Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry

Look for small, sweet pumpkin varieties like Sugar Pie or Cheese or substitute butternut squash. To prepare the pumpkin or squash, steady it on its side on a rigid cutting surface and, using a large, sharp knife, cut it in half through the stem end. (If the peel is thick, tap the knife with a mallet.) Scoop out the seeds and fibers with a large metal spoon. Finally, peel and cut as desired.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
Review 1 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CriminalGrace
,CA
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious if you're cautious with the fish sauce
September 23, 2013
I prepared this as directed and really enjoyed the results. The recommended amount of fish sauce made my pot of curry far too sour, but a few tablespoons of extra brown sugar and a bit of chicken stock brought it back into balance. I'll chalk it up to differences in fish sauce brands/varieties and add it in smaller amounts the next time I make this dish.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
November 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Fall Meal
November 11, 2011
We made this for dinner last night using leftover butternut squash. It was tasty. Like another reviewer, my husband thought it could have had a little more kick as he found it somewhat bland. I enjoyed it.
Review 3 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seattleforager
October 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and Easy Fall Meal
October 17, 2011
Delicious and fairly quick - other than peeling and chopping the pumpkin. I used a sugar pie pumpkin that didn't quite make it into a pie. Chicken for me, seitan for my vegetarian husband. Warming and hearty, wonderful over rice.
Pros: Easy, Healthy
Review 4 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steamer
San Pedro, California
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and so easy!
June 7, 2011
This recipe is just what I have been looking for in a Thai curry. I added a bit more curry paste per others' suggestions--I like it spicy, so nice heat. I also buy the butternut squash already cubed, so the meal is really quick and easy. I wouldn't decrease the fish sauce--it is what makes the dish authentic. If you have a good Asian market, ask for the fish sauce that doesn't have such a stink. Some brands are very mild. I also made this with Tofu rather than chicken--a fabulous vegetarian dish. This is a dish I make often.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmlathan
Geneva, Switzerland
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Fall Curry
November 22, 2010
I found this recipe one day when searching for different ways to prepare pumpkin. It is very easy and most of the base ingredients are permanent residents in my kitchen so it is a meal that I can quickly pull together. I make a few changes - saute the chicken in chile oil to give it some extra spice; add about a cup of fresh cilantro a minute or so before serving really gives it such a nice flavour. I garnish with cilantro as well and not with the Thai basil. I cut down on the fish sauce to about a dash because I am not such a big fan of the smell and taste. Also, I have made it with shrimp instead of chicken and it was really good. To tie in the coconut flavours, I stir in about 3-4 tablespoons of coconut flakes to the rice just before I cover it. It makes the rice really fragrant and adds a little something extra to the dish.
All in all very good and very easy to make!
Review 6 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cnackers
Los Alamos, New Mexico
November 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
something fun to make with pumpkin!
November 3, 2010
Great recipe and overall-tasted really good! Both my husband and I thought it could have been a little "hotter" so maybe use a little more curry to give it a little kick. I overcooked the pumpkin in the beginning (using my baby Beaba steamer) so just make sure not to overcook-otherwise like mine- the pumpkin will fall apart when you add all the parts together. It still tasted really good!
Review 7 for Thai Pumpkin & Chicken Curry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rkSD
San Diego
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Delicious and Entertainment-Worthy
October 7, 2010
For a weeknight meal, I cut the squash, and wash/cut the chicken up the night before. Peeling and dicing the squash takes up the majority of time. You could even prepare the curry base ahead of time too. The coconut milk mixture is easily thrown together while the chicken is browning in the pan.
Butternut squash was a great substitute. The recipe easily doubles and I also added extra chicken (about 1.5 times what the recipe asks). The first time I tried the recipe, I used regular coconut milk. The second time, I used half regular and half light. It did not affect taste/consistency at all! Great cool weather meal served spooned over steamed red rice and .
I can imagine you could substitute cubes of tofu for your vegetarian friends and have everything else prepared the same way. An easy meal to whip up for a mixed crowd of carnivores and vegetarians just by splitting all the other ingredients between two pans.
This is one of the easiest and tastiest Thai curry recipes I've ever tried!