This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale

Hailed for its precision and accuracy, this electronic scale lets you measure wet and dry ingredients by weight rather than by the cup or spoon. Weigh foods directly on the clear glass platform or in a bowl.Measures dry and liquid ingredients by weight for the most reliable results.A single button toggles between U.S. and metric measurements.Large digital display.Sleek profile for convenient storage.Glass platform and stainless-steel base are stain and odor resistant.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
17 of 30(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
Review 1 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaglassSusan
,Blaine
,WA
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love this!
December 31, 2013
I received this scale as a gift for Christmas 2 years ago. It is easy to use, it has had no problems, except I did have to replace the battery, I use it that much. I especially enjoy the zero out feature that allows you to put a vessel on the scale and return it to zero so you can just weight the contents. I am here as I am contemplating buying a second one for our winter house.
Pros: Easy to Use, good looking
Review 2 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Luka822
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Foot separated from scale
October 22, 2013
One of the padded feet, which I assume has a weight sensor in it separated from the glass top which has led to inconsistency. Extremely frustrating as I'd really liked this scale. I've lost a lot of weight and really on weighing food to maintain my diet so this is annoying. Only had this scale for 2 months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile
Review 3 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SplitShot
,Green Bay
,WI
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Looks Cool - But Always Turns on with KG
May 10, 2013
It looks cool and it works fine. My only issue is that it comes up with grams vs pounds, even when I have the switch underneath set to pounds.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lvdd
,CO
Boulder, CO
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beautiful, but disappointing
January 22, 2013
I loved the look and features of this scale - especially that all the features are on the front panel (my other scale has the swich from units - lbs to kgs underneath). But it is very inconsistent in it's measurements, seems to take a long time for values to settle out, and sometimes displays nonsense. I'm very disappointed in this scale. I'm stuck with the older clunkier scale, that is works, but I will likely look for a higher quality scale - maybe a professional one, because I am tired of spending $40-60 on unsatisfactory equipment. I would hope WS would carry higher quality products.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 5 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JulesBF
,Metrowest Boston
,Ma
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
This saved my baking!
May 2, 2012
I have Celiac Disease which means my body is unable to process wheat gluten, because of this I had to learn baking from scratch all over again!
I mainly use rice flour and was never able to get the ratio correct using measuring cups. In a last ditch effort I bought this scale and it has changed my life! I am finally able to bake foods that not only taste like regular wheat flour cookies or cakes, but they no longer crumble which was a very big problem with everything I attempted!
I have now made everything from standby chocolate chip cookies to Angel Food cake. Neither of which were possible before this scale.
The scale comes with a book with conversions for the most commonly used flours, sugars, fats, etc and I can now again call myself a baker.
My only complaint is that the battery doesn't last super long, but maybe it's the frequency that I use it, and not the batteries fault.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, easy for first time scale baker
Cons: battery life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Corbo
,Hudson
,MA
February 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Salter Lifestyle Scale
February 18, 2012
Purchased scale only to find out that it takes a bit of time converting fractions to descimals. Example, if you need 1.6 lbs, scale will give you .6 in a fraction.
Had I known, I would not have purchased. Too much $ for what scale is.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, time consuming to convert
Review 7 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Iamsaltydawgwoman
,Moultonboro
,NH
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thought I was the only one
December 15, 2011
Wow, I thought I was the only one with the battery problem with this scale. At first I thought I needed to replace the battery but they were probably fine. I fiddled around with it and was able to make the battery connections work. I have had to do this a few times but for the most part it has worked fine. Obviously needs redesign for the battery connection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 8 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BakeryChef
,Arlington
,VA
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Won't Turn On! WARNING
October 3, 2011
I along with several others suffered from the scale not working...the on button is bad...even tho, I like others, bought a new battery it still won't work. Take this product off the market...do not purchase one!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate, won't turn on
Review 9 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbusa
Houston, TX
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Scale
June 6, 2011
Have had this scale for a while, and love it. The clean look of the galss also makes it easy to clean after use. I love the liquid measuring feature, and it's accurate to a tiny fraction, just what I need for my baking. Classic look also and from a great brand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pippin
PA
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very disappointed
February 23, 2011
Been very careful with this item. Will not turn on even after a new battery was fitted, only bought a year ago. Should have sent it back, but binned it in frustration, not even worth one star.
Review 11 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Borderphile
West Chester, PA
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Failed after 5 months.
February 6, 2011
Treated it w/care but it will no longer will turn on even w/new battery. Accurate when working.
Review 12 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbarino
Sunny California
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Love my scale
September 30, 2010
I love this scale. I can switch back and forth from ML to OZ in an instant. This scale has come in handy when making macarons where all the ingredients have to be weighed. My scale is in a plastic bag to keep it clean. It also saves time on cleanups when weighing. My batteries wore out after close to two years and has worked perfectly since I bought it. I'm glad I bought it.
Review 13 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakinbreadsmything
Solana Beach, California
July 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Accurate and dependable digital scale
July 15, 2010
This scale offers a Small footprint, but performs like a commercial scale. This Salter scale is built sturdily, and offers precise accuracy, which is what you need when you’re "baking". I use my Salter scale to weigh all the ingredients prior to making bread. After approximately one year, the batteries start to weaken, hence the ERR problem some folks are complaining about. For less than $3.00 for replacement batteries, the unit is good to go for another year of service. This scale is simply the best for the price, and I for one, am very pleased with the performance, durability and Reliability!
Review 14 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
ERROR - A Common Message
June 18, 2010
I used this scale only twice and now, every time I turn it on and zero it, it comes up with ERR. After reading other reviews on this site (a little too late, I guess) it's apparent that many people have had the same problem. I am going to try to return it...we'll see how that goes!
Review 15 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kjfive
Philadelphia
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Don't be duped
May 13, 2010
Pay attention to the other reviews listed here, I didn't and am sorrry because I had this scale for one week, used it twice and on the third use it failed. Not worth your time or money.
Review 16 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hardy214
Bethesda, MD
April 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Dead in 3 days
April 24, 2010
Scale died after using for only 3 days. It would not zero out. In fact none of the buttons would do what they were supposed to do. It was totally confused. Nothing would make it behave, including the removal of the battery. I had to exchange it. I'm very disappointed with the quality.
Review 17 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
booger
corbin ky
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
scale
January 7, 2010
it is a very good tool for thouse who want to make accurate recipes it is very user frenly
Review 18 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kristin75
Austin, TX
October 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Disappointed to say the least
October 19, 2009
First scale would not even turn on.
2nd scale worked but the weight was inconsistant each time I weighed the same item.
Very disappointed! Bought another brand, maybe this one will work!
Review 19 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dinane
Boston, MA
July 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Works well for weighing ingredients... and kittens
July 24, 2009
I love this scale because it is so slim I can stuff it in a drawer with several other tools. I was afraid at first that it would be damaged by tools on top of it, but it still works like a charm.
Using this made me feel confident enough to make angel food cake for the first time - and it came out perfect!
The tare feature also makes it easy(ish) to weigh my kitten. I put on a shoe box, tare it out, and add the kitten to the shoe box. He loves boxes, so usually he sits still long enough for me to read the display.
Review 20 for Salter Lifestyle Digital Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
InspectorMan
Baton Rouge, La
July 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Scale
July 1, 2009
I've had this scale for over a year now and have not had any problems. Easy to use. Getting ready to buy another for my mother-n-law.
page1 2 next