This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Salter Book Shelf Scale

This ultra-thin scale is almost too sleek to hide. Under black back-painted glass, the bright LED readout is easy to read from almost any vantage point. Rest it on its side on a bookshelf or in your pantry for compact storage. Stain-resistant glass platform won't absorb flavors or odors. LED display shows measurements in .1-oz. increments up to 11 lb. Easy "add & weigh" feature lets you weigh multiple ingredients in a single container. Smooth touch control buttons keep the surface clean-no need to contend with food-clogged grooves. The roomy 8" square platform accommodates larger bowls or platters. Includes a protective cover for easy storage. Uses two AAA batteries (included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Salter Book Shelf Scale
Review 1 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Harrison1
,Savannah
,GA
February 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Don't buy this
February 9, 2014
This is not a good scale.It feels cheap and the batteries die very quickly. I picked it for the clean look, but this was a problem as I often can't fit a bowl on it and see the screen.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 2 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for the occasional baker
December 22, 2013
I'm more of a cook than a baker, so I only use this 2-3 times a month max for any new recipes I've yet to commit to memory or ones that require very specific measures. After nearly a year of this type of use I've yet to replace the batteries. Based on other reviews, if you use it more often than this you may be disappointed in battery life.
But for me this is a winner. Very thin. As the name implies I store it on the shelf inside its sleeve with my other cookbooks when not in use and it takes up barely any space. It has a nice easy to wipe clean glass surface. And most importantly it has a very easy to read display and can easily change units of measures. The auto shut off is also a plus as I often fear I turn it on by accident when putting it back in its sleeve for storage as the touch pad is very sensitive. All in all the perfect scale for the occasional baker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 3 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mgausa
,Hillsborough
,NC
October 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thin, Lightweight and Very Handy
October 9, 2013
This scale is attractive, very easy to use and easy to store. It offers many different modes and makes measuring tare weight easy. You simple place your container on the scale before you turn it on and it automatically starts at zero. This scale is very thin and comes with a book protector so you can simply store away along with your favorite cookbooks - very handy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KerryT
,Oakland
,CA
May 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Batteries die quickly
May 7, 2013
In general, the scale is good, but I have had to replace the batteries twice in the last 6 months. This is far too often and inconvenient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Fragile, batteries die quickly
Review 5 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovetocook100
,Nashville
,tn
February 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Great looking but ....
February 1, 2013
This is a great looking and accurate food scale but not useful for everyday use. I use a scale to measure coffee on a daily basis. With this scale I needed to replace the 4 AAA batteries within a month. Needless to say this is a major drawback. My previous scale lasted about a year before changing batteries.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, eats batteries
Review 6 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Runner1
,Oshkosh
,Wi
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Love this product
January 2, 2013
Easy to use, lightweight and very easy to store. I didn't even need to read the instructions. Great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 7 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
,TX
Texas
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
No Counter Real Estate Required
June 21, 2012
This is an awesome scale. I store it with my cookbooks and it's only on my counter when in use. The rest of the time it's out of the way and protected. Easy to use and accurate.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Salter Book Shelf Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bearpawqs
,New Richmond
,WI
April 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
This will fit the bill!!!
April 21, 2012
Bought this at MOA today. I have been looking for a simple kitchen scale that either had cleanable buttons or none at all. This scale is easy to clean, looks perfect in our kitchen and I could even store it on the shelf if I want to. It was a breeze to set up. Just put the batteries in and away you go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size