This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Risotto Starter

One of the treasures of northern Italian cuisine, risotto is a classic dish whose legendary creaminess typically requires the luxury of time. Our convenient starter makes it easy to whip up authentic risotto in your own kitchen - without the need for slow, constant stirring. A versatile, time-saving foundation for italian-style risotto, featuring savory onions, white wine, olive oil and herbs. Blended from the finest ingredients, including sauteed onions, white wine and extra-virgin olive oil, seasoned with aromatic rosemary, garlic and thyme. Just add rice, broth, butter and cheese. To customize your risotto, add cooked chicken, shrimp, mushrooms or seasonal vegetables. With a pressure cooker and this timesaving starter, risotto is ready in just 10 minutes.Instructions included for stove-top and pressure cooker preparation. 12 oz. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Risotto Starter
Review 1 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brutisk
,staunton
,il
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Simple to Use
November 7, 2012
This was simple to use and delicious! I didn't have arborio rice so I just used white rice (not instant) and it turned out really good! I will be getting some more!
Review 2 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,brick
,nj
October 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
makes great risotto
October 2, 2012
easy and time saving. a great tasting product. a great treat for the family.
Review 3 for Risotto Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GeeT
,Rathdrum
,ID
Rathdrum, ID
July 20, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
taste is great
July 20, 2012
I am a novice at making risotto but this starter made it so easy and the taste was great. I added a little chicken and it is a hit!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stella
,Philadelphia
,PA
Philadelphia, PA
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Risotto Family Favorite
July 6, 2012
Made the Risotto Starter with my filet mignon dinner and there was barely any left. Everyone loved it and kept asking how I made the risotto. It was a dinner life-saver. I ordered more jars for future meals!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, availability
Review 5 for Risotto Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Katzenmutter
,Olympia
,WA
April 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Less definitely is more.
April 10, 2012
I agree with Camille's advice and with what LoveMyCats wrote. Less surely would be more with my family. It really did smell up the house and I didn't care for the strong flavor, either. And risotto is
one of my favorite things.
Pros: Quality
Cons: smell, fatty oily
Review 6 for Risotto Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EllenG
,Toledo
,Oh
March 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Easy meal embellishment
March 2, 2012
This is an easy way to make a meal a little more special. I would like to try to reduce the fat content, but realize it probably wouldn't be authentic risotto if I did that!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Risotto Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wittgirl1
,Bakersfield
,CA
Bakersfield, CA
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Risotto Starter for the Pressure Cooker
February 27, 2012
I had just bought my Cuisinart Pressure Cooker at W&S and came across this Risotto Starter. My daughters love risotto and this came in so handy. The flavor was great and directions were right on the money. We all loved it and have already gone through both bottles of starter. Also I doubt I will ever make risotto the old way over the stove my pressure cooker worked flawlessly and the risotto was so creamy and done in 6 min. plus a few min. prep time. I'm sold on both!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Cost
 
My Recommendations