Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Remote Roasting Thermometer

Insert this thermometer's probe into turkey, roasts and other foods, and walk away - wherever you are in the house, the remote unit will alert you when the food reaches optimal cooking temperature and when cooking time has elapsed. Carry the receiver unit with you to monitor roasting meats and poultry from up to 150 feet away. Built-in timer lets you monitor temperature and cooking time in one compact tool. Beeper alerts you when food is ready or cooking time has elapsed. Microprocessor ensures accuracy for consistent results. Easy-to-read LCD screen. Stainless-steel probe. Receiver unit has durable, white plastic housing. Wire is heat resistant up to 410 deg.F.
Average Customer Rating:
2.118 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
4 of 17(24%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Remote Roasting Thermometer
Review 1 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Deerfield
,IL
November 25, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unreliable
November 25, 2016
I bought this thermometer about two years ago and it seems to have reached the end of its useful life. The transmission is inconsistent. It also freezes on a regular basis, making it difficult or impossible to scroll to the particular product (e.g., meat, turkey) I need.
Pros: Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 2 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Oklahoma City
,OK
July 24, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Probe wire damaged easily
July 24, 2016
I love this thermometer. Enough so that after the 1st & 2nd thermometers broke I still went back for a 3rd. It is very convenient- you can be in the other room & the unit alerts you that your food is almost ready. However, after only a handful of uses the 1st unit started displaying an HHH error message. I brought it back to WS and, true to their great customer service, they replaced it with a 2nd unit. Unfortunately, this unit also started displaying HHH after only a handful of uses. Again, WS replaced it only to have the 3rd unit display the same error after a short period of use. We were careful not to submerge the wire in water or expose it to flames. After the 3rd issue our WS associate warned us that we were not their only customer with this issue and suggested another thermometer.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Fragile, Quality, Temperamental
Review 3 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
June 1, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Seems to Work OK
June 1, 2016
I got one of these awhile ago and just used it for the first time a couple of days ago. I didn't have any issues with transmission range, but it did occasionally beep and go blank for no apparent reason which was fixed by pressing one of the buttons on the remote unit. I also had not retained the instructions, and had difficulty figuring out how to sync it (the syncing directions on the WS website were not correct). I found a manual online and finally got it figured out. The model number to search for a manual is et903ws. Not recommending only because I think there are now better models on the market in this price range.
Review 4 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Raleigh
,NC
January 16, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Thermometer!
January 16, 2016
I received as a Christmas gift in 2012 and I don't know what I would do with my Turkey or Prime Rib Roast without it. I go all over the house and yard and have never had any issues with it. Temp reading is perfect and I love that it yells at me before the set temp has been reached as a warning we are getting close.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design, Size, Accuracy
Review 5 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 11, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Never Cook A Roast Without It
January 11, 2016
I'm really surprised by all the negative reviews for this remote digital thermometer. I purchased this back in the late fall of 2012 after ordering an expensive prime rib roast for our holiday dinner. I didn't want to risk overcooking the prime rib and this thermometer worked like a charm. I was able to cook the roast to a perfect medium rare and eliminated all the guesswork. I've been using this thermometer ever since. What made me choose this particular model was the fact that the thermometer has both presets for different meat types and manual temperature settings so you can dial in the perfect doneness to suite your own taste. As far as syncing the remote unit to the main receiving unit goes, all you have to remember is that the main unit needs to be on before you plug the temperature probe into the remote unit. Plugging in the temperature probe turns on the remote unit and the main unit needs to already be on for the pair to sync. It's that simple!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Accuracy
Review 6 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Rancho Mirage
,CA
December 25, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Throw it in the garbage
December 25, 2015
This looked like such a good idea - I could monitor my Christmas roast while enjoying my company in the living room. Not a chance. It's reluctant to sync, and loses sync within minutes -even when the remote is sitting on the base.
I can't say anything about accuracy - because I don't dare trust a 10 lb. standing rib roast to this piece of junk.
