Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine

With its simple, straightforward operation and small footprint on the countertop, the Via Venezia creates a deliciously rich cup of espresso without complications. The stainless-steel finish is impervious to rust and a perfect complement to contemporary kitchen decor. The patented pressurized portafilter reduces the workload of the home barista by helping to regulate the grind setting and tamp pressure. Just three large buttons on the control panel (On/Off, Brew and Steam) control all the Via Venezia's functions for easy operation right out of the box. The stainless-steel boiler and heating element are food-safe and designed to safely withstand daily use. The Panarello frothing wand makes it easy to steam and texture milk for lattes and cappuccinos. The ESE pod adaptor allows convenient, no clean-up espresso pods to be used with the portafilter. 15 pumps of pressure ensure an espresso topped with a coffeehouse-quality crema. Keep up to 6 espresso cups warm and at the ready with the integral cup warmer. Drip tray can be removed for convenient cleaning. Compact and sturdy stainless-steel construction. Made in Italy. For concierge service from Saeco's Consumer Care team, call 800-933-7876.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
4 of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aemaguire
,New York
,NY
March 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of trouble with this machine
March 31, 2014
Exchanged the first one I received thinking it was just broken, but continue to experience the same issue with this model. I have to leave the brew mode on for 15+ minutes just to get the water to stream though. I was told to clean it, but its brand new so I don't see how that could be the issue. Ugh!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Speed, Temperamental, Loud
Review 2 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JasonMD
,Chicago
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Training Wheels
October 22, 2013
This is a great machine, and the pressurized portafilter is the perfect "training wheels" for someone just getting into a real espresso machine. A pressurized portafilter means you don't have to worry much about grind fineness or tamping pressure. Each shot will be consistent from the get go. (Once you're comfortable, you can upgrade to a non-pressurized portafilter for about $50 and your espresso will get even better!)
What I really like about this machine is its simplicity. It has an on/off button, a steam button and a brew button. It doesn't grind coffee. It doesn't clean itself. It doesn't automatically start and stop. Everything is in your hands.
If you're looking to get into espresso, this is a great place to start. Use the pressurized portafilter with pods or ground coffee until you're comfortable with the process. Then you can upgrade the portafilter and continue honing your skills with this great machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Design, easy to upgrade portafilter, pressurized portafilter good for beginners
Cons: pressurized portafilter limits performance
Review 3 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
debkek
,Rancho Cucamonga
,CA
October 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely not the best in its class
October 21, 2013
We bought this machine after our Francis Francis! finally died (after 5 years and more than 6000 cups of espresso) and a friend raved to us about her Saeco espresso machine. This one was close to our price range and I really liked the stainless steel construction. Right away, I wasn't happy that it doesn't have an auto shut off after it pours a cup. That was a feature I loved on our old machine, but I was willing to overlook it. It was also much louder than our old one. I like that it has an area on the top for filling up the water reservoir, a storage drawer, and can take ESE pods or grounds. For the first year, the machine worked really well then right around the 13 month mark, wouldn't maintain enough pressure to pull a cup. It's really been a disappointment. Fortunately, Williams Sonoma is being really great about letting us return it for a full refund so that we can buy a different brand of machine from them.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 4 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alatte
,Los angeles
,Ca
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pressurized filter is annoying
April 16, 2013
First, William Sonoma is terrific. I was able toreturn this even though I couldn't get it back into the packaging properly.
The pressurized filter it comes with makes it difficult to get a true espresso shot. I prefer a traditional portafilter because after a little experimentation with grind (very fine) and tamp pressure, you can get a terrific shot.
The milk frothier doesn't achieve microform, unless you are willing to go online to find a replacement for the plastic one. This is doable.
The final straw was discovering that you can't thoroughly clean the pressurized portafilter. This is because there is a rubber gasket plastic disk in the basket and a white plastic gadget under the basket. You have to be able to clean all parts or oil and bacteria will build up.
The espresso did taste good when I could figure out the right amount to put in the PF filter. However, there was quite a bit of mess and leaking during extraction trying to find the right amount to get a good shot.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Assembly, Fragile, pressurized portafilter
Review 5 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BigShot
,Valencia
,CA
January 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not good enough
January 18, 2013
First one I received the portafilter was broken and two screws on top were not screwed all the way down. Lousy packing from Saeco. The second machine was better, but still the portafilter and other accessories were lose and rolling around in the box. As far as making great espresso and steamed milk, the machine falls short of the Barista Saeco made for Star Bucks a few years back.
Review 6 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmamma
,Danville
,CA
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Espresso
December 22, 2012
I had a cheap espresso maker for years which finally pooped out. So I decided to splurge on something more expensive yet reasonable with decent reviews. I have now had this machine for 2 weeks and have been hyped on caffeine the whole time! The crema is lovely and the espresso tastes so much better than the other machine. What was I waiting for???? Love it!
Review 7 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vanderwood
,Pateros
,WA
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Latte for the Money!
July 30, 2012
Fifteen years ago, we bought our first espresso; it was a Saeco, and it was incredible. So, of course, we bought another, and it is even better. My husband fixes me a latte every morning. Because of the little Venezia, we spend a latte time together. I know that was schmaltzy, but I couldn't help myself. Go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, best price ever!
Review 8 for Saeco Via Venezia Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
theprince
,Pittsburgh
,PA
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
17of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee - great value
December 21, 2011
I'm really happy with the Via Venezia. This is my first "real" espresso machine after using a very cheap machine for the past two years.
I was a little nervous about this machine because of the pressurized portafilter, but from the start it has made great coffee. The portafilter makes it almost impossible to make a bad cup and steam wand is very easy to use.
The machine fits easily on our countertop and the stainless steel looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Happyface
Posted June 12, 2012
Does it come with espresso pods?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)