The All-New Green Bean Casserole

The traditional version of this casserole, made with cans of cream of mushroom soup and French-fried onions, is a celebration of American convenience foods and a standard offering on countless holiday menus. This updated recipe, made with fresh ingredients, is guaranteed to push that old formula aside.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
Review 1 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrJenny1234
January 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Side
January 8, 2014
Made this as a side dish that I brought to family's house on Christmas Day. I liked that I was able to assemble it and then cook it once I got there. We doubled the recipe. It was very rich and creamy. I received a lot of compliments.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance
Review 2 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
invaderzillm
December 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Solid GBC recipe
December 26, 2013
I was happy to find this recipe that required no condensed soup from a can. I found the green beans a bit too crisp for my family's taste and would probably go 6-7 min next go around. Delightful flavors and it was mostly a hit (just feedback about a softer bean next time).
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmateurAmalia
,West Des Moines
,Ia
West Des Moines, IA
September 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have Side Dish
September 25, 2013
I tried this recipe as a potential candidate for our family Thanksgiving, and it was DELICIOUS! My family LOVED it. The green beans were perfectly cooked and the sauce was full of flavor! I used bella mushrooms rather than button mushrooms and 3/4 cup heavy cream rather than half and half, and the flavors really came together. I do agree it needs salt and pepper.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again, low carb
Review 4 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarioB
,New York
,NY
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A treat for the holidays
November 23, 2012
You will wow your guest with this side dish. Delicious, rich and deeply satisfying. Prepare it the day before and do make the fried shallots - well worth the effort. This is dish will always have a home on my Thanksgiving table.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WSCook1111
November 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husband like it a lot
November 24, 2011
For some reason, it turned out a little bland for me. It needed pepper and some additional salt. Husband enjoyed it. It was a little too creamy for my taste though. The fried scallions did notch up the taste. Great idea! I would recommend it since it is from scratch.
Review 6 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PMartin
,Waukesha
,WI
Waukesha, WI
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This should be the classic version!
November 24, 2011
Simply delicious. No mushy sodium-laden canned green beans or full-of-preservatives canned cream of mushroom here; this version of fresh and full of flavor. I used 2% milk, and it turned out fine. We love this and will make it often.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love2CooknEat
,Lighthouse Point
,FL
November 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ditch the old classic!
November 19, 2011
While the "classic" recipe for green bean casserole was a ingenious marketing tool for the Campbell soup company, in reality the finished product left much to be desired. I was never able to appreciate the original dish and had tried several different "from scratch" versions over the years without much success - until now.
In my opinion - this version should now be considered the "classic green bean casserole" and the old recipe relegated to a sub-par short cut version a la "semi-homemade.".
Try it - you won't be sorry!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious!
Review 8 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realoverture
,Cheyenne
,WY
November 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Wait to Try It
November 16, 2011
I was looking to modify the traditional green bean casserole recipe to something low-carb and exactly like this so that I wouldn't have to use a can of condensed soup and fried onions with loads of bad stuff in each. I would probably omit the flour and use heavy cream for the half and half, frying the shallots in oil with no flour. Thanks for making it easy for me!
Pros: Healthy, low-carb
Review 9 for The All-New Green Bean Casserole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yeoldone
,Folsom
,CA
October 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG never go back to the old way
October 2, 2011
Everyone that has had this was AWED!!
I keep having to reprint the recipe because guests take mine!!! The freshness is the selling point. "not mushy like the traditional recipe of CANS of STUFF"
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again