Yam French Fries

Once your family samples these crisp, sweet yam fries dusted with nutty, aromatic cumin, they will request them often. No matter how many you cook, don't count on leftovers. You can bake the yams at any temperature required for a roast; the cooking time will be longer at lower temperatures.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Yam French Fries
Review 1 for Yam French Fries
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dolls
Toronto, Canada
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Fries with Your Burger
July 21, 2010
I tried to make this recipe in 3 batches, lowering the heat each time. Each batch still came out half burnt half soggy. Perhaps im inexperienced with working with sweet potatoes. I'm not sure I will be trying this again.
Review 2 for Yam French Fries
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yams are Yummy!
June 20, 2010
You will love these.
A few notes though:
Here in CA, the yams we get are fairly hard, quite sweet, and the inside is pale yellow, or a couple of shades of red/orange/purple. Some people say that what passes as a yam in grocery stores these days is not really a yam.
Maybe that explains why they will not get crispy, and also take up to 40 min in the oven to cook. Test after the first 20 min in the oven. If you let them cool down they will firm up somewhat, but not like french fries.
Also, don't be afraid to add much more cumin than what the recipe specifies - even five times more. It is very forgiving. You can just start with what the recipe specifies, and after you take them out, you can hit them with as much cumin as you like.
Finally, invest in a good sharp knife with a handle that fits nicely in your hand. Yams are hard to cut, and in my mind they are one of the key foods to test your knife on.
Review 3 for Yam French Fries
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
greencooking
San Francisco, CA
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good recipe, but....
May 23, 2010
They taste great, no doubt, but unfortunately mine never get crispy on the outside....
Review 4 for Yam French Fries
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
scratchcook
Wichita Kansas
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A sweet potato by any other name
April 30, 2010
I know yams and sweet potatoes are not the same thing..however, you are at the mercy of whatever grocery you shop. I doubt if many in the U.S. has ever purchased a real yam.
So, use what you can find and make these for your family. It is easier to put the oil into a zip top bag, toss the cut 'yams' into it as you work, give the whole thing a good toss, divide onto the two baking sheets and proceed as directed. Also good with salt and vinegar, and salt and lime. Good cold. Just good.
Review 5 for Yam French Fries
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ConnieM
Portland, OR and Peoria, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Healthy, Colorful Fries
April 30, 2010
Even people who think they don't like cumin loves these oven fries. They are easy to bake alongside whatever else is in the oven. The unexpected blend of cumin with the sweetness of the yams is superb. I used olive oil for added health benefits. There are never any leftovers!