Tamale Pie

Perfect for a crowd, this tamale pie gets a lively kick from chili powder and serrano chilies, which are small, slender and very hot. The compound that gives chilies their heat, known as capsaicin, is concentrated in the white membranes, or ribs, inside the chili and is transferred to the seeds. To lessen the heat, trim off the membrane and scrape away the seeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tamale Pie
Review 1 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailey426
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great casserole
May 9, 2012
This was awesome! I used shredded rotisserie chicken instead of beef and used Marie Callender cornbread.
It is even better reheated the next day
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Tamale Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BLCL
,Bellevue
,WA
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great comfort food
February 14, 2012
This is a delicious version of tamale pie. Based on the other reviews, I cut the quantities down to 1/3 of those specified in the original recipe, and it still filled up a 9x13 casserole dish, fed my family of 5, and had some left-over. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and added a can each of pinto beans and sliced olives. Will definitely make again!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kokonn
New York, NY
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious entree
April 4, 2011
This dish was a complete success. Very easy to make and my family enjoyed it! I will make it again!
Pros: Easy, Impressive
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJHenny
Marin, CA
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
O M G - oh my good!
October 25, 2010
So good. My husband had to lay on the floor to rest his tummy after this one! Even halved it's a huge recipe - but it would be so super great for a big group!
Review 5 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenElsaEE
Flemington, NJ
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WHAT A HIT!!!!
July 1, 2010
Celebrated our Sons graduation with a Mexican Fiesta - Needed to find easy recipes to make- came across this one and I have to say this Tamale Pie was the hit of the party!!!! So much so that during the event I had to make copies of the recipe and hand them out - thank goodness I own a copier!!! THIS IS A MUST MAKE RECIPE!!!!
Review 6 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
littler3ho
Texas
June 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Recipe
June 24, 2010
Awesome Recipe. Saves well. It does tend to make a lot more than just two or three people need, but not way too much.
Review 7 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen12345
Reno, NV
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Half this recipe!
May 26, 2010
I don't know how you could possibly make this recipe as is! I half the recipe and its still huge!! I use shredded beef instead of ground beef and it works great. For the cornbread, I just follow the instructions on the can of cornmeal and add a little extra milk so that it spreads easier. I serve with sour cream, cheese, and jalapenos and it is a hit every time I make it. Love, love, love this recipe!
Review 8 for Tamale Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RES3740
Atlanta, GA
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a crowd
May 15, 2010
This is a great option when you are feeding a crowd. Most of it can be assembled ahead of time and finished up just before cooking. It has wonderful flavor and the sweetness of the cornbread is a great balance to the spiced meat mixture. Always a crowd pleaser!
Review 9 for Tamale Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lulucooks
Jonesboro, AR
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make
April 30, 2010
I am a personal chef and I make this for my clients all the time. I do two boxes of cornbread mix just to make sure everyone gets the good stuff. Love it!!!!