Stout-Braised Short Ribs

These hearty beef short ribs are slow-cooked in stout, a dark beer that originated in the British Isles. It is made with dark-roasted barley, which lends a rich, deep color and bittersweet flavor to the beer. Accompany the short ribs with a traditional Irish potato dish known as Colcannon (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
Review 1 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JSmith2013
September 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delightful.
September 18, 2013
It's hard to go wrong with Guinness braised anything. This recipe gives you the basic idea of what to include. Add more/less onions, carrots and celery, add in your seared beef, and cover with Guinness. I used just over 4 cups of Guinness as that is what was needed to cover my short ribs. I think covering the meat is key to it all turning out tender - if you're using a slow cooker, chances are you won't be around to turn the meat so that it is equally submerged. I also added a splash of beef stock for flavour. I agree with previous reviews that call for 7-8 hours in a slow cooker, and my recommended settings were on Low.
They turned out great, as any braised meat in a slow cooker does. I recommend not overly seasoning the stock before it's done cooking. This gives you the option to reduce some of the stock to create a really flavourful and thick sauce to put on top of ribs/potatoes. I also braised some mushrooms about 30 minutes before serving so that they still had some texture.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeflonRon
,Rolling Hills
,CA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Crowd Pleaser
December 30, 2012
This was a wonderful dish which was easy to prepare. The meat literally fell off the bone and was extremely tender.
Based on some of the other comments which stated that the stout can create a bitter-tasting sauce, I used Newcastle Brown Ale instead. I also agree with others about the yield - I had over four pounds of short ribs and it was barely enough for six people; it would not have fed eight as the recipe suggests.
I would recommend buying enough short ribs so that you have at least two full ribs for each person.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Yield
Review 3 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momoney
May 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
most requested recipe
May 1, 2012
Have made this soooo many times and always get asked for the recipe!! Have made it in the oven and slow cooker...both are excellent but do like the oven method better if I have the time.
I serve it with mashed potatos,salad and homemade crusty french bread...YUM YUM!! always a crowd pleaser and the house smells divine !!!
Review 4 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweetpea916
April 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd Pleaser
April 10, 2011
I made this recipe for St.Patrick's Day in my crock pot using Guiness. It was very simple to make, and the meat was so tender it fell off the bone. I made 6lbs. for 6 adults, and there was nothing left. Delicious!
Pros: Quick, Impressive
Review 5 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sumantmh
Redmond, WA
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
March 21, 2011
Easy and delicious. Next stop: Stout-braised lamb shanks.
Review 6 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mnboater
Minnesota
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 18, 2011
It certainly sounded good, but didn't work for me. The meat was super tender, but the sauce was bitter.
Review 7 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doc121
montclair NJ
March 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
make it every St. Pat's day
March 17, 2011
been making this dish every year since i saw it in the catalog. goes great with the colcannon too. by the way i do not like beer or stout and do not drink them but the stout is barely noticeable by the time it is cooked it almost gives the dish a thick smoky flavor
Review 8 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portamebe
Syracuse, NY
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Braised Short Ribs
March 4, 2011
This was a delicious meal. The meat was extremely tender and the sauce was great.. The only change I made was to add fennel to the mix. I would recommend for any pot luck or family dinner. Used my Le Creuset Dutch Oven to braise and it worked terrific!
Review 9 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & easy
February 27, 2011
This was easy to make. I used the slow cooker method. The tender meat fell off the bones as I removed them from the slow cooker. Yummy with the WS colcannon potatoes recipe, but regular mashed potatoes would work just as well. There is plenty of sauce to pour over pasta for another weeknight easy meal.
Review 10 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BaltimoreBrian
Baltimore
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent flavor and very easy!
January 26, 2011
These were absolutely delicious! It requires so few ingredients and it's so easy to make.
A few notes:
In a slow cooker, I recommend 7- 8 hours.
You may need to do some careful arranging to fully submerge all the ribs in the beer because there's not a lot of liquid.
Reduce the oil by at least half. And constantly skim off the excess oil/grease. Even though I chilled it and then skimmed off the fat, there was still a lot to remove when I reheated it.
No need for an immersion blender. I used a traditional one and it worked out great!
Excellent over egg noodles!
Review 11 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
parqueen
Clifton, NJ
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Cold Weather Meal
January 23, 2011
I had to think of what to make on the coldest day of the year in six years on playoff Sunday for football. I bought some short ribs at the butcher and made this delicious dish. I made yukon gold mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus which were went great with this. It was very easy as I used my new slow cooker. It was a restaurant quality meal.
Review 12 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoCoCook
Kansas City, KS
November 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Cold Weather Dish
November 10, 2010
I followed the instructions exactly, except dredged the short ribs in salt & peppered flour to cut down on spattering. Also prepared the Colcannon recipe, but without ricing the 'taters. It would have been prettier that way. Both recipes are delicious separately but even better together. They will become a regular part of my winter menus.
Review 13 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lizzytdos
Lancaster, PA
October 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Dinner
October 27, 2010
Made this on Sunday and it was so easy and tasted fantastic! Got very lean boneless short ribs and Guiness and it was a crowd pleaser...Might be our new comfort food!
Review 14 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchengem
Boston, MA
October 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Two night meal
October 15, 2010
Great the first night but my family likes it better the next. I refrigerate the cooking broth and veggies overnight and remove all the fat that is on top. Puree the veggies, add broth to the right consistency then add shredded left over meat and heat. Add sauteed onions and mushrooms (cooked with some fresh thyme) and serve over wide egg noodles for an amazing stroganoff!
Review 15 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tilechick
Healdsburg, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for easy entertaining....
May 14, 2010
I made this dish - doubled the recipe - last Friday night for a birthday dinner for a friend...everyone raved about it! I think the guys thought it was pretty cool because it was cooked in beer all day....which created amazing flavor....It was so nice to cook in the morning and have the main course done when I got home from work...just made risotto and asparagus...and salad...fabulous dinner!
Review 16 for Stout-Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maninkitchen
Fairview, TX
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Guests really liked it.
April 30, 2010
I chose this recipe because I wanted to try out my new cast iron dutch oven. It has few ingredients and all are easily available. I did have to borrow an immersion blender to complete the job and I now own one of those great tools. Assembly was easy and recipe was clear and concise. I used a dark ale instead of a stout;; not so bitter. The meat was very tender and the sauce created with the blender was excellent. We used sour dough bread to retrieve it all.