Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4

We've taken melamine to new levels of artistry with this collection. Our wide-rimmed dinner plates capture the beauty and dimension of antique earthenware, yet they're made of shatterproof melamine. New techniques allow us to re-create the subtle texture, rubbed edges and rich glazed finish of ceramics in durable, scratch-resistant melamine-the perfect choice for outdoor and casual meals. Made of exceptionally durable, BPA-free melamine. Dishwasher safe on top rack. Set of four.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
Review 1 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RetiredCaregiver
,Alexandria
,VA
May 20, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Dinnerware
May 20, 2015
Dinnerware looks like stoneware. I've had a number of pieces for at least three years and have added other pieces, mixing and matching colors and patterns. They are simply elegant. I've always washed them in the dishwasher -- upper and lower baskets -- and have had no problems.
Two cons from my point of view:
1. Limited range of pieces: no cereal size bowls, no bread-sized plates, and NO cups/saucers or mugs.
2. Pieces only sold on line in sets, which limits ability to "design" your own set by mixing and matching. Individual pieces are sold in store but are limited as to type and color.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Personalization, Design, Color
Cons: sold online in sets only., no cereal bowls bread plates mugs cups/saucers
Review 2 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEMcM
,Md
May 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful plates
May 2, 2015
Loved these plates. Purchased them in the yellow. Substantial weight and feel.
Review 3 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tec1013
,Austin
,TX
April 20, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't believe how pretty these are!
April 20, 2015
I went in person to the store after seeing these online. I can't believe how gorgeous they are! I couldn't believe they are melamine. They are a good weight, not heavy, but not a light cheap feeling plastic. They are special enough to use for inside, too, without feeling like you're being cheap or not special enough . They let me throw these on the floor in the store to prove they wouldn't break, because I didn't believe no glass was in the plate. The clear coating seems like glass. We use Reidel stemware and Williams-Sonoma higher-end dinnerware for formal dinners, so we did not want to have the casual or outdoor dinners be anything less. But I love the safety factor of melamine. I am so excited to use these. I bought the green, cream, and turquoise. So so pretty! I also bought a green serving bowl and platter, along with a Veracruz serve bowl. My hubby loved them, too!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: top dw rack only
Review 4 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezBozzy
,Carlsbad
,CA
Carlsbad, CA
April 10, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this set
April 10, 2015
I purchased the dinner and salad plates and the platter in yellow, and the serving bowl in white. I absolutely love the entire set, and in the month+ that I've had them, have gotten good use out of them already (and many compliments:) )
The only thing I wish were different is the 'top rack' dishwasher requirement; this means I'm washing all by hand because of the sizes (I could fit the bowl in the top). However, I love them enough to baby them like this.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Store, Appearance
Review 5 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoGR
,Laguna Beach
,CA
January 26, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I. Did recommend these to several friends
January 26, 2015
These are beautiful, sturdy dishes. They look like old time pottery and not like melamine!
I got yellow bowls, blue salads, and red dinner plates. A wonderful melange of color on the table!
We have a big rig RV and they are perfect!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: price
Review 6 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DoubleSRanch
,Arlington
,TX
January 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rustic/Crackle Only On Top
January 6, 2015
To the casual observer, these plates are some of the nicest looking ones out there. I want to advise others that the rustic/crackle look is a smooth image bonded to the surface of the melamine plate. The image only covers to the edge of the plate half way down with the rest of the plate being a solid color that closely matches the image color. This is more apparent on the bowls where the rustic/crackle look is only on the inside of the bowl and not on the outside. I was thinking that what I saw in the picture was on all sides. Additionally, the image on the bowls is not as crisp and clear as those on the dinner and salad plates. The crackle appears to be faded and in some areas almost nonexistent. This can be seen if you look closely at the online image of the bowl. If this is not an issue to you, then these are the plates/bowls for you. I am keeping everything because to the casual observer, they look great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JOJO47
,Logan
,Oh
September 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice for summer entertaining
September 4, 2014
Such a nice weight for plastic. They are prettier in person than on line. Little bit of a hassle having to put in top rack of dishwasher, but they are worth it. Bought the yellow first and liked them so much purchased another 4 in the turquoise - gorgeous!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Easy to Store, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StoneysMom
,Freeport
,FL
July 14, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Plates.
July 14, 2014
Love, love, love these dishes. Great look for outside or inside casual. Will probably order more colors.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance
Review 9 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rivrrunner2006
,Boise
,ID
July 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
rustic melamine dinner plates
July 13, 2014
To start, the reason for the purchase was for outdoor plates that could handle a potential drop to the patio. These caught my attention, as they are unique and attractive.
My only issue is that about 50% of them arrived with some type of chip or scratch in them.
I don't know how this will affect their long term durability. If they only cost $4-$5 a plate, that would be tolerable, perhaps. However, at nearly $13/plate, it is obscene to sell slightly damaged goods to your customer base. In my humble opinion.
. The 4 star rating is on the plates appearance. Very nice.
Enjoy, Robert
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Weight
Cons: condition arrived in
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lena8401
Harlan KY
Posted July 16, 2014
RETURN/EXCHANGE
If your items were damaged, please check with WS on return policy. I agree with you on pricing. I got the blue patterned ones.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkm1
,Roca
,NE
June 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love Love these plates!
