! After the dough is in the pan, close the oven and drop the temp to 450. Cook like this for about25 minutes, then remove the lid and cook an additional 10-15 minutes (or until it is the brownness you prefer). Remove from the oven and place the loaf on a wire rack until it cools completely (More difficult than it seems since I LOVE bread when it is hot!). This allows the bread in the center to continue cooking and prevents a "doughy" tasting center loaf. I promise you'll get good results!
0points
Customer avatar
Blondana
Northern CA
Posted March 25, 2014
Yeast
Sounds like you're over proofing and your yeast is turned inactive. Try it again. Use less yeast so you have more control over your rise. Slash it and let it rise about halfway up the sides. Then bake. I think you'll have a good loaf.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailorbaker
,memphis, mi
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes exelent crusts
August 6, 2013
Thjs product bakes wonderful bread. the crusts are crisp and it sings when it comes out of the oven.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Sassafras Superstone(TM) La Cloche Rectangular Bread Cloche
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooker123
,Brighton
,Mi
MI
February 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Bread
February 27, 2013
This makes excellent bread. I have made Italian and Multi-grain. They were both excellent!!