Rosle Can Opener

This smooth-gliding tool cuts cans along the outside rim of the lid, rather than the inside, producing smooth, safe edges. It's made by Rosle, one of Europe's leading manufacturers of professional cooking utensils.Stainless-steel blade leaves no sharp edges.Blade stays clean and doesn't come into contact with the food.Easy, smooth-gliding operation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.362 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
29 of 47(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rosle Can Opener
Review 1 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dandra
,Hilton Head
,SC
March 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Can Opener Ever
March 16, 2013
Have had this can opener for several years. It is the best can opener hands down. With a little twist it securely locks on and cuts perfectly. Best of all it holds on to the lid.
Yes, it may take a couple of tries to see how it works; but after that it is an amazing can opener. You won't be disappointed. Am ordering a second one for the new house.
Pros: Durable, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rosis
,Yorba Linda
,Ca
November 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it
November 14, 2012
It worked great when I bought the can opener,looks nice. Was easy to use. Lasted 7mo. Less than a year. I hate it! Knob is tight. pops and clicks when TRYING to turn the tight knob. No justice. Still have it using up space in drawer. I can't through it away cause I spent to much $ for it. I'm hoping in my dreams it will work one of these days. haha. Decided to buy a stainless steel cuisinart electric opener, that cost as much as this hand held opener. Still love to shop at Williams Sonoma. One bad apple is not keeping me away.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate
Review 3 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iliketoeatfood
,Clifton
,NJ
September 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3 steps to can opener longevity
September 14, 2012
lemme try to set things straight for anyone thinking about spending hard-earned money on a manual can opener: this will be one of your favorite kitchen utensils EVER!
I've had this for 2 years now. I got one for my mom and she trashed it in 2 months. You don't need a degree to use it, but there are some things you should keep in mind when doing so:
1) sit it on the lip and give the handle a twist so the gears bite into the lip of the can
2) pick the can and the opener off the counter just a bit so the can's weight can be felt in the handle. not hovering too high, JUST A BIT. don't be foolish.
3) twist the handle until you've spun the can all the way back to where you started
If you see metal shavings, you didn't get the opener on the lip right. Okay on your 1st try, but by your 10th you got a problem: you.
If the lid doesn't come off after a full spin around, either use a towel to help grab it better, or give it another go. Remember, practice makes perfect.
Best wishes...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, no more sharp edges!
Cons: lid is too big for draining, too much fun
Review 4 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kzoolauren
,Newport News
,VA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it.
November 29, 2011
We've had this can opener for less than a year, we loved it when we first bought it, thought it was neat and worked well, but it quickly got tough to use and now no longer cuts through many cans, top or bottom. We had to throw away canned items which got punctured but we could not manage to open with this opener. We ended up purchasing a standard kitchen aid can opener, and have been very happy with that. I wish I had not purchased this item.
Pros: Easy to Store, Design, novelty
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 5 for Rosle Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
harpy
,silver spring
,md
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lasts about 9 months
October 18, 2011
This is a great can opener for about 9 months. Then, it gets completely dull and useless. I did contact WS and they replaced it for me minus the cost of shipping. However, the 2nd one did the exact same thing. Useless in less then a year.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Fragile
Review 6 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frustratedinthekitchen
,Pittsburg
,NH
October 13, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hate it! Hate it! Hate it!
October 13, 2011
I purchased (3) of these expensive can openers. One for the cabin, one for the house and one for my brother. They worked fine in the beginning but over a short period of time became absolutely useless. The cutter just no longer works and you cannot get the can opened. We used plyers to open our can yesterday. It took longer to open the can than to make the Sheppard's Pie! Frustrated!! My brother said he received a call from his frustrated wife to return home because she could not open the can of tuna. Total waste of hard earned money!!!! Good idea but it doesn't work!!!
Review 7 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lucienne
Silver Spring, Maryland
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rosle Can Opener
August 7, 2011
I have had a Rosle can opener that worked very well for about a year. After that, it doesn't even open the cans. I got so disgusted trying to open a can of tuna tonight, that my husband went out and bought a cheap one and it opened the can--no problem. For the expensive price, and for being the cadillac of can openers, the Rosle should provide years of good service. No way. I cannot recommend this product to anyone. I am going to write to the company as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 8 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EAKK
Japan
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love it!
