Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser

After more than 45 years of producing extraordinary pots and pans from copper, the Ruffoni family began channeling its traditional Italian artistry and craftsmanship into clad stainless-steel cookware of the same exceptional quality. Developed for Williams-Sonoma, this braising pan conducts heat evenly and efficiently. Alternating layers of stainless steel and aluminum transfer heat efficiently, eliminating hot spots. Hand-hammered exterior with a unique serial number inscribed on the bottom. Solid stainless-steel handle and lid. Knob is hand cast in brass and plated in silver by a Milanese silversmith. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Handsome enough for oven-to-table presentation. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
Review 1 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beckreut
,El Reno
,OK
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very elegant
August 29, 2013
I had been looking for a piece that was attractive and held large amounts, but it seemed like the ones I found in the right size were enameled cast iron. They were almost too heavy for me, even without food in them. The Ruffoni braiser is much easier for me to hoist around, yet the thick bottom of the pan cooks wonderfully. It's just exactly what I wanted, although I hadn't even considered Ruffoni. I just happened across it in our local WS Store and realized it fit the bill perfectly! I keep it out on the range because I adore the hammered finish and the incredibly beautiful vegetable knob. It gets lots of compliments!
Pros: Quality, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: knob requires special care
Review 2 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
passion4theexquisite
,San Jose
,CA
November 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty and functionality
November 20, 2012
Cooking with these vessels is truly wonderful. Even distribution of heat for every type of cooking technique for perfectly preparing foods.
And, clean-up is almost a pleasure because the pots are so lovely and relatively easy to keep (I truly love cooking but am not thrilled with the clean-up jobs.
The handles are not a problem at all if you take care in treating these items with the respect deserved. Anyone that enjoys the art of preparing good food at any level cannot go wrong with investing in this line of pans.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Entertablement
,Dennis
,MA
Dennis! MA
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Cookware
February 16, 2012
I am utterly delighted with my Ruffoni cookware. I have now accumulated the entire set and use it constantly. Beautiful heat distribution, and incredibly easy clean up. I like it even better than my All-Clad copper core, which is arguably top-notch. Yes, the lids are bit tricky, but are gorgeous and worth the extra effort. Silicone oven mitts are definitely the way to go - they're flexible enough to get a good grip.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
espree
,St. Charles
,MO
Missouri
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely and Delicious!
December 5, 2011
I just purchased this piece with money received as a gift. Now I have a total of six absolutely beautiful Ruffoni cookware items and am working on completeing the entire set. Like my previous items, this braiser is SUPERB! I love preparing my signature dishes in them! Everyone is blown away by the beauty of this cookware and I love how evenly the heat is distributed creating perfect entrees everytime. Goodbye to my All-Clad Copper Core!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight, beautiful
Review 5 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hetherwick
San Francisco Bay area
August 24, 2011
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Work of Art and Eat
August 24, 2011
I originally purchased Ruffoni as a special gift for a relative - three pieces starting with the small copper saucepan with the acorn on top, and then two of the stainless pieces. They display but never use them. I earned some extra money teaching summer school so I decided to treat myself. I have a hodgepodge of things but never thought I cared until I saw these. I use a plate rack purchased in an Italian pottery store to display the lids. And I USE mine. I even boiled some eggs in one pot. Last night I made shrimp linguini and it was delicious. Went from stove to table beautifully. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meb5
Kalamazoo, MI
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect pots!
April 4, 2011
My husband gave this and the 4.5qt. saucepot to me for Christmas in 2009, I have used them extensively and they are the best ever. Braises are wonderful; beautiful, even browning and holds at a simmer perfectly. I do agree with the complaints about the lid handles, but they are so beautiful, I am willing to put in the little extra effort to deal with them. Nice to see that there is a stainless alternative available for those unwilling or unable to cope, but I couldn't bear to replace the gorgeous originals. Hope my grandkids like to cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasNana45
Texas
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooo Beautiful!!!!
December 28, 2010
Ok -- how to make cooking absolutely elegant and beautiful is by cooking in this magnificent cookware! I have this braiser and another saucepan by Ruffoni and use them everyday! The clean up is a snap and they look so beautiful on my stove top! I hope to continue to collect these truly works of art for the kitchen!
