Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Rosle Egg Topper

This sleek little tool is an egg lover's dream come true. Perfect for serving soft-boiled eggs in their shells, it effortlessly slices off a neat top section of shell, giving you easy access to the silken white and creamy golden yolk inside. No more egg shells for breakfast! Efficient tool cleanly cracks the top of an egg shell, ready to be lifted off with a knife or by hand. Simply place the topper on your boiled egg, pull the handle up, then release - the spring-loaded mechanism causes just enough vibration for the sharp blade to cut through the shell. Made of durable 18/10 stainless steel. Designed by the German company Rosle, manufacturers of top-quality kitchen tools since 1903.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rosle Egg Topper
Review 1 for Rosle Egg Topper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
Los Angeles
October 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Quite Sure About This
October 4, 2016
Read all the reviews and since my boyfriend and I love our soft-boiled eggs, buying this item was a no-brainer.
So excited when we got it and used it right upon its delivery. Perhaps we're incompetent soft boiled egg crackers, but this egg topper didn't work out for us. Each of us tried on several eggs, and, nothing.
The topper made a perfect cut on the egg (After a few pulling attempts) but the egg shell does not come off easy AT ALL. Several other eggs just had a super cracked upper half, and, again, super tough to peel the shell off the egg.
If anyone has tips - please sent them my way!
Review 2 for Rosle Egg Topper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
Dallas, Texas
September 24, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Perfectly - Thank You to Orange Co. Reviewer
September 24, 2016
The reviewer from Orange County is correct - there are absolutely no instructions with this gem. I bought it based on his review & I used my Snag-It to copy & e-mail myself his instructions.
Thank goodness for GreyxTawn's review. It works perfectly. And as he said it best - the only negative is the lack of instructions, or I would have given it 5 stars.
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: no instructions
Review 3 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
,CA
April 23, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Perfect
April 23, 2016
I use this all the time and it works perfectly EVERY SINGLE TIME.
First time we used it, my girlfriend and I probably looked like chimps trying to figure out how to use a computer. Once we figured it out, we have never looked back.
The one knock on it is the complete lack of instructions.
I am convinced that every reviewer on here who is one-starring is not using it properly, so to help everyone:
-Make sure the egg is in an egg cup
-firmly place the topper on the top of the egg holding it down with your thumb and fore-finger
-use your other hand to pull back the handle
-release
When done properly, one snap of the handle does the trick
The variable here is the pressure you press the topper to the egg with. You will have to learn the appropriate pressure as too much can crack the entire egg.
Once figured out, this became my single favorite kitchen tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Accuracy
Cons: lack of instructions
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AUL24
Los Angeles
Posted September 26, 2016
Removing the shell
After you've pulled the handle and released, what does the egg shell look like when you take it off? Does it come off seamlessly? Or do you have to peel off the little cracks? I tried several times, and it doesn't come off easy at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rosle Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Sarasota
,Fl
April 7, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely useless
April 7, 2016
This item is a yoke! Sorry for the pun I mean joke! It basically cuts into the egg and splits it wide open. Don't waste your money like I did.
Review 5 for Rosle Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Thornwood
,NY
March 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not work
March 8, 2016
Either does nothing (?too gentle) or crushes the egg with it spilling all over.
Should one use it on the rounded end or the pointed end for better results?? White shell or brown?
Returned.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 6 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Victorville
,CA
October 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
October 31, 2015
This replaced the scissor type we had. The Scissor type always left small shell bits. This one breaks clean with no small bits.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Quality
Review 7 for Rosle Egg Topper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
May 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
6of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a disappointment!
May 1, 2015
What a disappointment and waste of money for this egg topper! First you need an egg that will fit this perfectly - too small or too large an egg, then you're better off cracking and peeling the egg. If your egg fits, then you need to put the cap on the top of the egg and continuously twist it so that the tiny sharp edge within the inner rim will cut through the egg shell, which should then pop off by vacuum force when you draw up the little pole. My wrists do not need more exercise - and the last egg I tried to de-cap exploded. Not good.
Cons: does not work
Review 8 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Wichita
,KS
April 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rosle Egg Topper
April 1, 2015
I have always wanted to try soft-boiled eggs, but did not want to do the trick where you break the top off with a knife. We have used this topper often in the month since it arrived, and have been very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 9 for Rosle Egg Topper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Holtsville
,Ne
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well Beheaded!
January 21, 2015
It's amazing. I wish I had more eggheads to lop off! Fun!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,10
January 6, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Invention
January 6, 2015
I was a little hesitant to buy this but once I got it, I use it everyday now with joy. Works so efficiently and it's a fun liitle tool to have it in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. James
,NY
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg topper
January 2, 2015
A great little gadget that easily takes perfect tops off soft boiled eggs every time. No more knives and hot fingers trying to hold that egg to get the top off! Just place on top of egg. Pull up on plunger, let it snap back and voila! a perfectly cut egg just like in the photo!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 12 for Rosle Egg Topper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Townsend
,MT
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rosle egg topper is excellent
January 1, 2015
I was amazed at how well the Rosle egg topper works. It makes a clean break all around the top of the egg. The top remains on the egg and is easily removed by inserting a butter knife. Be sure to buy the Apilco egg cup; it makes a beautiful display of the egg, and is an elegant way to serve soft boiled eggs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design