June 16, 2014
One of the best purchases I have made recently. The quality is wonderful, you would never know they were Melamine....ane the colors are sure to make my summer table settings pop! I puchased the aqua blue and white dinner plates with yellow salad plates.... couldn't be happier.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Appearance
Review 11 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CTJoyceT
,Plymouth
,ct
June 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks like real ceramic
June 3, 2014
These melamine dishes are very detailed in the way they make them appear rustic. The color was exactly as pictured and the detail in the crackling and worn appearance was impressive for melamine. I haven't used them numerous times to know how they will wear with knife and fork. States top shelf dishwasher safe, didn't notice that comment when I purchased so they will get hand washed as my dishwasher doesn't accomodate plates in top shelf. (Would have purchased anyway! That beautiful)
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayDesigner
,Pearland
,TX
March 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Favorite Dinnerware
March 26, 2014
I had been looking and researching for outdoor / melamine dinnerware for a long time. I decided on these in the turquoise, yellow and red. I am SO not regretting my decision. This dinnerware is absolutely beautiful. You can't even tell that they are melamine unless you actually pick them up. They have a nice weight to them; the color is phenomenal; the rustic look is very real; the size is perfect; excellent quality. You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VAnMI
,Carsonville
,MI
February 17, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy Looking Melamine
February 17, 2014
Was shopping in an WS shop this pass weekend and I picked up two of these Rustic dinner plates in white, I didn't think online that I would like the white but they are fabulous! The crackling and edge of what looks to be red stoneware are unique. I have 8 more dinner plates arriving tomorrow that I ordered online in the newest color to start my collection for the patio, can't wait to use!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Cons: having to top load in dishwasher no mirco
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Gigi2008
Ohio
Posted August 28, 2014
Question
Can you use these in the microwave?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethygirl
,Crystal Lake
,il
August 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soooo very Chic
August 22, 2013
OMGosh I love these, I own 3 solid color sets and the 2 prints for the salad plates.(i,m waiting for turquoise to come in!) I have always owned plates made from real stonewear. Some of the complaints I read were about the glaze being lighter around the center rim.That is not a flaw, real stonewear and pottery are exactly like that, So these are fashioned after true pottery style. I love them, my guests could not believe they were made of melamine. and my kids are so happy they don't have to carry around heavy plates anymore. I wish they were microwaveable, but i'm way to happy with these to be worried about that, plus I own melamine mixing bowls and am used to not being able to put that material in the microwave.
Pros: Durable, Personalization, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dlt52
,Tacoma
,Wa
August 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great on the patio
August 5, 2013
I bought these to use for my "deck dinners". They are beautiful and incredibly functional. They are also light so they work well for buffets. Most guest don't know they are not real china. I would recommend these to anyone who is looking for an attractive set of dishes to use outside.
Pros: Durable, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Weight
Review 16 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmhmmh
July 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous/Best melamine plates ever
July 29, 2013
I bought the pale sea urchin pattern ones for plates, salad plates, small bowls. Thought they were a little expensive but when you receive you will astonished. Have heft and look so beautiful. I don't even bother to put in the dishwasher. Just did 8 plates in sink in 3-4 minutes as nothing seems to stick. My guests on a duffy boat this weekend asked why are you bringing pottery plates on a boat. I said they're not pottery and plates were passed around in astonishment. Have now bought the aqua rustic and off white rustic to add to my collection and giving away old melamine plates. No comparison. WS thanks and do more options for next summer (salad plates, platters, 10-11 inch plates, large and small bowls, serving spoons) as would like to continue mixing and matching for casual, pool, beach occasions. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Color, Appearance, Versatile, gorgeous
Cons: if carrying they are obviously heavier than paper
Review 17 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
July 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
turquoise rustic melamine plates
July 19, 2013
I truly believe that life is all about how you touch people's lives and what you leave behind; especially in art, science and medicine. But, in the meantime.... .:-) ; it's also nice to have simple pleasures & comforts and to look at pretty things. These plates are really attractive, durable and good to use around the pool.
P.S. Our most recent house guest said "You have really good taste; where did you get these plates"?
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Appearance, Design
Cons: not bottom shelf dishwasher safe
Review 18 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luvthekeys
,Islamorada
,FL
July 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous dinnerware!
July 11, 2013
I was somewhat hesitant to order these dishes after reading some of the reviews, but I now can honestly say they are the most gorgeous rustic dishes ever! I bought them for a vacation home in FL and my family loves them!! They look like authentic, not like the melamine of years ago, they wash up beautifully and are so simple to store. I bought a variety of colors and mix and match them and my table always looks beautiful! Love them!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 19 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coastal22
,Panacea
,FL
June 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Gorgeous!
June 16, 2013
I was somewhat hesitant to order the turqouise and yellow after reading the reviews but ordered anyway. Once I saw them for myself I was thrilled! They are indeed slightly pale in color around the inner rim; however, the color tone is far too even and consistent on all 12 plates for it to be a defect. I feel it adds depth to the plate for a more realistic look. My table is stunning!
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Color, Appearance
Review 20 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sapphire73
June 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but Handle with Care
June 11, 2013
I purchased the dark blue rustic plates yesterday and they are beautiful. I had read that these plates are dishwasher safe but now see that the back of the plate says "top shelf only." Wish I had seen that before washing my plates in the bottom rack of my dishwasher because some of my plates are no longer looking quite so new. I may hand wash the blue rustic plates from now on and just put the colorful La Med dishes in the dishwasher. Looking forward to using these dishes soon!
Pros: beautiful color
Cons: top shelf of dishwasher only
page1 2 next