This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Salter Red Digital Scale

When kitchen space is at a premium, count on this ultra-slim scale to help you measure ingredients with ease and precision. Compact enough to fit into a drawer, yet handsome enough to display on a countertop, it gives you the option of placing foods directly on the platform or weighing them in a bowl. Space-saving electronic scale makes it simple to measure wet or dry ingredients by weight. Digital display shows measurements in 1/8-oz. and 1-gram increments up to 11 lb. or 5 kg. "Add & Weigh" feature lets you weigh multiple ingredients in a single container. Stain-resistant glass platform is hygienic and won't absorb flavors or odors. Sleek profile for convenient storage. Uses two AAA batteries (included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Salter Red Digital Scale
Review 1 for Salter Red Digital Scale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kraftykarma
,North Miami Beach
,FL
June 10, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Decent Scale!
June 10, 2012
I'm a Pastry Chef at a high end Caterer. I have had this scale for more than a year and letting people borrow from time to time.
The top button is a little touchy. But if you know your scale and understand it. It is very
appropriate. I have to go today to buy 2 more for people I work with. As far as I'm concerned it's a great product. When you want to convert to grams. You just push the button under and it's ready. No fuss! Terrific!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, shut's off automatically
Review 2 for Salter Red Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CeciliaC
Hartford, CT
August 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
I love Salter scales, but....
August 22, 2011
...not this one. This is the most recent Salter scale I've purchased and it's the first one with which I have been less than pleased. The button to switch from grams to ounces is on the bottom, UNDERNEATH the scale; I routinely switch between these units with the same bowl of ingredients, and having the button on the underside of the scale does not work. And the tare button is nearly impossible to get working properly. I have to press it several times to get it to zero, even when it's only a tiny prep cup on the scale. If I press it once too many times, then it switches off and when I switch it back on again, the default is back to ounces, which isn't helpful if I was measuring grams to start with! To be fair, I in no way hold Williams-Sonoma responsible for this scale -- it's Salter's product. But I did want to offer my experience for anyone who uses a kitchen scale in a similar manner as I do. It's a very aggravating product with which to work and it's being returned today!
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight, takes aaa batteries
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, button to switch from oz to g is on bottom
Review 3 for Salter Red Digital Scale
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
New York, NY
August 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Best used for English Weights
August 19, 2011
The scale works as advertised, and quite well. I like the design and its easy to clean. However, I prefer to use the metric setting. The unit defaults to pounds/ounces (English), and you can toggle it to do metric, but you have do this every time it powers off. This is annoying, and especially so because the toggle is on the bottom. For this reason, I'm returning it.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, not ideal for metric
Review 4 for Salter Red Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHEFLEWIS
Wesley Chapel, Fl
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
EXCELLENT TOOL
August 8, 2011
Have just moved in to a new house and am renewing my old cookware / bakeware etc. This is an excellent scale that is accurate, lightweight, does not take up much space in the cupboard, easy on the eye and my husband and I can see the digits without our glasses!
An excellent addition to our new cookware/bakeware all purchased from Williams & Sonoma I must say!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, love the color
Review 5 for Salter Red Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gkenos
Boston
June 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great scale
June 2, 2011
I bought this scale because of its weight capacity and the easy to clean glass surface. It has not disappointed me. Works great and so easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design