Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280

With its unsurpassed versatility, ease of operation and host of automatic safety features, the Steamium is a professional-quality iron ideal for those who find themselves ironing often. It makes it effortless to remove wrinkles in record time, with easy-to-use controls and adjustable steam settings to accommodate all kinds of garments and home linens. Steam Force pump-injection technology forces 30% more steam into fabrics for more efficient ironing. Stainless-steel soleplate with nonstick exterior for a durable, smooth and scratch-resistant surface. Soleplate has 400 microholes for perfectly even steam distribution. One-touch controls for temperature and steam. Variable-steam setting includes vertical setting for hanging garments. Substantial weight aids in pressing out wrinkles. Extra-large water tank minimizes refilling. LED display. Auto shutoff stops power after 8 minutes if left vertical, after 30 seconds if left horizontal or when tipped over.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
Review 1 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Southeast USA
,MS
Southeast USA
October 15, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of steam! :)
October 15, 2016
I had a much older Rowenta iron years ago that I dropped and it started leaking. I replaced it with a Black & Decker but it just didn't have the muscle (heat or steam) the old Rowenta iron had. After a couple of years I finally replaced it with the DW9280. It is a real iron! Lots of steam and plenty of heat that take wrinkles right out of 100% cotton. I hate I waited so long on replacing the Black & Decker. As one reviewer noted on her review; the iron is entirely blue which makes it difficult to see how much water is remaining in the reservoir and the heat adjustments are not real clear. The dial is turned to adjust heat and it appears each setting has several "clicks" before moving to the next setting. A little confusing and the instructions do not address. I would buy again in spite of these two minor issues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Quality, Size, Versatile, Weight, lots of steam
Cons: Assembly
Review 2 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Springfield Twnshp
,Mi
March 29, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An iron that is really hot
March 29, 2016
Have purchased Rowenta irons in the past and prefer them to other brands. I replaced my 15 year old Rowenta with this and I am very pleased. Finally, an iron that gets hot enough to steam out the wrinkles in my husband's shirts. Works great on ironing vintage linen napkins too. Can get them very crisp and even. My old Rowenta still has life so it will be pressed into service in my craft room where high heat is not essential.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Weight
Review 3 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Columbus
,OH
March 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality for the price
March 6, 2016
I purchased this iron on 12/22/2014. I have had two Rowenta irons in the past, that lasted a number of years, without problems. The second time I used this iron, the cover for the water pump broke. It had to be returned for repair. Now 14 months later, it quit steaming; for the cost of the iron, I believe it should have lasted longer.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, durability
Review 4 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
February 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More Iron, Less Chore
February 6, 2016
Have purchased 4 Rownta irons -- for us and each of our sons. This is the most recent addition. Having 400 steam holes really does make a difference in how easily you can iron, especially linen and cotton. This model adds forced steam and higher steam output than other models. It does a nice job on occasional vertical steaming. I steamed a jacket that was shiped for my son and it realxed the wrinkles effortlessly. The iron also handles delicates gently and dependably.
The ability to use tap water and the easy self cleaning cycle also check the plus column. Just be sure to read the instructions and use these features. If you have any flaking, spitting or leaking, they are most likely caused by failing to follow the directions. The iron can't work up to its potential if you don't take care of it and use it as intended.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Weight
Review 5 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic iron
December 10, 2014
Great iron for home use. Perfect weight and functions to easily iron out wrinkles. Very good quality well made. Def the best iron I used. I would recommend.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 6 for Rowenta Steamium Iron DW9280
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
September 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I absolutely love this iron!
September 30, 2014
I recently purchased a new home and received quite a few WS gift cards as housewarming presents. I decided to splurge and buy this expensive iron because reviews from other websites say that this is one of the best irons in the market for home use.
It does an excellent job ironing out wrinkles on a variety of clothing materials.
The iron expels just enough steam (when steam is turned on) to help iron out wrinkles, but not so much that the clothes become too damp.
It is very user friendly - I didn't need to read the instruction manual to learn how to use it.
The iron heats up very quickly so I don't need to wait long to start using it after plugging it in.
Speaking of plugging it in, it has a nice length to the cord so I don't need to post up right against the wall near an electrical outlet.
It has the perfect weight to press down on clothes without much effort from the user, but not so heavy that it is too difficult to handle.
There are more praises, but I reached char limit!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight, fast heat up, sufficient consistent steam, user friendly, intuitive, good cord length, self-cleaning, pretty for just an iron
Cons: expensive but still worth it