Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket

In Texas, barbecue means beef, and brisket is king. Here, the brisket is given a spice rub and is slow-smoked over mesquite. Have extra coals or a backup gas tank ready because the cooking time is long.
Average Customer Rating:
1.714 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
1 of 7(14%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
Review 1 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nabor37
,Ft. Worth
,Tx
August 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is not Texas Brisket
August 18, 2012
So much wrong, so little room to write.
No mention of temperature. Charcoal Grill?
It takes at least 10-12 hours at 210-225 degrees to get a good brisket.
I found it humurous that the reviewers who loved this recipe were from PA, because this will never get you rave reviews trying to pass it off as Texas BBQ.
Cons: Texture, Taste, Appearance
Review 2 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FASherman
,Mesquite
,TX
August 8, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket - NOT
August 8, 2012
1. The rub recipe is weak
2. If you refrigerate your bricket overnight after applying the rub, it pulls moisture out of the meat. You lose juices and turns to a wet rub.
3. No talk of temperature control. preferences vary from 180-210, but all agree not to go over 212, when the juices in the meat will boil off internally, drying meat.
4. No talk of slicing technique. Always against the grain. Picture shows slicing with the grain.
5. Smoke ring in picture is weak as well. As other point out, not enough time in the smoker.
6. Smoked meat on a gas grill? Definitely not Texas style. Low and slow.
7. Bark? Burnt ends? Man you are missing out on some of the best parts of TX BBQ.
All and all, a recipe written for people who don't know Texas BBQ by someone that doesn't do true Texas BBQ.
Pros: none
Cons: not tx bbq
Review 3 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JimfromSanAntonio
,Bagram Air Field Afghanistan
,TX
July 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a joke, right?
July 24, 2012
As a transplanted Texan to the middle east, I can tell you that this recipe is how they think you make Texas style brisket... in Dubai! I lived and worked in Iraq for over 6 years and in that time I cooked probably close to a hundred briskets and can categorically tell you that this recipe is not how you do it. I've never taken less than 8 hours cooking a brisket and that was a small one. Most briskets will take between 10 and 12 hours to cook. But when they are done, they are a thing of beauty. Even while in Iraq, I used only hardwood (mesquite and oak when I could get it), never charcoal. We didn't have gas but I wouldn't have used that either. In order to cook a proper Texas style brisket, you have to use real wood and smoke the brisket low and slow. When it is done, all the neighbors will turn out! Any other way and you are roasting Yankee style.
Cons: too quick, no charcoal!
Review 4 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
texasbbq
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+20points
21of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please do not follow this recipe
July 6, 2012
Good brisket takes much longer to prepare and smoke. It needs to marinade for at least 24 hours, brisket is a tough cut, this isn't a prime ribeye that needs little prep. Shiner Bock with a very spicy rub is excellent choice for a hearty Texas flavor. Or Concord wine with a spicy rub will give it a very good spicy sweet taste. But you will need marinade to break down the connective tissue.
Next LOW and SLOW is the key, I usually smoke for about 12 hours at about 210. Use an all wood fire preferably indirect heat, if you can't get mesquite use hickory.
Cons: Texture, Taste, Appearance, bad
Review 5 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JumboJet
,Fayetteville
,AR
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe is not for me
July 5, 2012
I have been SMOKING brisket for years and years - 300 lbs. at a time. I use wood and charcoal and indirect heat. I smoke brisket for up to 12 hours at 210F.
I have a few 1st & 2nd place trophies for my brisket.
The only thing from that recipe and instructions I would try would be the dry rub.
Each year in October, the Wheeler Fire Department does a fund raiser dinner featuring smoked chicken and brisket. For years, the brisket was truly smoked. The man that smoked the brisket died. Last year his method was replaced by a new "king of brisket". I nearly puked! The new "king" makes an aluminum bowl and boils the brisket over direct coals in a soy sauce mixture. Yuck!
Pros: not texas style
Cons: too fast
Review 6 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
prmkpr
,Austin
,TX
June 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
19of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this is the wrong way!!!!
June 30, 2012
from a person who live in the heart of Texas and knows his BBQ...whoever wrote this recipe needs be taken out back and beat with a hickory switch!!! NEVER EVER EVER, and I will say it again EVER cook bbq using charcoal or gas!!! If you tried that here you would be shot!!! we Texans take our BBQ very seriously!!! A good brisket should cook slow and low about 45 minutes to an hour per pound....so 7-8 pound brisket should take 6-8 hours to cook at 225 degrees. if you cook a brisket as fast as this guy recommends, the cap part of the meat(fat end) will be to fatty because it hasn't had the time to break down enough. the other issue is that you never use gas to cook TEXAS BBQ PERIOD!!!! If you are using charcoal you are grilling not smoking there is a huge difference!!
Cons: Texture, Taste, Yield, not enough smoke
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sammiejo
Iola, Texas
Posted July 14, 2012
are you kidding me?
3 1/2 hours for a brisket? You'll need a jack hammer to cut it! 12-14-20 hours depending on size and you never, ever use gas to do a brisket. I sure didn't see a smoke ring on the brisket in the picture.
Always use wood, charcoal in a pinch, but always wood.
Marinade overnight, not for an hour and don't cut the fat off either, it will cook away.
W&S have some great kitchen gadgets but someone over there doesn't know how to cook.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Texas-Style Barbecued Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pelayo
,Spring Grove
,PA
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutly Delicious!
January 10, 2012
This was my first time doing a smoked brisket and had absolutly no idea what rub to use. I stumbled upon this and my friends and I loved it. One actually saved the recipe and used it for a work conference dinner where he smoked brisket for 350 people. The brisket was a hit. I highly recomend this rub.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DavidChamberlain
Crestview, Florida
Posted July 15, 2012
If it ain't a smokin', you're only a jokin'!!
Using charcoal and gas grills are for those who want to cook outdoors but are in a hurry to get it cooked. This here recipie might be better than cooking in an indoor oven, but that's about it. Any kind of a serious smoke king at all will produce a visible smoke ring around the edge of the meat all the way around and I don't see that in the picture!
I use a water pan between the coal and the meat in my smoker. This helps keep the temperature from getting too high, keeps the meat from drying out. I also add flavorings to the water such as wine, beer, root beer, orange peels, just whatever I have around the house and feel like trying. Of course mesquite and hickory make really good smoke, but I also use grape vines and apple wood when I can find it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)