Ruffoni Polenta Pot

For perfect polenta, prepare the dish as Italian cooks do: in a heavy-gauge copper paiolo like this one. The pot's flared sides facilitate stirring and encourage the steady absorption of water into the cornmeal, ensuring a creamy texture. The pot is hand made by master metalsmiths in Ruffoni's family-owned workshop in the Italian Alps.Crafted of hand-hammered copper for excellent heat conductivity.Interior is lined with durable nonreactive tin.Shaped to facilitate stirring and encourage absorption of liquid.Riveted brass handle is adorned with sculpted acorns and leaves.Includes a long wooden stirring spoon.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ruffoni Polenta Pot
Review 1 for Ruffoni Polenta Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ForzaItalianAmerican
,Montclair
,NJ
September 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
True traditional item.
September 9, 2014
Polenta is a great Italian tradition, because they have made it and keep making it. Corn was exported from the New World back to Europe and the Italians have discovered a great way to cook and serve it. Since cauldrons are used for making witches brew, I'll be using this beautiful, highly-technical, well-made pot for my polenta! Ciao! Buon Appetito!
Pros: Durable, Design
Review 2 for Ruffoni Polenta Pot
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ClaraSmith
,New Jersey
July 7, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fake item. Polenta is not Italian tradition
July 7, 2014
3500 years ago, ancient Greeks attested flax polenta making technique coming from Dacians (nowadays South Eastern Europe Romania). It is therefore unlikely that Italians have it as a tradition, since it does not belong as their authentic custom. No offence to this beautiful handcrafted item, but to make a great polenta, one should us a cauldron. I've tried this and it does not fulfill my expectations. Cauldrons for making polenta.That is the real traditional way to do it. Enjoy cooking, enjoy life!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, burns out polenta fast, doesn't allow polenta to brew
Review 3 for Ruffoni Polenta Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mylady
,Miami
,FL
February 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect every time
February 13, 2013
I have only used it for polenta and custards but the it is excellent for that
I read in a review before I bought it that the spoon got ruined after the first wash.
I washed mine by hand and it is doing very well. In my experience wooden tools get a little ugly with use but they are just as good
The pot is gorgeous !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
admc
albuquerque,nm
Posted September 30, 2013
wood spoons
I found that there is food safe oils that are available for use on wood utensils and cutting boards. I use olive wood spoons which once re oiled look beautiful again. The "ugliness" is because wood dries out over time and to preserve the usefulness and the looks of your utensils, apply the food grade oil.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Ruffoni Polenta Pot
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CNYItalianAmerican
March 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect polenta
March 24, 2012
I've been making polenta all my life, and this is the best cookware I've ever used. There was no burning or sticking, and the even heating made for a very uniform and perfectly cooked polenta, with no spattering. Cleanup was easy--I let the cooled pan soak in water, and then removed any residue with a plastic pan scraper before washing with a soft sponge. Definitely an heirloom for my daughter! I just wish it came with a lid, as I want to try making risotto in it next. A helper handle would also be nice, for ease in removing the cooked polenta.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight