Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4

We've taken melamine to new levels of artistry with this collection. Our wide-rimmed dinner plates capture the beauty and dimension of antique earthenware, yet they're made of shatterproof melamine. New techniques allow us to re-create the subtle texture, rubbed edges and rich glazed finish of ceramics in durable, scratch-resistant melamine-the perfect choice for outdoor and casual meals. Made of exceptionally durable, BPA-free melamine. Dishwasher safe on top rack. Set of four.
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
38 of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
Review 1 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,St. Paul
,MN
August 9, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Careful with these!
August 9, 2016
I thought these plates were fun colors, so I got a bunch of aqua dinner & yellow salad ones for my daughter. Unfortunately, 2 of the dinner plates cracked in half & all show cutting marks on them. Had to replace the set with china ones after only 9 months.
Pros: Appearance, Color, Design, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Good for Entertaining, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: Fragile, Not Durable, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TheNinja
Arizona
Posted October 15, 2016
Beware!
I collected service for 16 over a few months. We were moving from Minnesota to Arizona and I wanted dishes to use outside. We moved to Arizona 3 weeks ago and I was so excited to start using my new dishes. Tonight we had pizza and when I was washing the dishes (red) I noticed my husbands plate had scratches all over it. He used a knife....I did not. This shouldn't happen to these fishes and I plan on contacting Williams Sonoma on Monday about this problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,meridian
,ID
August 7, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good quality plates
August 7, 2016
We purchased 4 red plates. Wish I had purchased 4 more. They are beautiful.
Review 3 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Great Falls
,Mt
July 2, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
using everyday
July 2, 2016
Really like these plates their tough and are pleasing to look at
Pros: Appearance, Durable, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Luis obispo
,CA
June 21, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing plates
June 21, 2016
Love these plates! They do not look like melamine, but look like a rustic Italian ceramic. The don't break or chip!
Review 5 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,El Paso
,IL
June 21, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful rustic dishes!!!
June 21, 2016
It is hard to believe these are made of melamine. I have seen others at different retailers but as usual the products that you get from Williams-Sonoma are significantly nicer. These are beautiful.
Pros: Durable, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 6 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,dc
June 2, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it but miss my favorite color
June 2, 2016
I love this stuff. It's tough beautiful and looks just like ancient well loved provencal pottery we used in the south of France. But I went to buy more and find my color, azure, is missing? What happened? Is it gone forever? I hope not. It was perfect for summer tables in Sun and under stars.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color
Review 7 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Charleston
,SC
May 26, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love Love!
May 26, 2016
Love these plates! Great addition for our new outdoor deck. I have already received so many compliments on the plates!
Pros: Durable, Appearance, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Design, Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sheila70
Calfornia
Posted October 30, 2016
Why are they difficult to clean? Most people are saying they are easy to clean. I wanted to buy someone. Just curious what you mean by that?
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Crescent City
,CA
February 4, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than I could have imagined
February 4, 2016
These look and feel so much like ceramic dishware but are light weight and better than I had ever imagined. I have expensive dinnerware sets but they are heavy and breakable. Thought I would try this for everyday and am amazed at how much I like them. I have since ordered the whole set in yellow and love the color.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Weight, Balance, Color
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Mom2threeboys
Alamo, CA
Posted June 27, 2016
How do you clean them?
They recommend dishwasher "top rack only" and my dishwasher isn't equipped to handle large dishes on the top rack. One of your "pros" was that it was easy to clean. How do you clean them? By hand? bottom rack? top rack?
Thanks much!
0points
Customer avatar
anonime
Chicago
Posted March 31, 2016
dishwasher top rack only
How do these fit in the top rack which is meant for glasses? The top rack is not sized right for dinner plates. If they were safe on the bottom rack I would buy them.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bloomington
,IN
August 27, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this plates!
August 27, 2015
I ordered 2 sets of these plates, green and yellow. I love them! They are great for the patio or an informal dinner in front of the TV!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Store, Color
Review 10 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Nashua
,NH
Nashu, NH
August 20, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Anything but plastic!
