The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots

We gave the classic green bean casserole a delicious makeover. Sauteed cremini mushrooms and blanched green beans are combined with a luscious sauce of chicken stock and cream. Then the dish is topped with homemade fried shallot rings and baked until bubbling. For a vegetarian version, substitute vegetable or mushroom stock for the chicken stock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
Review 1 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Olly
,NJ
December 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scrumptious
December 23, 2013
I make this once a year because it is time consuming. But it is worth the effort, it is definitely the "ultimate" green bean casserole!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCIRROCA
,Wilmington
,DE
December 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ELEGANT SIDE DISH!
December 3, 2013
The dish is tasty as well as elegant. It was a big hit at the family dinner table, including those who shun the standard green bean casserole. Perhaps the individual giving the recipe a one star is not a good cook. I can't imagine at least one person not liking the dish!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamieSu
,Indianapolis
November 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An Encore Dish
November 22, 2013
I made this last year for our family Thanksgiving pitch-in and had none to bring home. By popular demand, I am making it again this year. It's such a wonderful departure from the old canned beans, mushroom soup and onions cassarole.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 4 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gynnie
,Orange
,VT
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST GREEN BEAN RECIPE EVER
December 15, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, my family just loved them!! I will make these again and again.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeggieVern
,Rochester
,MN
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So nice I made it twice!
November 29, 2012
I made this for the first time last week and took it to a friend's place for Thanksgiving dinner. There was barely enough left for leftovers so I made a second dish for my own home a day later! It was very easy to make, although I confess I changed the way to make crispy shallots. Also, I'm a vegetarian so I used homemade veggie stock instead of chicken stock. I liked the kick of the Cayenne pepper. It was terrific!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bls1
,Buffalo
,NY
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not very good, incredible amount of $$$
November 23, 2012
my husband and I made this dish for Thanksgiving. The time and MONEY spent to make something different was not worth it at all. I would of preferred steaming my beans and adding butter. Everyone turned their nose up, saying that it was just OK, but not something they want the recipe for. We did not have any problem with frying the shallots.
Review 7 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TampaLou
,Tampa
,fl
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice update to the classic
November 22, 2012
I really liked the crispy shallots. You can make them the day before and just reheat on a baking sheet in the oven to recrisp them. I too would add some garlic, maybe thyme to the sauce...bacon always helps...I thought the sauce a little bland and like other reviews, would use half and half...you don't need it that thick from heavy cream
Pros: Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merrycarol
,Santa Clarita
,CA
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Very Tasty
November 19, 2012
I made this dish last night and served it to guests. Everyone loved it and one asked for the recipe...thus I came to this site.
I thought the fried shallots would be hard because I rarely fry anything. It was not hard at all, and the shallots came out perfect and terrific. The white sauce was a breeze, I added fresh garlic and plenty of gourmet pepper. Next time, I would make the sauce with half and half instead of heavy cream. All in all, it was delicious and easy to make. You could make it all a day ahead leaving only the crispy shallots for the day served. I just might make this again for Thanksgiving!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 9 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kevwizz
,Hartford
,CT
November 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!!!
November 17, 2012
I have made this a few times since I saw it in the catalog, everyone thinks it's incredible!
I have not had issues with my shallots burning, perhaps it depends on how thick you cut them or how long you fry initially. I get them just golden and take them out, when baked they are PERFECT. This blows away the "traditional" green bean casserole!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 10 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LCStamford
,Stamford
,CT
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes Green Bean Casserole to a whole new level!
November 15, 2012
This takes green bean casserole to a whole new level! It was absolutely amazing. Our store was out of cremini mushrooms, so I substituted with baby bellas.
We left the beans whole. We also did not blanch the beans -- not because we know better, we just missed that part of the directions.
Frying the shallots for the topping was a bit daunting, but it really wasn't that bad, and worth every bit of effort.
Most importantly, it's not hard to make at all. Certainly takes more time than opening the cans for the traditional recipe, but worth every minute!!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious!
Review 11 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Celticfeygal
,New York
,NY
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great New Twist to an Old Recipe
November 12, 2012
This is a nice change to a common recipe that we all try in some way to make "different."
We enjoyed it a great deal. A few things I did do that the recipe does not share...
DO COVER WITH FOIL WHEN BACKING, folks are correct the onions on top will burn.
I added a touch of white pepper.
I would also consider adding: bacon, sliced almonds, and or garlic.
I will add the bacon just to see how it does, next time I make it and I will. I made it as a test run for the holidays. It does take a bit of time, and I'm not sure it really needed 30+ minutes to back, but just watch your heat.
But it was a really nice recipe and a nice change! Enjoy!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive
Review 12 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SuperSnipe
,Saybrook
,IL
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Burnt Shallots
November 12, 2012
This was by far one of the worst recipes I've ever made. As with one of the other reviews, this recipe was NOT tested...just photographed. A waste of expensive shallots which by following the recipe, became a burnt unappetizing topping affecting the entire dish. Only thing I would reccomend is adding the shallot topping during the last 5 minutes of baking.
Cons: Taste, Cost, Appearance
Review 13 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Connie1956
,Houston
,TX
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe has Flaws
November 5, 2012
First the recipe states the Prep Time is 15 minutes. Maybe if you have already chopped, sliced and blanched before preparation.
The recipe states to top the casserole with the fried shallots and bake for 30 minutes. You better cover with foil (which the recipe does not state) otherwise you will burn the shallots that you spent so much time an money on.
I seriously doubt the test kitcvhen baked for 30 minutes without durning the shallots.
Cons: Lengthy, time consuming
Review 14 for The Ultimate Green Bean Casserole with Crispy Fried Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrganicChef
,Hyde Park
,VT
October 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ultimate Green Bean Casserole
October 31, 2012
Made this last night following the directions to the letter. Used vegetable stock in place of chicken stock as suggested. This is the most flavorful green bean casserole dish I have ever served. Family devoured it.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy