Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set

This set makes a superb gift as well as an excellent introduction to Riedel's acclaimed Vinum series. Included are six Vinum Zinfandel wineglasses with Riedel's Syrah decanter. Made in Germany of 24% lead-crystal, the versatile Zinfandel glasses are shaped and proportioned for medium-bodied red wines - but can also serve dry, aromatic white wines admirably. The elegant decanter enhances the flavor and bouquet of red wines, young or old. Made of lead-free glass and finished by hand, it has a beautifully rounded bowl and a pouring spout designed to minimize drips. Glasses, dishwasher safe, 13-oz. cap., 8 1/4" high; Syrah Decanter, hand-wash, 49.3-oz. cap., 9 1/2" high. Seven-piece set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
Review 1 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
olenika
Bay Area, CA
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
2of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very breakable
August 30, 2010
Every single glass got broken within a year... This is way too fast!
Review 2 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chubbdawg03
Honolulu, Hi
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glass Heaven
January 7, 2010
I have only used this set a few times, but they have a wonderful bulb and allow the wine to breathe well. High quality item, will buy more.
Review 3 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skip13
Fresno, CA
October 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift Item
October 12, 2009
I purchased the Riedel Vinum 7 Piece Gift Set for my sister as a house warming gift. This set is only available at Williams and Sonoma and is a perfect selection for red wine fans - and all at a great price.
You get the quality of Riedel and cachet of Williams and Sonoma in one gift - you can't go wrong with this selection.
Review 4 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EdwardR
manhattan
July 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wine glasses
July 26, 2009
Good glasses, not too big, not too garish. perfect for all types of wine. At first I thought the decanter was unwarranted, but now I like it a lot. It adds a little bit of elegance to an otherwise typical evening. I even decant my champaign now.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
folkiefoodie
Chicago, IL
Posted June 30, 2011
Don't mess with Champagne!!!
To the poster on whose review I'm commenting: glad you like your Riedel Vinum set. (I don't own it but have Vinum glasses for Montrachet/Chardonnay, Burgundy/Barolo/Pinot Noir, and Cabernet Sauvignon, plus several others by other manufacturers and numerous Champagne flutes). BUT, I nearly did a spit-take on my keyboard when you declared "now I can decant my champaign (sic)"). GOOD GRIEF--DON'T DO THAT!!! Champagne (as opposed to the variant spelling that denotes the home city of the U. of IL) is delicate as all get-out. Don't jostle the bottle (especially if it's vintage and getting up there in age). Don't even swirl it in your glass (a flute, I hope, certainly not those flat little coupes that are better for sherbet). And don't decant it! First of all, it doesn't need it. If there's sediment, pour it very carefully straight into the glass, stopping before the dregs start to migrate to the bottle neck. Otherwise, the reason to decant--i.e., aeration--is utterly unnecessary with bubbly, which by its very nature aerates itself. Don't do anything that would interfere with those lovely little bubbles making their way upward toward the rim. Decant your young reds & whites (I'd use a Vinturi rather than a decanter for the whites) to aerate and soften tannins, decant your older reds and ports to make sure no sediment reaches the glass. The only thing to do with any sparkling wine is to let it do its bubbly thing and ENJOY!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sha45pc
Charlotte, NC
January 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Housewarming/Christmas Gift
January 8, 2009
My son and daughter-in-law just moved into a new house and since this set was on sale, I purchased it and had it shipped directly to them in MA. It was promptly shipped and they received it and seem to really like the set.
Review 6 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nata
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Glasses
January 7, 2009
Received this set as a gift and are now my favorite glasses. I use them everyday, they never get spots, durable (I put them in the dishwasher) just a great glass.
Review 7 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoolHand
Saint Paul, MN
January 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Value and Introduction to Riedel
January 1, 2009
This set is worthy of purchase on value alone. One of the Vinium Zin glasses is worth 28$ and with six in the box plus 50$ decanter; hello. Fetch up a set and enjoy wine in the highly versatile glass. The decanter is simple and all one should ever need...
Review 8 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mathew
Alaska
November 26, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY thin glass
November 26, 2008
My first impression upon unpacking the pieces was how delicately thin the glass was. Seems as if a tiny bump or even squeezing the glass too hard would break it. Hasn't happened yet, but was enough to make me consider returning them. The decanter glass is so thin it has almost a plastic feel to it. I'd prefer more heft....
Review 9 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mo26
Columbia, MO
September 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful glassware
September 5, 2008
The glasses are lovely and feel good in your hand. They are light and graceful. My only problem with them is that they are easily broken unless one follows the instructions for cleaning. We broke the stem on a glass when we held the stem while polishing the bowl. This was specifically cautioned against in the accompanying instructions so should not detract from their purchase.
Review 10 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JimC
Seattle, WA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift Idea
September 4, 2008
We had been thinking about purchasing Riedel wine glasses after using and purchasing several at different wineries.
This box set with a decanter was a perfect starter and great gift idea.
Review 11 for Riedel Vinum 7-Piece Gift Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tiffany
PA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wedding gift
September 4, 2008
I got this set as a wedding gift for one of my best friends. She loves it! Very classy.