August 20, 2015
I purchased these early in the season and have used them often for outdoor entertaining. They have a nice weight to them and they look like anything but plastic. I have run mine through my Bosch dishwasher (does not have a heating coil) and they look brand new. Still shiny, no cracks or chips.
I would highly recommend these. I bought mine on sale (I needed 16) and, have even purchased other melamine matching pieces. Love the distressed look. If you buy the light color be aware that there is a "white" and and Ivory and when you mix and match the Ivory looks like it's "stained" next to the white; just something to be aware of.
I would have given them a 5 but the price is cost prohibitive if you want to buy more than four. I bought mine on sale, as I did want 16.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Easy to Store, Color
Cons: ivory plates do not match serving pieces
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Pjg2000
Posted June 3, 2016
Dishwasher safe?
Did you run these thru just the upper rack? Thx
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Owasso
,Ok
July 29, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and elegant
July 29, 2015
The plates have an old world charm to them and are just beautiful!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Design, Color
Cons: Size
Review 12 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vancouver
,Wa
July 21, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous outdoor dinnerware
July 21, 2015
Great product. The colors and quality are amazing. All my favorite BBQ dishes look
Fabulous on the dishes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining
Review 13 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ia
July 6, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great plates
July 6, 2015
Love the look and weight of these plates. Washed up in the dishwasher without incident.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Weight, Color
Cons: washing on upper rack only
Review 14 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Escalon
,CA
June 3, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty + Function
June 3, 2015
These plates are both beautiful and sturdy-perfect for the outdoors. Quality is even better than I anticipated!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Easy to Store, Design, Color
Review 15 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Livermore
,CO
June 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product and Great looks
June 2, 2015
Very nice stuff, great for out cooking, love the rustic look it has, I got myself a set and my Daughter.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Easy to Store, Design, Color
Review 16 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,jasper
,ga
May 29, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautifully rustic
May 29, 2015
you have to touch these plates to know they are not stoneware ... love them for the grandkids! elegant with no worry
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: High-Maintenance, upper rack dishwasher only
Review 17 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tualatin
,OR
May 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best for Brunch
May 28, 2015
I needed durable but attractive dishes for a brunch following my daughter's wedding. I bought several of the colors and love them all. We'll continue to use these as our outdoor dining dishes. These dishes are beautiful. People do not believe that they are not pottery. The photos represent them well. Shipping was prompt. There was a slight problem with my order but as always Williams-Sonoma resolved the issue without a hassle. The only drawback is that you can't wash them on the bottom rack of the dishwasher but they are so beautiful hand washing them is not an issue. I could not be happier.
Pros: Durable, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Color
Cons: can't wash in dishwasher
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Virginia Beach
,VA
May 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You could fool me....
May 28, 2015
I was amazed how much these plates look like stoneware, even to the glaze pooling in the bottom. Great purchase. I'm not sure why the recommendation is top shelf of dishwasher only. I may not pay attention to that.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Easy to Store, Color
Review 19 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alexandria
,VA
May 20, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Dinnerware
May 20, 2015
Dinnerware looks like stoneware. I've had a number of pieces for at least three years and have added other pieces, mixing and matching colors and patterns. They are simply elegant. I've always washed them in the dishwasher -- upper and lower baskets -- and have had no problems.
Two cons from my point of view:
1. Limited range of pieces: no cereal size bowls, no bread-sized plates, and NO cups/saucers or mugs.
2. Pieces only sold on line in sets, which limits ability to "design" your own set by mixing and matching. Individual pieces are sold in store but are limited as to type and color.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Good for Entertaining, Weight, Balance, Easy to Store, Personalization, Design, Color
Cons: sold online in sets only., no cereal bowls bread plates mugs cups/saucers
Review 20 for Rustic Melamine Dinner Plates, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Md
May 2, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful plates
May 2, 2015
Loved these plates. Purchased them in the yellow. Substantial weight and feel.
page1 2 next