This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Retro Cake Tin

From your kitchen counter to picnics, bake sales and holiday parties, your prized cake finds stylish storage in this pie box modeled after vintage English tins. The white powder-coat finish wipes clean in an instant and keeps its satiny appearance for the long run. An airtight seal on the lid prolongs the freshness of baked goods. Hand-pressed metal construction. White semi-gloss powder-coat painted finish is durable, rustproof and easy to wipe clean. Nickel-plated steel handle. Rubber gasket on lid provides airtight storage. Labeled "Cake" in black block letters. 9 3/4" diam., 7 1/4" high (holds a standard 9" cake). Made in India.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Retro Cake Tin
Review 1 for Retro Cake Tin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Homegirl7
,Chicago
,IL
January 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Color Is Closer to Drabware Than White
January 11, 2014
The color is described as white, but is closer to that of drabware. I like it even better than white for this tin. I had to request a replacement as the lid was slightly scratched, but Williams Sonoma was nice and efficient about the process. Cute item. May be more useful for cookies or a smaller cake.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Retro Cake Tin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AJ2909
,Pace
,FL
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+27points
29of 31found this review helpful.
cute tin but small
February 12, 2013
The tin is certainly cute, but I question it's usefulness. Only a small cake will fit, but then how will you lift it out when there's going to be little space to maneuver it? The lid is held on only by a rubber seal which I don't think will hold up for long. I certainly wouldn't trust the seal enough to lift and carry the tin by the handle. I suppose I had unreasonable expectations as I am comparing it to an old tin of my mom's. Note to store - I'll be glad to send you a photo of the large vintage tin of my mom's ---I think you'd make much more sales with a re-design.
Cons: Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
emptynest
Northeast Georgia Mountains
Posted January 9, 2014
Not a carrier
I agree with hopflower. This isn't a carrier, just storage, thus the handle is simply to aid in removing the lid. Also, as a personal chef, I might recommend you put a square of wax paper into the tin that's large enough to drape over the sides, before adding the cake. This can be used to easily lift the cake out of the tin as needed.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
hopflower
Bay Area
Posted October 3, 2013
Not a Carrier
It is not a cake carrier, it is to store cake on the kitchen counter. This helps to keep it fresh for a few days longer.
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Retro Cake Tin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pattonplace
,Tuscaloosa
,AL
December 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Love this cake tin!
December 23, 2012
I bought this cake tin to give with a cake. It is so nice that I might have to get me one. Air tight and just the right size. It will be fun to have this and it makes a great gift with a cake inside!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design