June 21, 2011
I love it! Period! This is the BEST can opener out there. It opens with ease and no sharp edges. Which makes recycling cans nice! Enjoy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 9 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakingismything
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
All Time Favorite!
May 21, 2011
Love, love, love this can opener! I have owned it for years and it performs flawlessly. For users who have had problems with your opener, Rosle offers a lifetime warranty on all products (per their website). Contact Rosle for a replacement. This is the best opener I've ever owned.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 10 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovebugsmama
Colorado
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
February 3, 2011
I bought this can opener after the cheap one I'd bought at the grocery store stopped working after a year and a half. I was lured by the stainless steel. But the extra money obviously doesn't mean extra quality. The 1st can I tried to open, just a normal can of veggies, it went around the rim and it left long filaments of metal. I had to remove the filaments before I could even try to pry the lid off and I slipped on one of them and it left a pretty deep gash in my thumb! And it didn't even actually open the can!! I went around it 4 more times and then I ended up opening it w/an old fashioned piercing style can opener. This opener will be going back tomorrow.
Review 11 for Rosle Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BayAreaCookandMama
East Bay, CA
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You don't necessarily get what you pay for
January 12, 2011
I bought this can opener after years of using the 'grocery store' variety. It was great for about a year. Now it works on every 4th can (or so). Sometimes if I go around the can 4 or 5 times I can get it to open halfway and pry it open with a bottle opener.
Review 12 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMMH
Birmingham, AL
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more dread.
January 10, 2011
For so long I dreaded opening cans because it was usually a struggle. I just couldn't find an opener that REALLY worked. Believe me, I tried various types. Frustrated, I went to my WS store and bought the Rosle. Love it! Thanks from me (and my husband since he doesn't have to get his tools to finish opening cans for me!)
Review 13 for Rosle Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WatersD
Quincy, FL
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Save Your Money
January 4, 2011
This can opener worked great for a year or two - I don't open that many cans. The handle broke and the gears stripped like others have said. Too bad because the design is great...they should have used better materials and you'd think for the $ it would be really durable.
Review 14 for Rosle Can Opener
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
baldini
Chicago
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Has some limitations
December 26, 2010
I used this can opener for several years before the lever moving the opener broke in half. It works well on standard cans but cans that have a higher then normal rim give it problems. A can of clams with a higher than normal rim caused it to break.
Review 15 for Rosle Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TheOracle1
Dallas TX
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does Not Last
December 12, 2010
A 40.00 can opener should last longer than a few years and this one doesn't. Worked perfectly for first couple of years then started to slip. Gave one as a gift and they ended up throwing it away after a couple of months!
Review 16 for Rosle Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jeffff
Santa Barbara, CA
December 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks good, doesn't last
December 10, 2010
At first I loved it, but after about 100 cans the teeth on the traction gear wore down and it would not work any more. This unit is all style and no substance,
especially for the price.
Review 17 for Rosle Can Opener
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
whitegardenia70
Garland, TX
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
back for another one
December 6, 2010
I purchased this can opener 3 years ago and was very pleased with it. I am now buying another one, because the first one does not always work properly. I think it is expensive, but plan to give it another go. Happy Christmas to all.
Review 18 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loveskitchenstuff
Annapolis, MD
October 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This can opener works!
October 16, 2010
I had tried a couple of these "safety"-type can openers which do not leave the sharp edges--they left me feeling like I needed a degree to operate them! But, even though this Rosle can opener costs a bit more than the average opener, I love it! My first one was so great, that when it bit the dust, I didn't hesitate to get another. It's easy to use, doesn't take up a lot of space, and it works!
Review 19 for Rosle Can Opener
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ezcookin
Oklahoma City, OK
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked great for a few months
September 8, 2010
Loved this product when we first purchased it. Then in less than a years time it stopped working correctly. For the price of this product I would expect it to last much much MUCH longer.
Review 20 for Rosle Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
miamama
August 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can opener
August 2, 2010
Tired of sliced fingers? Such a great alternative to a traditional electric can opener.........easy to use and love the rounded edges.
page1 2 3 next