This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Rowenta Steamium Iron

With its unsurpassed versatility, ease of operation and host of automatic safety features, the Steamium is a professional-quality iron ideal for those who find themselves ironing often. It makes it effortless to remove wrinkles in record time, with easy-to-use controls and adjustable steam settings to accommodate all kinds of garments and home linens.Steam Force pump-injection technology forces 30% more steam into fabrics for more efficient ironing.Stainless-steel soleplate with nonstick exterior for a durable, smooth and scratch-resistant surface.Soleplate has 400 microholes for perfectly even steam distribution.One-touch controls for temperature and steam.Variable-steam setting includes vertical setting for hanging garments.Substantial weight aids in pressing out wrinkles.Extra-large water tank minimizes refilling.LED display.Auto shutoff stops power after 8 minutes if left vertical, after 30 seconds if left horizontal or when tipped over.Self-cleaning system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rowenta Steamium Iron
Review 1 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loulou
,urbana
,il
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
great iron
March 18, 2013
i have owned many Rowenta irons over the years, and this one is the best! Produces a great amount of steam. Easy to use, powerful, i do not regret my purchase!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarieDG
,New Fairfield
,CT
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great Iron
January 31, 2013
This was my third Rowenta iron so I trust the company for making quality irons. This iron had a lot more features then my previous and took some time to get used to it. However, the automatic steam selection feature is great - I don't even have to use a spray of water to get those tough wrinkles out. Overall, a great buy for someone who irons a lot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parasol
April 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Fabulous Steam Iron
April 26, 2012
I went from a Rowenta iron with 15 steam holes to this new Rowenta Steamium Iron with 400 ... yes ... 400 steam holes. I love this iron. When the button is pressed for a "Shot of steam," the iron practically jumps off the ironing board. The weight of this iron may be a problem for some. It is a bit heavy.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lexusgal
,Me
Maine
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great iron!!!
April 25, 2012
I am real happy with this iron! Some reviewers said how they didn't like how you put water in it or that it was heavy. Those things didn't bother me. I think it heats up quick and takes the wrinkles out well. It can get around buttons and corners well. The sole plate is very smoothe over the fabric. I had a rowenta already but doesn't work as well as this one at all. That old one went to goodwill making room for this one!!!!
Review 5 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefpeppy
,Annapolis
,MD
Maryland
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Iron
April 25, 2012
I currently own a Rowenta Iron which I love but wished it had more steam holes. When I saw this one with all the steam holes I decided to upgrade my iron. The iron gets used weekly and does a wonderful job steaming and pressing my blouses and pants. Love this iron. Very happy with my Rowenta iron. I also bought the cleaning pad because I use starch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 6 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Rocky Mount
,NC
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Hate this iron
April 9, 2012
i love a good iron and iron most all my laundry. My previous iron was the progenitor of Rowenta iron one step less expensive so when i needed a new one, I thought I'd aim for the top. This iron is too heavy, not all hot but worst of all - you have to keep the steam trigger depressed the whole time you are using the iron if you want constant steam. The trigger is forward of where you naturally hold the iron and must be depressed all the way in order to generate steam. This makes it hard to use and is hard on my hand. It winds up cramping. I am going to put this iron away and go buy a new model of my other iron. Do not buy this iron!
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 7 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RMMP
,North Platte
,NE
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE LOVE THIS IRON
January 24, 2012
I have used Rowenta for about 20 years. They are the best irons. The weight of the irons make it glide over your clothes with no effort but they are not to heavy to use. Your clothes look like a professional ironed them for you. You pay for what you get. Awesome
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GraniteGirl
,Rochester
,MN
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointed in Expensive Iron
October 24, 2011
I read all the Reviews and decided to purchase the Rowenta Steamium Iron even though it seemed like a lot of money for an iron. I've used it twice and both times the amount of calcium deposit that comes out every time you hit the steam button is ridiculous. Its like it was a return, and repackaged and the water that was left behind calcified. I thought it all came out in the first use but today using for the second time, it happened again. So much that I have to sweep my kitchen floor after use. I may return if this continues after two more uses.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strength, Design
Cons: Unreliable, white calcium deposits
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
MaidMarion
North Attleboro, MA
Posted April 5, 2012
Calcium Output
The Rowenta I have has a separate button that I always push first after the iron heats up to clear anything that may be left in the line ---- calcium is always what comes out. Push the button, holding the iron away from your garment. I usually hold it slightly above my ironing board so when I bush off what was discharged I can feel the calcium particles that were spit out. I assume all Rowentas have this feature. Take a close look at your iron or call the store where you purchased it or, better yet, Rowenta customer service #. This is definitely the best iron I have ever purchased --- and I've been ironing for a long time, bearing in mind that I'm now in my 60's! Yup ---- lots of experience coming at you!