Review 8 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleenskitchen
san luis obispo CA
September 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A thing of beauty
September 17, 2010
Come on folks, this amazing piece of art is just that. The lid is arguably the most beautiful ever produced. When not in use on my stove, I use it to display my fruits and vegetables in my kitchen, with the lid angled so as to continue to enjoy the entire pot. It cooks beautifully and just remember to use a pot holder on the lid and everything is beyond wonderful
Review 9 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliceB
Louisiana
March 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beauty and Brawn
March 27, 2010
I received 2 of these Ruffino pans as a gift. They are absolutely beautiful so I was unsure of there performance, well these Ruffino's perform as well if not better than my All-clad. I love, love, love them! They make such a spectacular presentation that I am always using them. Thank you sis for such a beautiful gift!
Review 10 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grega
Mclean, VA
February 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful addition
February 14, 2010
I have recently received this as a gift and it is truly a beautiful addition to my collection of cookware. It is something that I like to leave on display on my Whirlpool electric range hoping to make it look better.
Review 11 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDBedford
Russellville, Ala
January 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and Efficient
January 24, 2010
My husband gave me two of the Ruffoni pans of Christmas. I have the all clad copper core and thought this would be a pretty display piece on my 60" 5 star but they cook as well if not better than my All Clad Copper Core. They look beautiful displayed and are fabulous to cook in. They are awesome. I bought two more and plan to get the complete set. Love the Ruffoni.
Review 12 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesomefood
Huntington, New York
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing to cook with and to look at
January 10, 2010
This pan has great heat distribution and cooks evenly without any hot spots. I Have a professional cook top and this pan handles the intense heat beautifully. This is my second purchase of Ruffoni cookware and I intend to purchase the complete set. Clean-up is quick and easy.
Review 13 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cordoba
mexico
November 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wonderful product
November 5, 2009
wonderful product and beautifull. You can cook very well, its so nice to put on the table.
Review 14 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCMinNC
Brasstown, NC
August 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cookware ever!!
August 24, 2009
I have three pieces, stockpot, 7qt braiser and saucepan, and it is my goal to obtain the other three pieces to the set. Not only is this cookware a work of art, but cooking with it is exceptional. The temperature is evenly distributed with no scorching or burning. Additionally, it is very easy to clean.
For all of those that are complaining about the lids being hard to lift and/or remove, invest in some silicone potholders. They withstand up to 675 degrees of heat and they work perfectly on these lids. I personally would not want the lids to change as they are truly a work of art.
Review 15 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donnajm
severn, md
January 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it!!!
January 15, 2009
I bought the Brasier and sauce pan, I thought at first the brasier may be to big, but is not, it looks fantastic, can be put on the table and goes from stove to oven with ease. It is something to buy and pass on to your grandkids, because you will not want to give it up until then.
Review 16 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bowman80126
Denver, Colorado
January 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful pans, great performance
January 2, 2009
I purchased three of the Ruffoni pans -- the braiser, stock pot and chef's pan -- before Thanksgiving. I love the way they look and I really like the way they perform. But I agree with other reviewers that the lids are a problem. They're very difficult to lift off, especially when the pans are hot. Also, one of the lids has a nasty scratch, even though I've treated it very carefully. Overall, I love them and would probably buy more, but I'm trying to figure out a work-around for the lids.
Review 17 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
florida2009
Canada
December 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SImply Beautiful
December 27, 2008
Excellent quality and detail. A simply "must have". Arrived in excellent condiditon.
Review 18 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bully
Simi Valley, Ca
November 18, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just a piece of Art!
November 18, 2008
It took my Wife 7 years to duplicate Moms Spanish rice and I can tell you it comes out even better now that she uses the Ruffoni! Yes it is a bit tricky to grasp the lid but I wouldn't change anything about it. I plan on buying the rest of the set for Her for Christmas.
Review 19 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AkAlan
Anchorage, Alaska
November 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but bad lid design
November 9, 2008
If they would redesign the lid I would buy another lid and toss the one that came with it. It is a beautiful handle but totally unfunctional. I dropped it after takng the pot out of the oven because you cannot get a good grip with a pot holder. Other than that this is the second Ruffoni pot I have purchaced and I do like the pots a lot. Would recomend only if the lid were different.
Review 20 for Ruffoni Opus Prima Hammered Stainless-Steel Braiser
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ccritt
Coppell, TX
October 13, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult lid
October 13, 2008
I receieved this as a gift and I love it. However, the lid is very difficult to handle as the detailed vegetable top is not long enough to get a good grip when opening. When the lid is hot you need to be extra careful to take it off. The price of the item was high and having a tough time opening or lifting off the lid has prevented me from purchasing another piece.
page1 2 next