Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla cupcakes are the perfect base for myriad fillings and frostings. For the richest, fullest flavor and fragrance, use pure vanilla extract. Or, better yet, if you are willing to splurge, add the seeds from a vanilla bean to the batter along with the extract.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vanilla Cupcakes
Review 1 for Vanilla Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
June 24, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
June 24, 2016
My family loves these cupcakes. They are moist and full of flavor. I use vanilla almond milk in place of the milk because of a dairy allergy my daughter has, I think this makes for a better vanilla flavor.
Pros: Easy
Review 2 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 11, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and really awesome cupcakes
June 11, 2016
This recipe is amazing. When I made them the first time the butter was weird but adding the flour mixture and milk really helped and they turned out great. They were the tiniest bit dry though. My second batch is in the oven right now. I think they will turn out great. They are fast and easy.
Pros: Easy, Quick, Impressive, Kid-Friendly, Good Value, Will Make Again, Appearance
Review 3 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
June 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for kids party!!
June 6, 2016
I made this cupcakes for my son bday and his third grade class and bday party at home it was a hit not leftovers!! actually his teacher was asking for more...I also made the frosting recipe as well... a great success....
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, Appearance
Review 4 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,East Meadow
,NY
March 28, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little too sweet
March 28, 2016
I'm Asian, so maybe the sweetness of this recipe wasn't for me. I like it to be sweet like French style, which is not as much as sweet as American style. So maybe next time I would just add 1/2 cup of sugar instead 3/4 cup. I uses organic unbleached flour and organic unsalted butter as my healthy choice. Overall, the cupcakes came out moist and the texture was good, I like it even though I'm totally new to baking cakes.
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
March 12, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
use my recipe adaptions!!!
March 12, 2016
not sure why I decided to go all rogue on this recipe but I used 3 egg whites in place of the 1 whole, 1 white and half & half in place of the milk.
I also decided to use the 6 tbsp it calls for, then after i added my egg whites, i melted 2 tbsp of butter and slowly incorporated that.
AMAZING. you don't even need frosting!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 6 for Vanilla Cupcakes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Gardner
,KS
March 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bit bland and they stuck
March 1, 2016
I didn't have paper cups but I've made a ton of cupcakes just spaying the tins. However, I dont know what it was about the recipe, but they totally stuck at the bottom and they were ruined...or more like we had muffin tops. The flavor was a bit bland also. They were good but not like others I've made. They are so fluffy though so perhaps more vanilla or using a full cup of sugar. Dunno. I was disappointed though. Bummer!
Pros: Easy, Yield, Appearance
Cons: Taste, stuck
Review 7 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
December 4, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST VANILLA CUPCAKES EVER
December 4, 2015
The cupcakes were amazing. Since I daughter can not have milk, I substituted it with orange juice instead. Needless to say, they were supposed to be my cupcakes but they became a family favorite! If you want a good cupcake, try this recipe.
Pros: Easy, Quick, Kid-Friendly, Appearance
Review 8 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,South Fallsburg
,NY
September 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazingly Perfect Cupcakes
September 23, 2015
The best recipe for vanilla cupcakes I've ever tried. A major crowd pleaser. When my family and bit into them we were transported to Magnolia Bakery in NYC with these exact replicas. The perfect moist vanilla cake recipe. And if you like super-sweet buttercream frosting, this is the best one out there.
Pros: Easy, Quick, Impressive, Kid-Friendly, Good Value, Will Make Again, Appearance
Review 9 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 29, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and Fluffy
July 29, 2015
I have made these cupcakes dozens of times and they have always come out great! I have made this recipe as is and I have used it as a base for multiple flavors. They came out even better with green tea, lemon and orange flavors. I tend to add a little extra vanilla if I make them straight up because I like them very flavorful.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, Adaptable
Review 10 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
May 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vanilla Cupcake
May 14, 2015
I tried these last night and they turned out very dry. I will try again and add a little more milk with less cooking time.
Pros: Easy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
snowbunny1977
Gardner,KS
Posted March 1, 2016
You might have baked too long or gotten the liquid measurements wrong. I actually almost missed adding the milk. They did stick something awful though. I wont make them again because of that and they were a bit bland.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 28, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious !
March 28, 2015
Followed the recipe and got great cupcakes ! I did add a little extra vanilla. I will make these again and again. 12 heavenly scented perfect cupcakes !
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Urbandale
,IA
March 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great vanilla plus moist
March 21, 2015
I used this recipe with only a minor substitute of vanilla paste for the extract. It worked great for making the bunny cakelets! This recipe for 12 cupcakes made exactly 6 bunnies (1 pan). I made them Thursday night and refrigerated on platter wrapped in plastic till Saturday morning and they were very fresh and moist. Definitely a keeper! The "Quick Buttercream Frosting" recipe paired very well with this.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 13 for Vanilla Cupcakes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Winnetka
,Ca
February 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did not come out as stated
February 16, 2015
I used all the ingredients as given in the recipe, but after 18 min-20mins at 350F the middle of the cupcake wasnt baked.
I put it back in the oven for 3 more mins but still the middle was unbaked. I put it back in the oven.
The tops were cracked a lot. from the start.
I did every step as stated in recipe, i could taste the baking soda taste like an after taste.
what went wrong with my try if others got it right?
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SamHarris
Mo
Posted April 5, 2015
Baking powder not baking soda
Shani, I think you were supposed to use baking powder instead of baking soda. Hope this helpped! Mine were delicious
0points
Customer avatar
LouLouBoarder
Posted April 4, 2015
you used baking soda? That may be why... It called for baking powder
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific Cupcake Recipe
February 10, 2015
This recipe as turned out perfectly 100's of times for me in several situations. Stick with the recipe and it is simple and delicious. As a professional baker - we always search for "bigger and better" but it does not have to be complicated. This recipe is can easily be double or tripled with outstanding results. A terrific base to use as a "jump off point" to add other flavors, etc as well. Higghly recommend for ease and taste.
Review 15 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 14, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Vanilla Cupcake
July 14, 2014
I've tried several different vanilla cupcake recipes and none compare to how good this one is. This recipe makes a delicious, moist cupcake. Best vanilla cupcake recipe out there!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 16 for Vanilla Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Irvine
,CA
April 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's good, but it's not the best...
April 19, 2014
So the reviews are mixed on this cupcake recipe. The recipe was easy to put together and my substitutions were Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Bean paste, instead of extract, whole milk and cake flour. The cake had a great vanilla flavor and it was light and airy, which my daughter loved. I prefer a denser, moister cake texture, so while this recipe wasn't offensive in any way, it wasn't the best I have ever had.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 17 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland,
,Or
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Cupcakes
December 11, 2013
I bake, often, and have used several scratch vanilla cupcake recipes and none of them made me very happy. I grabbed this one on a whim whipping up a quick batch for my nieces friends party - I doubled the vanilla and did a cream cheese frosting - they were outstanding, so I made regular size filled with chocolate ganache and mini regular ones for a baby shower I just did for my bff. They were outstanding. 20 women, two batches of large and one batch of mini's and they were all gone. So happy I picked this recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!!! (just slightly tweaked...)
November 26, 2013
I've been looking for a simple but delish vanilla cupcake especially since I'm not a good baker. Thankfully I found this one. I did tweak it a little after reading the comments. I used 3/4 cup of whole milk and 2 teaspoons of real vanilla extract. It didn't say what size eggs and I only had XL. Enough batter for 12 perfect ice cream scoop cupcakes. The real test was my Mr. He said it tasted just like a Nilla Wafer but in cake form. Success!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 19 for Vanilla Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,ABSECON
,NJ
June 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing VANILLA CUPCAKES
June 5, 2013
So DELISH!! MY FAVORITE CUPCAKE RECIPE. SO LIGHT AND FLUFFY, THIS IS A CUPCAKE THAT CAN BE VERY VERSATILE .THANK YOU
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 20 for Vanilla Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Fanwood
,NJ
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick , Easy and Yummy
June 29, 2012
At 12:00 am when the 2nd batch of cupcakes failed ( using an internet and then a cookbook recipe) I turned to this recipe. It sounded quick and easy. The cupcakes were for a wedding shower so I didn't get to taste them until later that day ( I needed everylast one). They are light and delicious and perfect with the quick and easy buttercrean frosting.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
page1 2 next