Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla cupcakes are the perfect base for myriad fillings and frostings. For the richest, fullest flavor and fragrance, use pure vanilla extract. Or, better yet, if you are willing to splurge, add the seeds from a vanilla bean to the batter along with the extract.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vanilla Cupcakes
Review 1 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daizy7155
,Portland,
,Or
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Cupcakes
December 11, 2013
I bake, often, and have used several scratch vanilla cupcake recipes and none of them made me very happy. I grabbed this one on a whim whipping up a quick batch for my nieces friends party - I doubled the vanilla and did a cream cheese frosting - they were outstanding, so I made regular size filled with chocolate ganache and mini regular ones for a baby shower I just did for my bff. They were outstanding. 20 women, two batches of large and one batch of mini's and they were all gone. So happy I picked this recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsDello
,CA
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!!! (just slightly tweaked...)
November 26, 2013
I've been looking for a simple but delish vanilla cupcake especially since I'm not a good baker. Thankfully I found this one. I did tweak it a little after reading the comments. I used 3/4 cup of whole milk and 2 teaspoons of real vanilla extract. It didn't say what size eggs and I only had XL. Enough batter for 12 perfect ice cream scoop cupcakes. The real test was my Mr. He said it tasted just like a Nilla Wafer but in cake form. Success!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ummzaid
,ABSECON
,NJ
June 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing VANILLA CUPCAKES
June 5, 2013
So DELISH!! MY FAVORITE CUPCAKE RECIPE. SO LIGHT AND FLUFFY, THIS IS A CUPCAKE THAT CAN BE VERY VERSATILE .THANK YOU
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Vanilla Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MABB
,Fanwood
,NJ
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick , Easy and Yummy
June 29, 2012
At 12:00 am when the 2nd batch of cupcakes failed ( using an internet and then a cookbook recipe) I turned to this recipe. It sounded quick and easy. The cupcakes were for a wedding shower so I didn't get to taste them until later that day ( I needed everylast one). They are light and delicious and perfect with the quick and easy buttercrean frosting.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
galleta
February 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect small-batch cupcake
February 24, 2012
I first made these for a birthday party and have made them several times since. Every time, they have come out tender and flavorful. The recipe only makes a dozen, which is great if you are offering two flavors of cupcakes at a party.
Review 6 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stlbaker
June 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good flavor, but dry
June 8, 2011
I decided to use cake flour after reading other reviews. I still found the cupcakes to be slightly dry. They did have good vanilla flavor and nice texture. I think I will be looking elsewhere for my "perfect" cupcake recipe!
Review 7 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4littlecupcakes
hingham MA
April 30, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best iv ever eaten
April 30, 2011
omg when you make this cupcake it perfect i make 12 cupcakes a day and this is the best of all
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, amazing
Cons: not enough
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natnat
Milford,CT
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Cupcake!
February 20, 2011
This cupcake has a moist and smooth texture with a creamy light and fluffy frosting. I tried addung sprinkles for a party and it was fantastic! You just have to try these cupcakes!!!
Review 9 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jamie4
michigan
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
deliciousness
February 10, 2011
i was looking for a great vanilla cupcake recipe to add to my recipe binder: this is the absolute best. i think i'll stop here. it's simply perfection.
Review 10 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RoseaAreRed
Locust Grove, Virginia
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe needs "tweeking"
October 5, 2010
I agree with a few of the previous reviews. This recipe ends up being a bit dry if you follow the directions exactly. I used the cake flour instead of all-purpose flour. There was one difference. I used the vanilla, and I used vanilla bean. I think that made a world of difference in the flavor. I think the next time I make them, I will use a lower temp and cook for a few minutes less. I have a few other ideas, but I think I will try them before I post it.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Cupcakebaker1234567890
Posted May 17, 2011
Should I try it???????
I have been searching for a good vanilla cupcake and this one seems to be the best.......should I try it?????
0points
Customer avatar
4littlecupcakes
hingham MA
Posted April 30, 2011
you just take it early
your probley doing it wrong you take it out on 18 minute mark and wrap it up right awayin plactic wrap
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AmaK
Monroe Twp, NJ
September 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs Improvement
September 22, 2010
This recipe is great for it simplicity and precise measurements. You get twelve even cupcakes with no excess or residual batter, which I really appreciate. However, the flavor is too muted and the crumb leaves something to be desired. I suspect the all-purpose flour to be the culprit since the first time I tried this recipe, I used cake flour and it was much better. I would also suggest cutting about two minutes from the bake time or lowering the temperature to 325.
Review 12 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motokelly
Munising, MI
August 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Cupcakes
August 29, 2010
This recipe makes wonderfully sweet, spongy cupcakes. I disagree with what some people say about them being "tough", or "dry". I didn't have either of those problems.
I also used the buttercream frosting recipe that was suggested. These cupcakes were created for a special birthday, so I split the frosting up into about five parts and added a touch of color to each one. Then, I swirled the pastel-colored frostings on each cupcake with a knife. The result was a beautiful, fun, tie-dye appearance.
Review 13 for Vanilla Cupcakes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
amandainflorida
Coral Gables, FL
July 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tough cupcakes
July 26, 2010
I made these cupcakes tonight and I didn't like the way they came out. I was a little concerned that the recipe called for all purpose flour, instead of cake flour. The cupcakes came out tough and chewy instead of soft with a nice crumb. Next time I'll use a recipe that calls for cake flour - the overload of gluten killed these.
Review 14 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
prettyplease
Denver, CO
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent vanilla cake
July 19, 2010
This is a great vanilla cake recipe. I have made cupcakes as well as a sheet cake with this recipe. The texture is light and moist; the taste is like sugar cookies. Great topped with vanilla or cream cheese buttercream.
Review 15 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bakingdaily100
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grab a Glass of Milk
July 19, 2010
I tried this recipe today and loved that it was very quick. The recipe makes exactly a dozen cupcakes and the batter tastes amazing. I was so excited for the final result because everything was going perfectly, however the cupcakes were very dry. Maybe adding a pack of pudding or something will help moisten them up but I probably won't be using this recipe again. I would recommend a glass of milk with these cupcakes, because they will make your mouth dry!
Review 16 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bm23
Boston, MA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Not too Sweet
April 30, 2010
This is a quick, simply cupcake recipe, that I usually double and end up with tons of extra cupcakes. They come out quite light and are not overly sweet. At a recent child's party, I used this recipe to make a cake to accompany some cupcakes (as a time-saver). One recipe filled one 9" square baking pan, and I had no trouble cutting the cake in half horizontally to create two layers. Wasn't as high as a traditional two-tier cake, but looked and tasted delicious!