This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Remote Roasting Thermometer

Insert this thermometer's probe into turkey, roasts and other foods, and walk away - wherever you are in the house, the remote unit will alert you when the food reaches optimal cooking temperature and when cooking time has elapsed. Carry the receiver unit with you to monitor roasting meats and poultry from up to 150 feet away. Built-in timer lets you monitor temperature and cooking time in one compact tool. Beeper alerts you when food is ready or cooking time has elapsed. Microprocessor ensures accuracy for consistent results. Easy-to-read LCD screen. Stainless-steel probe. Receiver unit has durable, white plastic housing. Wire is heat resistant up to 410 deg.F.
Average Customer Rating:
2.273 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
8 of 22(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Remote Roasting Thermometer
Review 1 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MK08
,Manitowoc
,WI
Detroit area
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Thermometer!
July 8, 2012
We purchased this remote thermometer last December. While it is a little finicky to get it started once it starts it is totally awesome! We use it grilling outdoors and in our oven. We love it!
Pros: Accuracy, remote use
Review 2 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hwboo
,Austin
,Tx
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Worst william Sonoma product!!!!
March 20, 2012
I bought this thermometer to replace my old ws thermometer that I loved!!! It does not work at all! The base never synchs well (have to plug it in repeatedly to get it to synch).....I could live with that if it was accurate!!!! It is not even close!!! Saying the food is done and it is almost raw!!!! Wish WS would go back to the old product....used it all the time (3/wk) for 3 yes and it was never wrong!!!!!!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate
Review 3 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meows
,Davis
,ca
December 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worked Great
December 14, 2011
We have used the remote roasting thermometer a few times and it has worked well each time. I find it a little complicated to set but my husband has no problem. Hearing it 'speak' is amusing and it is quite the conversation piece. +++ Works great!
Review 4 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JuanitaLou
,Washington
,DC
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
This is a great cooking tool
November 27, 2011
Unlike most of the reviews here, my thermometer works brilliantly and has for over a year. It has yet to fail me with roasts or grilled items. I just grilled a turkey for Thanksgiving and subjected it to 2 1/2 hours on a hot grill without any damage or incorrect reads. The turkey was perfectly done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Becca1229
November 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great once you figure it out
November 22, 2011
The wire on our first thermometer split so I exchanged it for this one - the newer model. At first I thought this was a piece of garbage and found it very frustrating, however, once I figured out how to use it it works great. I have no complaints other than it could be a little more user friendly.
Review 6 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TMGC
,San Diego
,ca
October 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very disappointing
October 6, 2011
I got this as a Christmas gift last year after I broke my old wireless Williams-Sonoma Thermometer that I loved. The temperature reading is never right...not even close! The probe says done but the meat is still raw. I don't even bother to use it anymore.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store, Inaccurate
Review 7 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BillZ
,Acworth
,GA
September 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Durability is terrible
September 29, 2011
We used this product once at thanksgiving of 2010. Pulled it out this week and the receiver is dead. Changed the batteries and it's still dead.
Cons: Quality
Review 8 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hoadabee
August 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
thoroughly bad thermo
August 29, 2011
Well, after the 5th time with this thing, I checked the reviews... maybe the people who are happy with it aren't bothering to write a review... but I'm chucking this thing. The directions are TERRIBLE, and this last time the temp indicator (I was grilling pork tenderloin) went from 480 to 240 to 130 (the proper temp I think) and then kept hopping all over. Thankfully this was a Christmas gift... I'm going out to look for a thermometer that WORKS.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 9 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PeterG
Baltimore
April 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
annoying voices, hard to use
April 23, 2011
This product is a great example of ruining a basic kitchen tool with excessive computer-assisted features. It's hard to turn on, hard to set up, and nags the cook with an annoying voice. And to top it off, the remote probe cable broke after 3 uses.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Fragile, annoying voice
Review 10 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
moctavio
weston FL
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
It last for one turkey
April 8, 2011
I used this thermometer for thanksgiving and it was great however las week I tryed to used and it doesn't work ,it's dead and it is not the batteries
A waste of money.....
Review 11 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BillNolensville
Nashville, TN
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
The dreaded "HHH"
March 10, 2011
This is my second one, too. I thought I learned my lesson from the first one - be extra careful with the probe. But I have received the dreaded HHH sign again. Don't get me wrong, this is an incredible product for the first 3 uses. Which is why I went back and purchased another one. But I can't justify $50 for 3 uses anymore. It would be nice if replacement probes were available, if they are going to fry after a handful of uses.
Review 12 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaurieinDanville
Danville,CA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Loved it. but can't turn it off!!
February 21, 2011
I got this as a Christmas Present and used it that day to cook a Prime Rib. Just loved it and it's talking voice. I would not use it other than in an oven, ie a BBQ'er. However, the only way I can stop it is to take the batteries out. My start/stop only works to start it and not to stop it. I took it back to my local store and they told me that " Oh, it's a Williams Sonoma product and it is not very good and we are not getting any more in to replace it, so you can get another product that may work better". I took it back home with me because I just love that I can be in another room and it tells me that "my meat is almost done". I have never had a problem with it other than.....i can't get it to STOP!!!
Review 13 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChezNathalie
February 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Terrible Product
February 15, 2011
This is my second WS thermometer and will absolutely be my last. Both failed to register correct probe temp after just a few uses. Instruction booklet only advises that probe is no longer functioning properly and product must be replaced.
Review 14 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GIBrian
Saratoga, CA
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointing product
January 23, 2011
I received this thermometer as a Christmas present. It worked then (room temperature), but when I tried to use it today the receiver wouldn't detect the transmitter and the transmitter was indicating HHH (damaged probe). As mentioned in other reviews, replacement probes are not available.
Review 15 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
livewell
Everett, Washington
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Romote Thermometer
January 7, 2011
I was so excited to get this as a Christmas gift this year. I used it the very next day when I cooked my Prime Rib, which turned out perfect. I did have to read the directions to totally understand how to use my new favorite kitchen toy. Once you get it programed, it's very simple to use. Love, love, love it!!!
Review 16 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bethc
Atlanta, GA
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
The BEST gift for grill chef!
January 4, 2011
We cook a LOT outside on the grill and in the smoker, and this remote thermometer has been a time saver/de-stresser! Now I am not constantly running from the kitched to the patio to check the temp of whatever it is I am cooking/smoking. It works like a charm. I will use this whenever roasting/cooking in the oven indoors, too.
Review 17 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BradInSeattle
Seattle
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Probe can't be replaced when it fails.
January 2, 2011
Great idea, poor execution. The wire probe will fail at as little as 410 degrees, which is easy to exceed in an outdoor grill - the main use for a remote read device.
You will probably discover this only when it fails in the middle of cooking and you read the fine print in the manual trying to discover what went wrong. It is not disclosed on the box.
Though I understand this to be a common problem in all thermometers of this type, Williams-Sonoma doesn't sell the probe individually so you have to replace the entire $50 unit when a failure-prone $10 part goes bad.
Buy a different brand for which replacement probes are available.
Review 18 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guppies
Orlando, FL
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Piece of Garbage
December 24, 2010
Probe & remote do not communicate. New batteries (3 times); turned probe on first; reversed and turned remote on first; very expensive timer. Best use is throwing against wall out of frustration
Review 19 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rkdps
bayside ny
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Maybe it works
December 18, 2010
cant tell much about this product since it came with dead batteries
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Petec
New Jersey
Posted April 1, 2011
Dead batteries
It is hard to understand this comment since the batteries with this unit are not packed in the unit but kept separately unit installed in the unit. Were they installed properly?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hcolley
Houston, TX
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Turkey
December 7, 2010
I used this for Thanksgiving and it made sure the turkey was perfectly cooked! My husband doesn't usually like turley and I couldn't keep him out of it.
page1 2 next