Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina

A comforting breakfast casserole made from bread, eggs and milk, a strata is enriched with savory ingredients like sausage, cheese and vegetables. The strata is assembled in advance and refrigerated before baking, making it ideal for entertaining as well as for weekday breakfasts. For instructions on roasting bell peppers, click on the link at left.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
Review 1 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gored111
,Ca
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous treat
May 9, 2013
Have been making this strata for years now. My family lights up when I say I am making this special dish. You can prepare the day before, then pop it in the oven for a hot fresh and oh so delicious brunch item. Italian sausage is a nice ingredient as well. It is a bit high in fat, but lots of fruit and even fresh veggies will balance it nicely. You can also omit some of the egg yolks, if you are cholesterol conscious.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaabird
,Hamilton
,NJ
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing strata recipe
December 5, 2011
I made this last night and baked it this morning for a Monday treat for my coworkers....well, word spread around the office, and I had people visiting to try the strata all morning! Everyone loved it! I cheated and bought a jar of gourmet roasted red peppers and rinsed with water since it was packed in oil and vinegar. Still amazing! Would DEFINITELY recommend to anyone that needs a crowd pleaser! Recipe says it feeds 12, but it really feeds 20!!!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hamski
Seattle
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brunch Perfection!
April 3, 2011
This is now my go-to strata recipe for brunch parties. Use a large pan or divide among 2 smaller. This will make about 20 servings. Guests could not say enough great things about how beautiful it looked coming out of the oven and how amazing it tasted. I assembled the night before and baked one hour, letting it sit on the counter under loose foil for about 15 minutes. It sliced perfectly, was so colorful and tasted delicious! BRAVO!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChucksBFF
Fairfield County, CT
July 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unforgettable Brunch
July 3, 2010
Made this strata for bunch for family & friends was amazing! Everyone loved it! Thanks Chuck!
Review 5 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JillEB
May 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Brunch Item
May 22, 2010
This has become a Christmas morning tradition in our home. I've made it for brunch too and get nothing but compliments. LOVE IT!
Review 6 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harpistann
Crescent City, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breakfast Favorite
May 14, 2010
I have made this recipe many times. I find it perfect when I have guests because I can cook the sausage ahead of time. In the morning, I pop it in the oven, set out cinnamon buns and croissants and pour the juice. It's the easiest and most impressive breakfast for 6 to 8 people that anyone can throw together. Everyone I've served it to, loves it. Perfect for Christmas and Easter.
Review 7 for Strata with Asparagus, Sausage and Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Potomac, MD
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Holiday Brunch idea!
April 30, 2010
I've made this several times...and have had it requested by family members to make it again. I've made it for an Easter brunch and a Mother's day brunch as well as just an average weekend morning. It never failed!