I'm taking it back in the morning.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 7 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Wyckoff
,NJ
November 19, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Disappointing
November 19, 2015
I have had the original Williams Sonoma thermometer which came in a green box and it worked amazing until the probe wire started fraying. I was able to exchange it for this thermometer which never got the temperature right once. I am so disappointed because I loved the original version of this. Do not buy it's a huge waste of money....
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 8 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
May 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great... until it stops working
May 11, 2015
We are on our third version of this thermometer in a year. WS replaced the first thermometer after it stopped working months after we received it. They replaced the second thermometer this week after it stopped working while cooking mother's day brunch for 15. While we appreciate the fact that WS offered to replace the broken thermometers we will be purchasing another higher rated thermometer brand. We use the thermometer a couple times a month.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 9 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
May 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor remote thermometer
May 9, 2015
I had the same non-connectivity issues as some others and returned this thermometer after using it just once. My old WS remote thermometer was much better, but just died after probably about 10 years of use. My local WS offered a replacement, but I didn't want another bad product.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 10 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Vancouver
,BC
April 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this thermometer!!!
April 20, 2015
I don't understand the bad reviews of this item, glad I didn't see them before I purchased it because I wouldn't have...and missed out on an excellent, easy to use, accurate tool. It's works perfectly and even tells me VERBALLY "your food is almost ready" - in advance, just enough time to get into the kitchen to take out my prime rib roast, turkey, whatever. I recommend it to everyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, easy to read & hear
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kellypp
Posted June 7, 2015
Joining the disappointed cooks
Loved this thermometer while it worked, it crashed half way through roasting on an evening I was expecting company. I returned it and will look for another.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Tampa
,FL
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Worst!
February 2, 2015
After my All Clad thermometer died after 8 years of heavy use, I went to WS to purchase another. My store only had the WS brand so I bought it. It is the worst thermometer. From day one, it didn't work. I can never get the two pieces to sync and it almost never allows me to change the type of meat. I even think the probe itself is inaccurate as my food does not turn out well! Save your money and do not buy!
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 12 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Alto
,MI
January 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finicky and annoying
January 15, 2015
I just purchased this thermometer to replace an older WS model I had previously (that had the cord break and was not replaceable). The remote connection is constantly losing the signal and beeping incessantly while it searches, even while it's sitting on the base. It will also tell me that my food is done at some ridiculous temperature 200°+ when I am simply monitoring bread rising temps with the oven turned off. I find it obnoxious.
Cons: Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 13 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Orlando
,FL
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult to use
December 31, 2014
I received this product on Christmas of 2011. My first use was spring of 2012. It was dead On 2014 Christmas Eve.
This product was very confused to work with since day one. It can not read temperature anymore right before I cook my 2014 Christmas meal. It keep saying " your meal is ready" right after I plugged befor it start cooking. The temperature screen shows "HHH"...For the sack of I have used for 2 years I give it 2 stars instead of 1 star.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Review 14 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Auburn
,AL
December 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Failed the first time
December 3, 2014
Received it as a gift from last Christmas. Used this past Thanksgiving out of the box. Worked on it for an hour but would not work.
Review 15 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Los Gatos
,CA
November 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Low Quality
November 2, 2014
Exceptionally difficult to have the two units sync (over Bluetooth). Our unit died in less than one year and we probably used it no more then twelve times.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 16 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Manitowoc
,WI
Detroit area
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Thermometer!
July 8, 2012
We purchased this remote thermometer last December. While it is a little finicky to get it started once it starts it is totally awesome! We use it grilling outdoors and in our oven. We love it!
Pros: Accuracy, remote use
Review 17 for Remote Roasting Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Austin
,Tx
March 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst william Sonoma product!!!!
March 20, 2012
I bought this thermometer to replace my old ws thermometer that I loved!!! It does not work at all! The base never synchs well (have to plug it in repeatedly to get it to synch).....I could live with that if it was accurate!!!! It is not even close!!! Saying the food is done and it is almost raw!!!! Wish WS would go back to the old product....used it all the time (3/wk) for 3 yes and it was never wrong!!!!!!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inaccurate