Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese

If your kids prefer mac and cheese from a box, with its powdered "cheese" product, ban the boxed stuff for a few months and it will fade from memory. Then introduce this recipe, with its aged Gruyere and Parmigiano-Reggiano. Almost every kid will love it at once.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
Review 1 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJC513
,Staten Island
,NY
July 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Definate Keeper
July 30, 2015
I can not express how much I love this Mac & Cheese. I have made it three times since finding the recipe here a month ago. I used the same cheeses recommended in the recipe and the only change I made was another pinch of the nutmeg and two bay leaves (I love those flavors together). I made this for a small get together and everyone loved it.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chefin
,Atlanta
,GA
March 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow! Great Taste for Such a Simple Recipe
March 30, 2015
I've tried several mac and cheese recipes (and have found some good ones) but I really like this because it's simple and I don't need to spend too much time or use too much cheese to get a great cheesy flavor. I used 1/2 a cup each, white (light)cheddar, Gruyere and Parmigiano-Reggiano. I used two cups skim milk and 1 cup whole milk, but I'm going to try 3 cups skim next time. It took much longer for the milk/sauce to boil than indicated in the recipe, so I ended up turning the heat up just a little more than directed. All in all, it was a great outcome and this will probably be one of my go-to recipes for good and quick mac and cheese. My family loved it. Thanks WS!!!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, great tasting!
Review 3 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveWmsSonoma
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
November 15, 2013
I used onion powder (my daughter can spot an onion a mile away); left out the bay leaf and nutmeg, otherwise followed the recipe with the exception of sprinkling crushed wheat Ritz crackers over the cheese topping. My kids had two servings! I've made many a mac & cheese that they've turned their noses up to, this one is a keeper..
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tgiangreco
April 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The whole family loves it!
April 6, 2012
I was skeptical that the kids would like this recipe. They REALLY love it. They won't even eat the boxed stuff any more. I would highly recommend this recipe to any family. It takes a little planning to time the cheese sauce and everything else. We add a chicken breast (cubed) and sometimes chopped up bacon. We also put a bit more of the cheeses. For the first time out, I would follow the recipe as written. It's still very delicious. We also sprinkly bread crumbs on the top before putting in the oven.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again