Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions

The recipe for caramelized onions makes more than you will need for the strata. Reserve the rest for another use, such as topping a pizza or blending into a frittata.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
Review 1 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LazyHubbie
,Washington
,DC
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommended by a 'Consumer'
December 29, 2013
Dear All you Cooks,
I am male, a 'consumer'. I know nothing about cooking but "I know what I like".
***
This is a superb dish. The four rather than five stars may well just reflect my personal tastes. That it is ideal for Christmas brunch, as one reviewer said, sounds dead right to me. I believe one reviewer said something about "It's like the savory version of the most wonderful bread pudding you can imagine.": I would not have thought of that for myself but I found it a very perceptive comment. I would guess (I mean guess) that chard would give the overall concoction more of an interesting and complex taste than some other vegetable options.
Pros: consumers like it
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 2 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BestBuyerAgent
,Frederick
,MD
Frederick, MD
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Christmas morning fav!
December 22, 2013
Once again planning to make for Christmas morning. It is soooo easy to make the day before when things aren't so hectic and then have it ready to eat when we finish opening presents. It's hearty enough to get us through and nicely hungry for Christmas dinner, especially since we do first breakfast of buns, fruit and bacon while opening stockings. The strata is more a brunch dish and is wonderfully delicious.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizLaurel
Laurel, MD
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific addition to any brunch/buffet
April 28, 2013
Takes a little time, but this recipe is delicious and a big hit at any gathering. Only caution is that it makes A LOT. I would say that even for a breakfast (vs buffet) this could easily serve 10-12. Other than that, there are no surprises and your guests will love it!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rbyb
December 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Breakfast or Brunch!
December 8, 2012
This has been our favorite Christmas morning breakfast for several years, Even though easy, I break it up into smaller tasks that fit into my schedule. One day I caramelize the onions, put them in a container in refridge. The next day I may do the sausage & grate the cheese and put them in refridge. By the time I put it altogether on Christmas Eve, so much is done already that it takes very little time. Also, I substitute baby spinach for chard, as someone else mentioned. Always a hit!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laura350z
,San Diego
,Ca
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Brunch!
April 23, 2012
I made this for 3 hungry guys (and myself!) yesterday for brunch. I only had nonfat half-and-half, and not quite enough, so I added chicken broth. I also cooked it immediately, rather than preparing it ahead of time. It was a definite hit! I will absolutely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy