Strip House Potatoes Romanoff

Twice-baked potatoes take on bold new dimensions of flavor in a rich, creamy gratin with shallots and cheddar cheese. This dish is one of the signature sides at Strip House, a steakhouse in New York City's Greenwich Village. The potatoes need to be baked a day in advance, so plan accordingly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
Review 1 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reada
,Reno
,NV
Reno, NV
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's our favorite!
April 28, 2013
This is the only potato casserole I make. The "Apilco Porcelain Oval Au Gratin" dish is a must for recipes like this, it keeps the food warm through the whole meal. I use half the shallots and add some chives.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amyliz
,Ks
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the trouble
November 14, 2011
This was really good! I almost didn't bother with the step of baking the potatoes the day before, but I'm glad I did! They were so easy to grate and crumbled up nicely, not like hash browns, like I thought it might. I baked for 30 minutes, and thought it could of used maybe 5 more minutes, or perhaps a quick broil, just to crisp up the potatoes a bit, but other than that, I thought they were amazing!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
94574
November 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Meh :P Tastes odd.
November 6, 2011
I thought this tasted funky. Not nearly as good as twice baked potatoes. Not sure why because it looks and sounds like it should taste great but it did not.
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 4 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JanieRe
Sarasota, FL
September 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasted great & turned out exactly like the photo
September 4, 2011
Made these again & my only suggestion would be to use the grating/shredding disc on the Cuisinart. I made a big mess & had a lot of waste using a hand held box grater. And I had a little trouble incorporating the sour cream. Still they looked picture perfect & were light & delicious (not overly cheesy). I cooked them for about 20 minutes ahead of time then finished them later. Still wondering if I could assemble the night before then cook later. ??? This recipe is a keeper!
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hoohoo
August 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best potato recipe
August 6, 2011
I took this dish to potluck and it was devoured, even by a friend who is not a potato fan! Be sure to follow the directions and cook the potatoes the day before.
Pros: Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
caraandcecil
chicago il
Posted August 16, 2011
very concerned about strip house potatoes!
i noticed that you stress baking the potatoes the day before in your comment. i am preparing them for tonight and will only have time to refrigerate for 5 hours. do you suggest i freeze them for that time period or just scrap the entire idea?? help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
indymom7
Lawrenceburg, IN
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG!! Amazing!
July 20, 2011
These are amazing....as is. Simple to prepare and excellent flavor. Perfect!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bhermosa
Sugar Grove, IL
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best, bar none
April 19, 2011
My husband said to throw out the rest of my many potato recipes and from now on, this is the only way to make them.
I served this at a dinner party and it received rave reviews. I divided the remainders into individual portions and put them in the freezer. They reheat beautifully. What a wonderful side dish to have on hand
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
malinsd
San Diego, CA
April 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Entertaining
April 18, 2011
Can there be an easier recipe to execute? Great for a party and reheats well. You could always add bacon or green onion but it really is perfect as it is.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess
Danvers, MA
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands Down - THE BEST POTATOES EVER!!
March 24, 2011
I made these over the weekend for my husband and daughter. I don't know if it was the shallots or the sour cream, but my husband said that these are the best potatoes he has ever had. Even eating them as leftovers last night, he again said they were fantastic. And this coming from someone who views potatoes as a "blah" food. Highly recommended. I couldn't find grated cheddar cheese so I had to use shredded. Not sure if it would have made a different in the texture of the dish, but tastewise, it was spot on!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chongie
Gladwin, Michigan
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A truly winning recipe for guests!
March 21, 2011
This is a terrific potato dish! I made half the recipe for 4 people...and it was plenty (as it is very filling). Also, I used 1/2 mild chedder and 1/2 sharp chedder. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Review 11 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Dover, De
March 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Company Side
March 11, 2011
This was excellent! Made this for my husbands 60th birthday dinner. Served with coffee crusted strip steaks and asparagus/arugula salad. The potatoes were a hit! Definitely will make again!
Review 12 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grantr
San Diego
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
To Die For
March 2, 2011
This is one of the best potato recipes I have ever had. It was simple to prepare - just have the potatoes baked the day before. I can hardly wait to serve it to dinner guests and...I get the leftovers tonight!
Review 13 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snufkun
Dallas, TX
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Light and fluffy potato
February 28, 2011
I used less cheese and sour cream (light), was still very tasty. I really liked theis light and fluffy potato.
Review 14 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TerryTT
Pittsburgh PA
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
February 27, 2011
Really liked this recipe. Was easy to make and great taste.
Review 15 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gibraltar
San Diego, Ca.
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome casserole
February 24, 2011
I made this just to test how good it was.
It was so easy to make and so delicious,I must entertain right away to serve to my friends and hear them rave!!! This is a real keeper!
Review 16 for Strip House Potatoes Romanoff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KEEKS
Altadena, Ca.
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simple to put together
February 23, 2011
O.M.G.! Just delicious!, My family said they felt they were at the actual restaurant!. Other than waiting for the potatoes to rest overnight, it is quick and easy. Note: the video posted with the recipe is very helpful. I will be making these often.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Roz1
Houston, Texas
Posted March 20, 2011
simple and easy
O.M.G! What a winner. This has become one of my family's favorite dishes.
0points
Customer avatar
roheid
Pittsburgh, PA
Posted March 7, 2011
video
you mentioned the video helped, but I'm not seeing any place to watch a video. what am I missing?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)