Vegetarian Black Bean Chili

Dried beans are a favorite pantry staple in winter, and nearly any variety will work well in this recipe; some good alternatives to black beans include navy beans, cannellini beans or red beans. If you like, garnish with sour cream and chopped fresh cilantro.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
Review 1 for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MikeBE
Pittsburgh, Pa.
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too acidic?
February 5, 2012
I add about a tablespoon of raw sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. And I also like to use canned black beans.
This is a really nice dish, which goes well over a small amount of brown rice.
Review 2 for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ZBjorn
,San Francisco
,CA
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Favorite...
January 24, 2012
I've always used canned instead of dried beans for this, which entirely avoids the cooking issues that the other reviewers describe and saves a lot of time by not having to soak the beans. (I simmer for about 2.5 hours still.)
This is a favorite of mine and every person I've made it for, including a few Texans. The 6 T of chili powder hasn't struck me as too much. Most recipes I've seen and used that involve chili powder (e.g. enchilada sauce) use a lot of chili powder. It's not a particularly hot spice, just adds a lot of dynamic flavor.
2/5 on the spice scale.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Likes2Eat
Europe
May 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could end up a disaster.
May 17, 2011
I hope dinner isn't ruined. I didn't read the other reviews before starting this, but it has me worried. Also, I did not follow the instructions and add 6T of chili powder. That's crazy. Hopefully my beans will cook thoroughly since I soaked them for longer than this recipe instructs. If not, I will have wasted a lot of time and ingredients, and I guess we'll be having a frozen pizza. How sad. Maybe someone should thoroughly test these recipes beforehand. :(
Pros: Healthy
Review 4 for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Morristown NJ
October 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hope to use this in something else
October 23, 2010
This chili was too acidic, had way too much chili powder and lacked depth of flavor. By the way, the previous comment about not cooking dried beans with tomatoes is correct so the directions should be modified for that. Now I am trying to decide whether to throw it out or freeze it in batches and use it in other chilis or soups as the beans base.
Review 5 for Vegetarian Black Bean Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KCKC
Salt Lake City, UT
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this is great if you cook the beans seperately
June 21, 2010
This is my favorite chili recipe, except it really doesn't work very well if you follow these cooking instructions. I had never been able to get the beans to cook through all the way with these instructions, I heard later that tomato slows down the cooking process for dried beans. I have had success just soaking beans overnight, cooking them beforehand and then adding them into the recipe. I then don't really need to cook my chili 2-3 hours as suggested either.