Tortellini and Vegetable Soup

For a traditional Italian version of this hearty vegetable soup, garnish each serving with a spoonful of store-bought pesto. The pesto adds herbaceous notes to the simple soup. Round out the meal with a loaf of crusty Italian or whole-grain bread.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
Review 1 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsParker
,Muskogee
,Ok
March 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort Food
March 27, 2014
Excellent soup!!! Think I will add garlic next time, but otherwise absolutely loved it!!! Super easy and quick. Can't wait to share with friends and family. Perfect for a cold or rainy day.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drriado
,Kingwood
,TX
March 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy for Cold rainy day!
March 23, 2014
Super Easy! I did tweak it a bit, added onion, garlic, bay leaf. Kids loved it! Husband who never eats soup had 3 BOWLS!! Great for a cold rainy day!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VLMA
,Simi Valley
,CA
March 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Easy Soup
March 1, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time. It is delicious and easy to prepare. I added a baked and diced chicken breast for a little more protein.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Notaclue
,Brewster
,MA
February 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious
February 24, 2014
Most recipes I have run across lately have had about 20 or more ingredients and I just don't even try them. This recipe is elegantly simple and the resulting soup is simply delicious. Can't wait to "tweak" it a bit. Soup and crusty bread is one of our favorite meals and this definitely ranks close to the top of our list.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melissa52572
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heaven in a bowl
February 22, 2014
A bit of prep work required but worth it. Absolutely delicious.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BlondeRazorback
,Fayetteville
,AR
February 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warm and Wonderful!!!
February 10, 2014
What a great simple recipe!! The saute of the veggies before adding the broth gives this soup a wonderful taste. Easy and fun for a date night cook together dinner!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
larsonkoala
,Menifee
,CA
Menifee, Ca
January 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW!!! It is that good
January 27, 2014
this soup is so good. and very easy to make. if i could give it a 1000 stars i would. it is well worth the time and effort. the only addition i did was add chicken demi-glace. this is something to make for those busy week day dinners.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: nothing
Review 8 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathytav
October 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
October 28, 2013
I'm new to cooking and this was easy and delicious! I added some onion and a little garlic to the veggie sauté and added baby spinach at the end.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 9 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ilikesouptoo
,Hackensack
,NJ
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use Vegetable broth
August 16, 2013
I've made this soup with chicken and vegetable broth. I prefer the taste of it with vegetable broth.
Pros: Quick, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChiChiFifi
,Cranston
,RI
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & Nutritious
November 29, 2012
This is an easy, light, tasty, and nutritious meal. It's a go-to for weeknight dinner and next day lunch. It is also readily adaptable to additional ingredients including herbs and spices. I add some premade pesto and it gives the soup just the right zip, interest, and full flavor. Even my husband, who doesn't like to eat veggies, enjoys this soup. Great with garlic bread or a nice grilled cheese.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
October 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & mild
October 29, 2012
This was an easy recipe to prepare. If you want to ramp up the taste, add some diced onion and garlic to the carrot and celery mix. Adaptable, so add ingredients of your choosing.
Otherwise, enjoy the mild taste. Perhaps add some thyme to keep the mild taste and enhance the herbal vibe. Especially nice if your stomach is on the queasy side during flu season!
Easy to prepare with ingredients you probably already have in your refrigerator.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DirtyFairy
Hampton, NH
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so fast and yummy
March 9, 2011
easy and so good! light and fresh tasting. i can see easily adding and playing around with the veggies in this.
summer squash, maybe a clove of garlic and fresh spinach <3
took less then 30 to whip up.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RevolvedTriangle
Colts Neck, NJ
Posted September 3, 2012
Great minds think alike, added the garlic before I read your review. Thanks for the validation!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matina
Centerville, OH
February 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
absolutely delicious
February 8, 2011
This soup is easy to make and tastes great!
Serve with some warm bread and you have a delicious and quick meal.
Review 14 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fairfaxgirl
Fairfax, VA
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious!
January 19, 2011
This soup is easy to make and very delicious! Perfect for an easy weeknight meal or left-over for lunch.
Review 15 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anneliese
Upland,CA
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
December 16, 2010
My family absolutely loved this recipe and I'm not the most experienced cook. I followed the directions exactly and it was so flavorful and perfect on a cold night.
Review 16 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpowers
Richmond, VA
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Quick
November 18, 2010
Just made this for a luncheon today. I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and 2 handfuls of spinach. Excellent and enjoyed by all. Will definitely make again.
Review 17 for Tortellini and Vegetable Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3boys2cook4
LA, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great quick meal on cold nights
April 30, 2010
Easy to prepare. Has a little of everything to make a well balanced meal and my kids love it.