Vanilla Sandcastle Cake

To decorate the cake, place 3 hulled strawberries in the center, then fill the center with alternating layers of pastry cream and sliced strawberries. Pipe whipped cream on top of each turret and top with a strawberry. Or, scoop ice cream onto a parchment-lined baking sheet and freeze for 1 to 4 hours, then place the ice cream in the center of the cake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
Review 1 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andiep1
,Neptune Beach
,FL
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beach Wedding Perfection
June 30, 2013
Lucky enough to find this pan in plenty of time to practice before the wedding. Made for bridesmaids luncheon (fresh berries), family dinner dessert (classic with blood orange glaze and whipped cream) and even had one at the reception. Changed the glaze for a variety of flavors. For the reception made little flags with our initials for each turret. Big hit, fun and delicious. Bakers Secret kept from sticking and made clean up a breeze. Raw sugar on the cake plate looks like beach sand too!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Karen315
,New York
,NY
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cake is impossible to release from pan
November 23, 2011
Okay-- I have just given up. The recipe is fine. BUT I HAVE NEVER EVER GOTTEN THE PAN TO RELEASE THE CAKE. Maybe I just lack skills-- But I can't get the cake out of the pan. I have attempted to make this cake 4 times. ONLY ONCE have I been able to get the cake out of the pan. Perhaps the pan is best used as a jello mold. It doesn't work for cake. It is a pity.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Appearance
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
spfzero2013
SW FLORIDA
Posted April 15, 2013
Sandcastle Cake/Pan -can't release?
I was retrieving the receipe as I make it every year around spring time for fun and I saw this post and was compelled to reply/comment. The first thing that came to mind is did you properly grease the pan? I'm hardly domestic but I think this is the most high quality and fantastic pan. You really have to grease the inside of the pan AND FLOUR IT. What I did was take a pastry brush and brush into each and every crevice inside the pan and then turn it upside down so any extra would run out then gently add flour inside and tap the pan while moving around the flour and making sure every part of the inside of the pan is prepared. Then and only then add the batter. I have never had an issue with the mold not lifting ever.
0points
Customer avatar
amy11
Rochester, NY
Posted July 14, 2012
Here's an idea
This pan is tough, but with any pan with this many nooks and crannies I usually brush the pan with a small amount of crisco. This usually does the trick! Good luck.
0points
Customer avatar
Nicnic
Posted April 7, 2012
Try using Pam for baking (with flour). I use it very generously, making sure to get all the little nooks and crannies...comes out everytime beautifully
0points
Customer avatar
auntiemaryann
manhattan beach, CA
Posted January 31, 2012
Karen, use PAM for Baking. It will save your cake and your sanity/sweet disposition. best regards, m.a.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SandcastleFan
Mountain View
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Summer Cake!
July 30, 2011
Thank you, thank you for having this recipe online! I moved and lost my copy that came with the mold. This cake has always been a hit every time I make it. If adding ice cream in the middle, know that even the frozen balls melt quite quickly. I love it plain for it is delicious just as it is. And remember, you are never too old to build sandcastles!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Royalwe1
Philadelphia, PA
Posted June 8, 2012
Use butter to coat pan
I was in the store one day and talking to a sales person about this cake pan. She told me to use a silicone basting brush and to brush the whole inside of the pan with melted butter. Then put the pan in the fridge for a few minutes for the butter to get cold and adhere to the sides of the pan. I have not had any issues with the cake sticking to the pan since I have used this method.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RayDarMom
New Jersey
July 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive Cake for the 4th with Little Effort
July 3, 2011
As has been my past experience, the recipe that comes with the a bundt cake pan is the one that works the best with it. I have made this cake in this pan numerous times with great results. I have substituted all purpose flour for the cake flour with no discernible difference. The last time, however I made an fortunate accident setting my oven temp to 300F thinking I had the oven on convection bake .Although I had to extend the bake time about 10 minutes the results were the best ever-no dome, the pan was completely filled, cake came out nice and easy (I recommend using one of the vegetable oil sprays with flour). To finish,I filled the well with blueberries and sliced strawberries and a plastic sand shovel,,,put a layer of brown sugar "sand" around the base and added chocolate seashell candies and a pair on tiny flip flop erasers.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 5 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leslemarie
Paola Kansas
July 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for the Fourth of July
July 2, 2010
My sister gave the pan to me as a gift. Baked perfectly. I made it for my grandson and all the kids who will be here for the 4th and put little American flags on the turrets. I love the glaze recipe...I piled vanilla frosting around the bottom of the cake (from a can) and covered with crushed graham crackers as sand like little hills on the cake plate. Easy.
Review 6 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClaudiaAwesome
Swansea, MA
June 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sandcastle Summertime Cake
June 17, 2010
I made this cake for my DAd's 80th birthday party. It was delicious! Everyone raved about it. Not anything at all like the bakery store bought or box cakes always being served. I will make it again and again. It was a bigh hit !
Review 7 for Vanilla Sandcastle Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Louisville,KY
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to do and looked great!!
May 23, 2010
I made this cake for my sisters birthday and it turned out just like the picture. I ordered the pan and was a little apprehensive due to the all the detail on the pan. I was afraid the cake would be a sticky mess. However, I baked the cake and let it cool for 15 minutes and it popped out the pan with no problem at all. I was delighted. I would highly recommend this recipe and the pan. The cake tastes like a vanila pound cake. My sister and guests loved it!!!