This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Risotto Starter

One of the treasures of northern Italian cuisine, risotto is a classic dish whose legendary creaminess typically requires the luxury of time. Our convenient starter makes it easy to whip up authentic risotto in your own kitchen - without the need for slow, constant stirring. A versatile, time-saving foundation for italian-style risotto, featuring savory onions, white wine, olive oil and herbs. Blended from the finest ingredients, including sauteed onions, white wine and extra-virgin olive oil, seasoned with aromatic rosemary, garlic and thyme. Just add rice, broth, butter and cheese. To customize your risotto, add cooked chicken, shrimp, mushrooms or seasonal vegetables. With a pressure cooker and this timesaving starter, risotto is ready in just 10 minutes.Instructions included for stove-top and pressure cooker preparation. 12 oz. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Risotto Starter
Review 1 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brutisk
,staunton
,il
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Simple to Use
November 7, 2012
This was simple to use and delicious! I didn't have arborio rice so I just used white rice (not instant) and it turned out really good! I will be getting some more!
Review 2 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,brick
,nj
October 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
makes great risotto
October 2, 2012
easy and time saving. a great tasting product. a great treat for the family.
Review 3 for Risotto Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GeeT
,Rathdrum
,ID
Rathdrum, ID
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
taste is great
July 20, 2012
I am a novice at making risotto but this starter made it so easy and the taste was great. I added a little chicken and it is a hit!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stella
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, PA
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Risotto Family Favorite
July 6, 2012
Made the Risotto Starter with my filet mignon dinner and there was barely any left. Everyone loved it and kept asking how I made the risotto. It was a dinner life-saver. I ordered more jars for future meals!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, availability
Review 5 for Risotto Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Katzenmutter
,Olympia
,WA
April 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Less definitely is more.
April 10, 2012
I agree with Camille's advice and with what LoveMyCats wrote. Less surely would be more with my family. It really did smell up the house and I didn't care for the strong flavor, either. And risotto is
one of my favorite things.
Pros: Quality
Cons: smell, fatty oily
Review 6 for Risotto Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EllenG
,Toledo
,Oh
March 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Easy meal embellishment
March 2, 2012
This is an easy way to make a meal a little more special. I would like to try to reduce the fat content, but realize it probably wouldn't be authentic risotto if I did that!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wittgirl1
,Bakersfield
,CA
Bakersfield, CA
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Risotto Starter for the Pressure Cooker
February 27, 2012
I had just bought my Cuisinart Pressure Cooker at W&S and came across this Risotto Starter. My daughters love risotto and this came in so handy. The flavor was great and directions were right on the money. We all loved it and have already gone through both bottles of starter. Also I doubt I will ever make risotto the old way over the stove my pressure cooker worked flawlessly and the risotto was so creamy and done in 6 min. plus a few min. prep time. I'm sold on both!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Cost
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Risotto Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Camille8
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Too oily and smelly
May 31, 2011
I was not thrilled with this product. I usually love W & S foods, but this was a big disappointment. I made the risotto as directed on the jar. You begin with adding olive oil to a skillet, you eventually add the risotto starter itself, which I found very oily and also very pungent (not in a good way) Then you are instructed to add butter at the end...overall I just found this too oily. My husband ate it, but didn't really care for it and said my risotto recipe is much better than this one. The starter really didn't make it go any quicker and the flavor and greasiness were 'off' so will not buy again.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor, oily
Review 9 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Backyard
Newnan, GA
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious Risotto
May 20, 2011
I must admit that I often question the use of starters, but this one is well worth the cost. I followed the recipe on the jar, using the entire jar with the Acquerello Carnaroli Rice and found the results were exceptionally good. I will be using this again!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ksfoodie
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great stuff
March 18, 2011
I used the entire jar, and my risotto turned out great. Tasted even better the next day.
Review 11 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovemycats
FL
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Less is more
January 18, 2011
This product is very good in moderation. The directions call for adding the whole contents of the jar and I must admit that I usually follow the directions without first tasting the product. I purchased this before reading the feedback from the other reviewer. Based on that review, and tasting, I used about a third of the jar with a little parmesan. We both thought the risotto turned out well. There were no complaints from my spouse who does not like garlic.
Review 12 for Risotto Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JenniferR
Pittsburgh, PA
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Do NOT buy...
January 8, 2011
I always buy and LOVE William Sonoma sauces...that said this sauce was awful. Unedible. The strong smell of garlic and the overpowering taste of garlic was more than any of my house guest could bare. A huge disappointment to all.