This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

San Marzano Pizza Sauce

Considered the birthplace of pizza, Naples is famous for its pizzaioli (pizza makers) - artisans so revered for their skills that they were once awarded honorable titles by the monarchy. Made using only the finest, freshest ingredients, our authentic pizza sauce brings the tradition to your table. A classic Italian pizza sauce showcasing the natural sweetness of vine-ripened San Marzano tomatoes imported from Italy. The flavorful San Marzanos are gently simmered with fresh garlic, basil and Italian extra-virgin olive oil. Rich and chunky, it's perfect for traditional Neapolitan-style pizza, calzones and more. Quick and easy to use - just spread the sauce over the crust, add your favorite toppings and bake to bubbly perfection. Made from the finest all-natural ingredients. 16 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
Review 1 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mismax
,Houston
,MS
Houston, MS
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointing
July 21, 2012
I was hoping to find a quality pizza sauce to use in a pinch when I did not have time to make my own. We were very disappointed in this sauce. It was too thin, little flavor, and what flavor there was did not taste good.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 2 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galray
,Houston
,TX
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pizza Sauce Review (No risk, no reward)
January 10, 2012
San Marzano Pizza Sauce is outstanding. Most of you probably make your own pizza sauce, but I'm a terrible cook and some of these spices are hard to find.. When you making a pizza be careful and not use too much of this sauce. It's better to use a small amount because it has such a good flavor. I highly recommend San Marzano Pizza Sauce. I've only made two pizza using it and still have half a bottle in the fridge. Also, you will need some good cheese, cheap cheese is terrible..
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookcook
,Chicago
,IL
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Just like Italy!
October 11, 2011
How refreshing to find a pizza sauce that is fresh and authentic instead of boiled down cheap ingredients that you find in the grocery store. It reminds me of the pizzas I had in italy. A must for anyone who wants to make authentic italian pizzas.
Review 4 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krobertson
Woodside, CA
August 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best sauce in a jar
August 28, 2011
This is, without question, the best store-bought pizza sauce I've ever had. It's just delicious!
Review 5 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LakeMartincook
Alabama
August 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thin and watery
August 28, 2011
I have sampled a lot of pizza sauces, but this one was a disappointment. It is very thin and I almost always end up with soggy crust. The flavor is okay, but not outstanding. There are much better sauces out there for much less money.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, consistency
Review 6 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ritacht
San Francisco, CA
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
not quite, "the best pizza sauce"
July 15, 2011
Sauce was much thinner than I expected and it simply didn't blow either of us out of the water. Not bad, but not worth the price.
Worth trying, but I would not recommend to go out of your way to get. We are much happier with the fresh pizza sauce from the organic market where we get also get our dough.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 7 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keepinitreally
Laurel, MD
May 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Nothing special?
May 30, 2011
I was also disappointed with the flavor. I expected more from a sauce WS would carry.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, price
Review 8 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marco
Cornelius, NC
May 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Pizza
May 28, 2011
I make a lot of homemade pizza at home and this is, by far, the best sauce, EVER! While it does cost more than what can be picked up at the grocery store, it is far superior in flavor and quality. I pair this with fresh sliced mozarella and the williams sonoma pizza seasoning for a perfect pie every time! I highly recommend!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for San Marzano Pizza Sauce
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kitcheninja
Michigan
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not what I was hoping for...
May 20, 2011
We love to make pizza at home and are always on the lookout for the 'best' pizza sauce. I picked up a jar of this at the WS store and was disappointed. It's very thin and I didn't think the flavor was outstanding, especially for the cost. I actually liked our regular old grocery store sauce better.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor