Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese

If your kids prefer mac and cheese from a box, with its powdered "cheese" product, ban the boxed stuff for a few months and it will fade from memory. Then introduce this recipe, with its aged Gruyere and Parmigiano-Reggiano. Almost every kid will love it at once.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
Review 1 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveWmsSonoma
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
November 15, 2013
I used onion powder (my daughter can spot an onion a mile away); left out the bay leaf and nutmeg, otherwise followed the recipe with the exception of sprinkling crushed wheat Ritz crackers over the cheese topping. My kids had two servings! I've made many a mac & cheese that they've turned their noses up to, this one is a keeper..
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tgiangreco
April 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The whole family loves it!
April 6, 2012
I was skeptical that the kids would like this recipe. They REALLY love it. They won't even eat the boxed stuff any more. I would highly recommend this recipe to any family. It takes a little planning to time the cheese sauce and everything else. We add a chicken breast (cubed) and sometimes chopped up bacon. We also put a bit more of the cheeses. For the first time out, I would follow the recipe as written. It's still very delicious. We also sprinkly bread crumbs on the top before putting in the oven.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tskiver
Bellingham, WA
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so full-but happy!
May 23, 2011
This recipe was extremely easy to make, especially for a beginner chef like myself. (well, I am not a chef more like an intern) BUT be prepared to feel so unbelievably full after eating this dish. So much cream and cheese makes it a classic “comfort food”. None the less, it tastes great! I think best severed as a side dish not a main dish.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Truly Amazing Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LittleBaker11
March 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Mac and Cheese!
March 26, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, minus the bay leaf and it was truly amazing! This beats any Mac and Cheese from the box and works perfectly as a main dish or an appetizer.
The only suggestion I would make is to cook the noodles while you are preparing the sauce. This will save a lot of time!