Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta

After a soak in a seasoned brining solution, these short ribs are slowly braised in a flavorful liquid that includes red wine, beef stock, tomatoes and rosemary. The lemony pasta provides a refreshing contrast to the rich meat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
Review 1 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maadimom
,Austin
,TX
Austin, Texas
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous for Entertaining!
December 30, 2012
I made this for family during Thanksgiving holidays. It was a huge success. The lemon pasta was amazing. There was so much sauce left over, that I used it a couple of days later as the base for a lovely stew. Definitely one for the books.
Review 2 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purl
,Dayton
,OH
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One change.....
November 15, 2012
Good recipe with one change: to remove fat I always slow cook and then refrigerate overnight. That way the fat is easy to remove before continuing with the rest of the recipe. Just re-heat the short ribs in the sauce over low heat before serving with the pasta.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
golfgal62
,Chicago
,IL
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Flavor
November 27, 2011
I followed this recipe precisely with one exception: I used Williams Sonoma Dry Brine Blend instead of the turkey brine blend. It was simpler but still did the trick. The meat was extremely flavorful. I struggled to get the fat off of the sauce that I removed from the crockpot. The meal was amazing but the leftovers were a little oily. If you can remove a little fat from the sauce, it would be better.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ashlinh
Elk Grove, CA
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty but it can use some more seasoning...
April 7, 2011
I made the recipe w/o the brining part. The short ribs were tender and lemony pasta complimented the rich ribs very well. However, I think it can use some extra seasoning - perhaps a little pinch of sweetness & a pinch of salt? Will try this recipe again w/ the minor adjustments.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mich2brd
Posted November 15, 2012
You mentioned that you skipped the brining and that the meat needs more seasoning. Brining the meat will absolutely infuse the meat with the flavor and salt you were missing. Try it again as written and I'm positive you won't find anything lacking the second time around.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iHeartCooking
Sudbury, MA
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dinner Guests LOVED this!!!!!
February 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to a 'T' and I cannot begin to tell you how absolutely fabulous it was! Our guests were licking their plates clean. Worth every bit of effort--the sauce was so flavorful and the meat so tender. I was tempted to make mashed potatoes too, but I would encourage all to try the lemon pasta--it was the perfect compliment. Truly, fine restaurant quality. A winner!!!!!
Review 6 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marislm
Philly burbs
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best beef short ribs recipe EVER
January 30, 2011
I have been making this for years and will never try another version! In a pinch I have even skipped the brining and boiling down the wine and it is still fabulous! The meat is tender and flakes apart every time. Among the herbs, tomato and wine there is a flavor explosion in every bite! The lemon pasta is the perfect compliment.
Review 7 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christal
Memphis, TN
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For Guests or Not
January 23, 2011
This recipe is fabulous. The meat was so tender the bones fell out and I found them at the bottom of the slow cooker. It's a lot of wine but well worth it for the sauce which went well with the lemon pasta. Can't wait to serve it to guests!
Review 8 for Wine-Braised Short Ribs with Lemon Pasta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
takinitslo
Loveland, CO
December 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of those special meals
December 20, 2010
This is a dynamite make-ahead recipe. You put this out and it seems like you've performed a miracle. Some prep ahead but all doable. We didn't make the lemon pasta. We served with rough-mash potatoes and a little gravy off the slow cooker. Just dynamite!!