0points
Customer avatar
Kim2Cool
Posted October 29, 2011
Solution for the Calcium build up problem
The Calcium build up problem is due to the harsh tap water you are using. Use bottled water when ironing or steaming it has less calcium. This being said, will stop help the reduction of calcium build up in your iron.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jharrington
,Boise
,ID
September 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best iron!!
September 17, 2011
I can't believe how well this iron works. I used to hate ironing but this iron makes it so easy! I highly recommend!
Review 10 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Randon
,Naples
,FL
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Definitely a super steamer
September 12, 2011
This iron is a bit heavier than my previous one but it delivers steam more thoroughly. The point on the front is a plus when ironing complex sewn features. The only thing I do not like is how the reservoir is constructed. Hard to get water in without spilling. Also, I'm not sure the remaining wetness left after emptying will dry out between uses -- and, therefore, may accumulate mildew inside. Will find out as time passes.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 11 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WSfavoritestorefan
Oroville, CA
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Ironing Made Easier
August 27, 2011
Got tired of replacing irons that don't last and/or don't do a good job. I am so happy with this iron! A little heavy and big, but I was amazed with at how well built this iron is and the quality that went into it - and I never knew it would be so nice to iron with steam. If you have to iron, it's well worth the extra expense. Have high hopes that it will far outlast all the others!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 12 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elva46
Corpus Christi, Texas
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Suited for those who love or hate to iron!
March 28, 2011
I've purchased many irons over the years and this the best I've had. If you either hate or love ironing, this iron will make the task more enjoyable. I've actually caught up with my ironing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, effective
Review 13 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marypoppins2010
Sunnyvale, CA
August 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Fabulous iron!!!
August 9, 2010
Tried many different kinds and this one is by far the best!! Lots of practical gadgets and ultimate performance so that even the wrinkliest skirt comes out smooth and pretty!! Thank you Rowenta and thanks to W-S!!!
Review 14 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Glows
Fl
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Ironing goes faster
August 6, 2010
love everything about it just wish the cord was longer.
Review 15 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baker
Selinsgrove, PA
May 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Finally an iron that can do the tough jobs.
May 30, 2010
This iron has made ironing a breeze. My WS linen and Russian tablecloths can be a challenge; however, all the wrinkles are resoved with one pass. This iron is worth every penney.
Super on denim.
Review 16 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dava
St. Louis, MO
April 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
High Performance Iron
April 14, 2010
This is a substantial high performing iron. Once I learned to use the steam trigger properly, it does an outstanding job of removing wrinkles with the first pass of the iron. The temperature settings for various fabrics are set just right. It is heavy which appears to enhance performance. It is a quality product.
Review 17 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KP607
Endicott, NY
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Great Steaming Iron
February 20, 2010
Great iron with alot of steam. The flip top you use to fill the iron can be a little difficult to lift up but I imagine with constant use this should lessen. CON: Iron is very heavy, so if you have a lot of ironing to do, your hand/arm gets tired quickly.
Review 18 for Rowenta Steamium Iron
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefDeJour
Ventura County, CA
December 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+35points
41of 47found this review helpful.
Be Prepared to Fill the Tank Frequently
December 3, 2009
This steam iron has some excellent features:
1. Long Cord
2. Powerful Steam Blast (thumb press)
3. Easy to control button for continuous steam (uses index finger rather than thumb)
4. Lots and lots of steam holes, especially nice in the tip area, plus the tip design is very functional
5. Uses regular tap water (providing it is not too hard)
DOWNSIDE: You must fill it to max for best performance as it will start making a noise if the tank is only 1/3 full.
I find I must refill the tank frequently..which means turning off the machine, unplugging, filling then returning to ironing...so if you do a lot of ironing at one time..be prepared to fill it up frequently.
REMINDER At 1/3 full it will make "grinding" type noise when using auto steam or steam blast function buttons
WEIGHT: It is not a light iron, but the heaviness works really well for pressing.
HIGHLIGHT FEATURE: Vertical steam function works VERY NICE - excellent feature, but you must use thumb press here.